We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazingly nice place to sleep.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Suites New Bern
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in New Bern
Certificate of Excellence
North Carolina
Level Contributor
52 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Amazingly nice place to sleep.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2012

As a few other reviews mentioned, this hotel is not "riverside" - New Bern is riverside, but this hotel is not. It sits back off a stretch of route 70 in an unassuming spot. There is no view, period- unless you like to look at townies cruising mcdonalds at 2am.
However- there are some pluses to this hotel. First, it is immaculately clean. The room was spotless and hypoallergenic. That is more than I can say for the Croatan National Forest, which was on fire during my visit, and dropping bits of white ash on my car and filling the lungs of Eastern NC with smoke. That's what they apparently call a controlled burn.
Anyway, the hotel was clean and quiet and the staff was very friendly and helpful. The bottle of water in your room is complimentary, rather than predatory. There is a continental breakfast but I have a thing for Waffle House, which is right there along with a Ruby Tuesday and the afore mentioned mcdonalds. The beds were comfy- they informed me that they charge more for king beds than for a double room, so if you book through a travel site and don't specify, you'll end up with queen beds instead of a king and they won't really help you over the phone. The prices are extremely good, particularly for the boutique style newish hotel (just a couple years old). I ended up with this gem using priceline and was surprised at the lack of a river, but happy with the price.
I would stay in this hotel again if I needed a clean, friendly dependable place to sleep. I think it would be nice in the winter because of its indoor pool. So that's it.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    59
    16
    11
    9
See reviews for
86
51
7
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Concord, NC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2012

Stayed here on business after conference hotels in town were booked. Very surprised generally how nice the place looked for a Best Western, I guess that why is called a Plus. Rooms were nice, modern, and confortable. Breakfast was ok, and rate was very good for what you get. Free Wifi was nice too. Hotel has only one elevator which was actually difficult to find when first checking in.

Room Tip: Stayed on the back side "odd number room" away from road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rpwalter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, NC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

What a surprise to find out that the Riverside Inn is not on the river, or within vision of any water. When I asked about it, the staff explained that the city is between two rivers so the whole town is 'riverside'. She went on to say that I was not the only one who had been confused by name. However, if you don't mind the lack of view, it is one of the nicest rooms I've stayed in including ones at twice the cost. The rooms are stylish and the linens are upscale. I definitely would book this hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank melkope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glen Allen, Virginia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2012

I stayed here in Nov and again in Dec, with another visit coming in late Jan. The desk staff was courteous, both times I was able to check in early because I'd arrived earlier than expected. They had the best price for the area, the room was clean, wi-fi was fast, there was a good selection of channels on TV, and the breakfast had a decent number of choices. The location wasn't bad nor hard to get to - walking distance to McDonalds, Ruby Tuesday, and a convenience store. A short drive to downtown New Bern, with quick and easy access to the interstate. An excellent value for the price.

Room Tip: Upper floors a bit quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Satellite Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2012

I can no longer rely on reviews when i make my decision to stay places now. Only because the ones on this site have to be false or fake people making them. I in no way enjoyed my stay at this place. I got tired of hearing the kids complain about how tired the were so we decided to catch a good nights sleep and stay at a best western. WRONG, i could hear each and ever single footstep on the floor below me, beside me, and can clearly hear the conversations of people in neighboring rooms. Desk lady working at the time was very rude and when we asked for any kind of assistance we were greeted by hostility and resentment. So thank you for making sure we never again stay in new bern nc.

Room Tip: Keep driving to next town
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Navarea R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

I stayed at this Best Western for 3 nights during the Christmas holidays and it is VERY clean, but also attractive in it's modern decor! The value for money was almost too good to be true! We swithered about staying here or staying downtown. The location was so convenient to downtown and the price so much better here that we were very pleased we chose to stay here in the end. The beds were exceptionally comfortable and our room had a fridge and microwave. The wireless service is excellent. The staff is friendly and helpful. The hotel is not downtown, but it is walking distance to a Ruby Tuesdays and a local Seafood restaurant and numerous fast food choices. Breakfast at the hotel is good, but nothing special....the standard included fare, heavy on unremarkable carbs with a few other items included. The coffee was much better than average though, All in all a great stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WeeWoodstock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

We arrived in the evening and were flying out of New Bern on an early morning flight. For the price and the convenience of being just moments away from the airport, this new hotel was an excellent choice. Everything was perfect...really. The staff was friendly and helpful. The room was clean and comfortable. On checking in we learned that there is free shuttle service to the airport (on demand). We were completely satisfied with our stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ancient_mummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Bern hotels
1.3 mi away
BridgePointe Hotel And Marina
1.7 mi away
Courtyard New Bern
Courtyard New Bern
#3 of 10 in New Bern
4.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
1.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites New Bern
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn New Bern
Hampton Inn New Bern
#1 of 10 in New Bern
4.5 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
4.1 mi away
Candlewood Suites New Bern
Candlewood Suites New Bern
#7 of 10 in New Bern
4.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites New Bern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites New Bern

Property: Comfort Suites New Bern
Address: 1006 Old Cherry Point Rd, New Bern, NC 28560-6565 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Riverside Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > New Bern
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in New Bern
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites New Bern 2.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Suites New Bern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing