We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Rooms--Upscale Decor”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Comfort Suites New Bern
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in New Bern
Certificate of Excellence
Agua Dulce, California
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great Rooms--Upscale Decor”
Reviewed 14 May 2013

Beautiful rooms...recently updated with all the right touches. Nice lighting, luxurious bedding, large flat screen TV, and fast internet service. Stayed here after flying into RDH and heading to the Southern Outer Banks. Southern friendliness greeted us as we checked in. Hot breakfast choices along with all the regular continental choices made a good start for the next leg of the journey. Great Place!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mary j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
celestial s, General Manager at Comfort Suites New Bern, responded to this review, 14 June 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful review of our hotel. We are very please to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Our staff takes great measure in giving our guests the best possible memories of their visit and I am pleased that you were so satisfied with your accommodations. It is very rewarding when a guest notices the smaller things that we do to improve your stay.
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    61
    17
    11
    11
See reviews for
86
57
7
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Any
English first
Tobaccoville
1 review
Reviewed 5 May 2013

My husband and I slipped away for a few quiet days. Wow! What a great room. The beds had just the right amount of firmness. We were most impressed with the beautiful upscale décor throughout the facility. Everything we needed was in the room. from TV guide to writing stand to Wi Fi to microwave to refrigerator. Breakfast was exceptional with bacon, sausage,eggs, grits, waffles, pastries, fresh fruit cold cereals, milk, juices, and fresh fruit. What I liked least was the fact that we could only stay 3 days.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Catherine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
celestial s, General Manager at Comfort Suites New Bern, responded to this review, 14 June 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write such wonderful comments about our property. I am very pleased that you and your husband were so satisfied with so many things about the hotel. I appreciate your choosing to stay with us and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conway, South Carolina, Usa
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 9 April 2013

The hotel was in excellent condition.
The lobby & rooms were very nicely appointed.
The check-in staff was extremely friendly & helpful.
The breakfast buffet was clean, fresh & generous.
We will return on our next trip to New Bern.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank RaymondD599
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VA
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We checked in on March 15th for a two night stay at this beautiful hotel. One thing to note, it is NOT beside the river as the name would lead you to believe. Check in was a breeze, we were met by friendly, helpful staff. Our room was very nice and clean. I just want to reiterate, this is a BEAUTIFUL PROPERTY and is well maintained and kept very clean!! Christina at the front desk gave us some great ideas for dinner. New Bern is a very pretty little city located at the confluence of the Trent and the Neuse rivers. The bad was the first night. There was a group of people who played "let's knock on doors" all night. Despite several calls to the front desk, this noise lasted until 4:30am when I called for the last time and the male staff member said they group had been asked to leave. I guess what no one knew at the time was that one member of the group remained and eventually let the rest of them in through the back door. When this was brought to light the entire group was made to leave, and they did. We were angry and sleep deprived and had planned to change hotels, but the front desk manager asked us to give the hotel a second chance and convinced us to stay. Our second night was free and they upgraded us to a suite with jacuzzi. I don't know if we were the only guests on that floor that had planned to stay two nights, but I'm sure there were others who were bothered by the same noise. That was a costly night for the hotel, but their main goal seemed to be in rectifying the situation as best as possible. Our second night was wonderful.The deluxe breakfast was really good and they had fresh lemon/lime water available at all times. We would definitely stay at this hotel again, because it was an AWESOME FINSH!

If you are in the area, take your camera and walk around the historic city. Take your GPS and plug in 37th Street Pizzaria and Pasta!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Familygal89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Dix, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2013

After checking in We had issues with our room, I notified the front desk and they fixed the issue by giving us a new room, Breakfast was good. I was impressed with the afternoon staff at the front desk being very friendly and helpful

Room Tip: Check for bugs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rllycmp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hurleyville, New York, Usa
1 review
Reviewed 4 April 2013

Stay was good. Staff was friendly, accomodating and the htel was clean. Only opportunity is that the walls and door are thin so you can hear people in the hallway and above you. Otherwise would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank ArthurA227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
56 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2013

We stayed for 2 nights with our two kids in a king suite. The hotel feels new with modern decor. The room was very clean and comfortable with nice linens. The indoor pool was a nice option, though the pool water was a bit cold. Location is excellent - just a short drive into New Bern and convenient to all areas.

We were completely underwhelmed by the service. Room service never came to our room, which we discovered after a long day of sight seeing. After going down to discuss this with the front desk, she immediately asked if I put up the "do not disturb" sign. No, I read the fine print that explained they will not come if you put out this sign. After asking what I needed, (I said clean towels and to have the garbage emptied), she handed over towels and a plastic garbage bag. Seriously?

Breakfast food was definitely a notch above the normal continental breakfast, but they were woefully understaffed. The garbage was overflowing to the point where people were putting plates on the floor next to the garbage can, and some crucial element was always out...spoons, syrup for the waffles, etc. The poor lady working the breakfast was busting her tail, but she just needed more help.

This hotel is trying very hard to be top notch, but they need more (and friendlier) staff to get there.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beynac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Bern hotels
1.3 mi away
Bridgepointe Hotel and Marina
1.7 mi away
Courtyard New Bern
Courtyard New Bern
#4 of 10 in New Bern
304 reviews
1.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites New Bern
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn New Bern
Hampton Inn New Bern
#1 of 10 in New Bern
608 reviews
4.1 mi away
Candlewood Suites New Bern
Candlewood Suites New Bern
#7 of 10 in New Bern
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites New Bern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites New Bern

Property: Comfort Suites New Bern
Address: 1006 Old Cherry Point Rd, New Bern, NC 28560-6565 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Riverside Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > New Bern
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in New Bern
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites New Bern 2.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Comfort Suites New Bern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing