We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“rude owner”
Review of Kitchen on Trent

Kitchen on Trent
Ranked #55 of 170 Restaurants in New Bern
Restaurant details
New Bern, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“rude owner”
Reviewed 19 May 2012

I went into The Kitchen on Trent this morning, as I was about to place my order my three year old became suddenly ill and vomit on the floor. The young lady at the register was gonna asist me but the owner told her NO he would take of it however when he he was not concern about my child, he was concern about me cleaning up his floor, his exact words was "you need to clean it up now". This man tried to force me to clean the floor. I asked for a mop and a disinfected spray he gave me a old rag and said you need to get it up now before anyone come in and walked away. The young lady at the counter apologized and said I will take care of it just take care of your baby. The owner then return and said I knew she wasn't gonna clean it up. I told him he was very rude and I would not spent my money in his business again. He put his hand up at me and said a few rude words.
Please understand I don't have a problem cleaing up after my children or even just don't talk down to me and push my children to the side and then expect me to spend my money in your business The food is not always good anyway, it taste different from day to day. I would not recommend this place. Try Bagels Plus the chicken salad is great and the owner's give to the community.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Renee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    12
    5
    0
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
77 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Secret Gem”
Reviewed 11 May 2012

Right off the beaten path near I-17 in New Bern is this little place in a fairly busy small shopping center. Excellent chicken noodle soup. Healthy salads & tasty side choices for lunch & dinner. The baked good looked yummy. Tried to go back for dinner but, they close at 6pm. Worth a try for a healthy option in a fried chicken strong hold.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Donatella-Bingbong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Bern, North Carolina
Level Contributor
41 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Less than desirable food with high prices”
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Keep going a bit further down Trent road to the Carolina Bagel shop for breakfast and bypass this expensive for minimal tasting food establishment. By the way - you WILL be charged for a refill of coffee although the price per initial cup is outrageous. As always I give them three shots to get it right to ensure a fair review but these folks strike out!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank NewBernReviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Bern, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
103 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Do I have to turn in my man card”
Reviewed 26 March 2012

This is the quintessential "woman's place." I don't say that as an insult, I gave it five stars, but if you ladies want to oogle at the construction crowd during lunch, don't bother. Been twice with the wife, both times for lunch and food was good, but I can't get over how it reeks of "lets do lunch" Yeah, I am wierd

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank JimBob2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Bern, North Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Light Cuisine, Very Good”
Reviewed 24 February 2012

I like their choice of Salads they are awesome, fresh and good!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tracey252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kitchen on Trent also viewed

New Bern, North Carolina Coast
New Bern, North Carolina Coast
 
New Bern, North Carolina Coast
New Bern, North Carolina Coast
 
New Bern, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Kitchen on Trent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing