We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Downhill”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Suites New Bern
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in New Bern
Certificate of Excellence
Cross Hill
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Downhill”
Reviewed 6 November 2013

This was our third and final stay at this hotel. Problem during check in. Room not cleaned. (5) day stay and sheets were never changed. Sink and toilet never cleaned. Reported dissatisfaction at check out and got a shoulder shrug for complaints. Hotel is leaving Best Western brand on 12/1 and becoming part of the Comfort Suites group and our past experience with this new brand is particularly negative and would never willingly stay at a unit in this new group.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
3 Thank Edward B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    61
    18
    11
    11
See reviews for
86
57
7
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Any
English first
Concord MA
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We were pleasantly surprised by our room - spacious with updated bedding and bathroom fixtures. Quiet, very clean and inexpensive. The breakfast included a variety of hot and cold items - nothing fancy but definitely something for everyone. Would give five stars but the fridge in our room did not work well, even on high, and housekeeping replaced our towels but left the used ones on the floor. Still, we would recommend this and stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 717Tandem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Strange title, but the hotel is not even in New Bern! It is in James City which is a few miles outside of New Bern. I spent about 30 minutes driving around New Bern before finding a friendly soul who actually knew where the hotel was. And no, I do not have Satnav. The directions offered on the website are vague, and when I arrived at the main highway, I saw the sign for New Bern. Big mistake. The hotel really does need to change the address to 1006 Old Cherry Point Road, James City, near New Bern. Sadly, the staff at the hotel seem indifferent to this misnomer, one even said, 'If you knew the area, you would not be confused.' I suggested that if I knew the area, I would not have had the problem in the first place!
But, despite that initial faux pas, the hotel is really great. The room exceeded my expectations, as did the breakfast. If it wasn't for describing it as in New Bern, I would have rated it higher. Excellent Ruby Tuesday opposite, but be careful walking in the dark!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BuckaneerFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vista, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Very nice accommodations. Although not walking distance to historical downtown, it is a very easy and short drive. The hotel is very new, so everything works and it is clean. Staff is very friendly. Morning continental breakfast is everything one could want. Eggs, bacon, sausage, and make your own waffles. Also, have a good variety of bagels, cereal (hot & cold), selection of fresh fruit. And of course good hot coffee and juices. The only thing that bugged me was that the water was too soft. Not a big deal!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank David O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Friendy staff as well as great amenities. Nice place and nice town. I have stayed here several times and it has always been very pleasant and comfortable. well worth the price considering the very higher priced but barely comparable rooms at a national chain hotel right down the street.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Arthur O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wichita, Kansas
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Arrived early evening just needing a room for the night. Upon arrival we were treated in a very courteous manner. Nice Best Western Property with restaurants close by. Would recommend this motel and if every in the are would again stay here.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MaryLou P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurel, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

I enjoyed my stay at this Best Western. The room was spacious and clean, and the breakfast had a nice selection - although it would be nice to have more hot food choices. The staff were friendly as well. My only problem was with the keys to my room. They didn't work on the outside doors, and on my second night, they stopped working for my room. The staff quickly corrected the situation, but it was a little embarrassing to be locked out of my room.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank Christina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Bern hotels
1.3 mi away
Bridgepointe Hotel and Marina
1.7 mi away
Courtyard New Bern
Courtyard New Bern
#3 of 10 in New Bern
306 reviews
1.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites New Bern
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn New Bern
Hampton Inn New Bern
#1 of 10 in New Bern
608 reviews
4.1 mi away
Candlewood Suites New Bern
Candlewood Suites New Bern
#7 of 10 in New Bern
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites New Bern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites New Bern

Property: Comfort Suites New Bern
Address: 1006 Old Cherry Point Rd, New Bern, NC 28560-6565 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Riverside Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > New Bern
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in New Bern
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites New Bern 2.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Comfort Suites New Bern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing