We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a wonderful friendly place away from home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Suites New Bern
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in New Bern
Certificate of Excellence
New Jersey
2 reviews
“What a wonderful friendly place away from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2012

My husband and I drove down to North Carolina for a 4 day weekend to visit my niece and to just relax. I suffer from uncontrolable migranes that are triggered by chemical smells as well as perfumes. Well my stay here, tho short, was the best experience I had! The hotel is clean but does not smell of harsh chemicals or perfumes. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. Chrisina at the front desk...Thank you so much for all your help and for getting us a room at 2am when I needed it most! My only suggest is please include more aternative food choices to your menu. Gluten free and lactose free is more and more important to those of us wih food sensitivies.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teresa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
celestial s, General Manager at Comfort Suites New Bern, responded to this review, 18 December 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to give us such wonderful comments and suggestions. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your visit. I will research gluton-free free foods as you suggested, I agree that the variety is needed. Thank you again for your kind words and we hope you have a chance to visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    59
    16
    11
    9
See reviews for
86
51
7
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
javage
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2012

My sister and I traveled to New Bern and stayed at the Best Western for two nights over the weekend. We got a great deal and upon arrival both thought what a bargain! The hotel lobby is very neat, clean, and modern as was the room we stayed in.

However, the first night my sister came out of the shower and had to kill a cockroach on the bathroom door. It was just one slow-moving, probably dying, roach but it wasn't too pleasant. The next morning we told the young woman at the front desk who apologized, made a notation in her book, and said she would tell someone. The next morning I woke up and saw one crawling up the wall next to my bed. I killed it but it did gross me out a little. Those were the only two little creatures we saw but still it was two too many.

We spoke to the manager who was extremely apologetic (and horrified) by our experience. She explained to us that they are a few spots in the hotel with a small problem. She compensated us for our displeasure.. Two other family members had rooms in the hotel on different floors and they had no issues at all.

I really wanted to like the hotel and I did but for the bug problem, and although only two were spotted, it sort of spoiled the overall good feeling about the place. I know they are working to rid their establishment of these pests and hopefully they will succeed. The staff was very friendly and attentive.

I didn't use the pool, hot tub, or exercise room but they all looked very clean and well kept. And they need to get some better tasting coffee!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank javage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
celestial s, General Manager at Comfort Suites New Bern, responded to this review, 18 December 2012
Thank you for you wonderful comments and suggestions. It was a pleasure meeting you, I am STILL horrified and can assure you that we are taking several actions against these pests. I apologize that this caused a problem during your visit. However, Im pleased that the rest of your stay was enjoyable and do hope you have the chance to return. Thank you again for being so understanding and thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johnson City, TN
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2012

We were looking for a hotel that was close to the beach and closer to New Bern and we found a great spot. The hotel is new, but just seems out of place it sits between two residential houses which is very unusual. However, the service and staff are very helpful and do a good job. We will stay here again for our yearly visit to see family. Great deal for the buck!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank is_martin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
celestial s, General Manager at Comfort Suites New Bern, responded to this review, 18 December 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write such wonderful comments. It was a pleasure to have you as a guest and I am glad that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope to see you again next time you visit New Bern.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2012

What a delight for the value. The property is new, beautifully decorated and well appointed. The rooms are comfortable with all the modern conveniences. The rooms (King) are large, with a nice sofa/seating area. Nice bed with tons of pillows. The staff was kind and helpful. The BW breakfast is plenty to satisfy: waffles, oatmeal, eggs, sausage, coffee, etc. It is conveniently located off the highway with standard restaurants nearby.

We often visit New Bern to spend time with family. We used to go to other properties, but will make this our "go to hotel" in the future. Would highly recommend to anyone visiting the area.

Room Tip: We always ask for rooms away from the elevator because of noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeachSnorkelLovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2012

The room was beautiful and very clean. I would stay there again and it is in a great location. Close to restaurants. The only concern was the one bed had a dip in the middle but not to bad. Also I could hear the people in the next room talking.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank MELISSA R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
celestial s, General Manager at Comfort Suites New Bern, responded to this review, 18 December 2012
Thank you for your kind words and suggestions. We are always thrilled to hear from guests that have enjoyed their stay. I apologize that our bed was not comfortable to you and for the noise that disturbed you. If you ever return, please mention to the front desk that you prefer a quieter secion of the building, so that we may better serve you during your stay. Thank you again for you comments and suggestions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kihei, Hawaii
Level Contributor
47 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2012

On a weekend trip to New Bern, NC we stayed at this lovely hotel. Being long time customers of Best Western we knew we would have good accomodations but this was over the edge great! The staff members were all so sweet and helpful. Our room was beautiful and very clean. The bathroom was very large, great bed, nicely appointed room - absolutely nothing to say in the negative here!!! Super indoor pool and spa - very relaxing after a 5 hour drive.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conyers, GA
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2012

Stayed here over the Thanksgiving weekend. This hotel is very nice and up to date decore. Check in was easy and smooth, the front desk receptionist was very nice and pleasent. The room was very nice and roomy. Two very nice queen size beds with top of the line sheets. Flat screen tv, with a radio w/ ipod doc. Well lit with several lamps in the room and a nice seating area. Also a nice entertainment stand with the shelf for the microwave and a hidden refridge behind the cabinet. Closet door is also a full length mirror. Iron and ironing board in closet.
The bathroom was very room and nice. The shower had multiple settings (great after a long drive). We utilized the pool and jacuzzi, it was very nice and clean, and plenty of towels. The laundry is $1.75 to wash and $1.50 to dry, but area was clean. The business center has nice flat panel desktops, and the free internet worked very well with our tablets. Breakfast was simple, but you are able to make your own waffles, and kids love waffles. All and all the stay was great, and the hotel was pretty full and everyone I spoke to enjoyed it. The decor once again is beautiful. Last but not least...there are NO BUGS! Once again NO BUGS!

Room Tip: Higher floors are quieter~ but keep in mind the ice machine is on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RWeThereYet66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Bern hotels
1.3 mi away
BridgePointe Hotel And Marina
1.7 mi away
Courtyard New Bern
Courtyard New Bern
#3 of 10 in New Bern
4.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
1.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites New Bern
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn New Bern
Hampton Inn New Bern
#1 of 10 in New Bern
4.5 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
4.1 mi away
Candlewood Suites New Bern
Candlewood Suites New Bern
#7 of 10 in New Bern
4.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites New Bern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites New Bern

Property: Comfort Suites New Bern
Address: 1006 Old Cherry Point Rd, New Bern, NC 28560-6565 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Riverside Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > New Bern
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in New Bern
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites New Bern 2.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Choice Hotels, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Suites New Bern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing