We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Where's The Chicken!”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Jamaica in the South
Ranked #132 of 170 Restaurants in New Bern
Restaurant details
New Bern, North Carolina
1 review
“Where's The Chicken!”
Reviewed 1 September 2013

I use to live in New Bern but visit often. I was happy when this restaurant opened. The food is good and I always get Curry Chicken and received a sufficient amount of chicken. I'm here Labor Day weekend and have gone twice. Bought a medium Curry Chicken with 1 small piece of chicken. 2nd trip bought a small curry chicken and got rice 2 big potatoes, cabbage and NO CHICKEN. WTH! Too bad! I like their food but will not pay for a dish and not get the main part.
You lost a very good customer. :-(

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gloria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    0
    2
    4
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Bern, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Some good, some bad....”
Reviewed 28 December 2012

I have eaten here on many occassions and although some of the food is good there is much to be desired. Especially if you have had REAL Jamaican food. First off the jerk is not that bad. However, the jerk is tough in some spots and you can tell that it has been reheated. It was also quit saucy, which isn't bad, but I prefer mine not to be. Keep in mind this isn't grilled, so if you prefer your jerk off the grill, this isn't it. The curry was very good! The saltfish and ackee was also pretty good. Unfortunately the oxtails were not. VERY tough! Oxtails were not cooked long enough and I have heard others complain of this as well. The roti isn't bad but its not authentic, neither are the Jamaican patties. Its the same kind you buy in the frozen food section of Wal-mart. Which isn't a problem because I like them, but for the price they charge you can go up the road and buy a whole pack. Also the plaintains seem to have been replaced with bananas.....I know the difference and they were VERY different when they first opened. Also sometimes the rice and peas can be grainy and have that reheated rice taste. Overall its not a bad place but they could do better. Making GOOD Jamaican food "fast-food" style isn't easy to do. If you do decide to go, go early in the day when the food is more likely to be fresh and just cooked, thats what I do. They also have a good selection of Jamaican drinks including Ting and ginger beer!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TastyCakez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Bern, North Carolina
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Authentic Jamaican food”
Reviewed 5 October 2012

Jerk chicken reminds me of the jerk chicken you get at the road side stands in Mo Bay and other areas. beans and rice were great. Jerk goat was good. Good value for the authentic tasting food. I have eaten there several times and enjoyed each experience.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chuck28562
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Bern, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
103 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Hey mon, not as good as I had heard”
Reviewed 3 April 2012

First of all, watch out for the fire ant hills between sidewalk and curb. Ouch (23 times). Had enormous expectations based on heresay. My jerk chicken had some good spots, but lots of really hard, tough spots. Good spice. Chicken cut in random ways, and what was good, was very good, but just too many of these tought spots to give it a better rating. I was very disappointed. Maybe I expected to much.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank JimBob2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Bern, North Carolina
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed 3 March 2012

Food is good and authentic. A bit pricey, but they are the only Jamaican restaurant with in an hours drive at the least.

Helpful?
1 Thank Tina J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jamaica in the South also viewed

New Bern, North Carolina Coast
New Bern, North Carolina Coast
 
New Bern, North Carolina Coast
New Bern, North Carolina Coast
 
New Bern, North Carolina Coast
New Bern, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Jamaica in the South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing