We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware extended stay hotels.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Candlewood Suites New Bern
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in New Bern
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 19 June 2011

Guess this was our 1st stay at an extended stay hotel and we didn't know the rules. No housekeeping services during a 3 night stay. No complimentary breakfast. Soap and combination shampoo/comditioner but no body lotion or other toiletries. Halls don't appear to have any ventilation and smell musty. Should have stayed next door at the Holiday Inn for a few dollars more per night and will do so next during our next visit.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mwhitdavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (82)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 82 reviews

Reviewed 3 February 2011

I stayed based on other reviews -- I was going to stay in New Bern downtown, but found this place convenient to shopping and it provided a full kitchen so I could prepare a low-salt meal to my liking, instead of staying downtown where I would need to struggle with restaurant menus...gurrrr. It cost a bit more than a budget hotel,but with the kitchen, I came out fine.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BikerEd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2011

This hotel can be described in one word: OUTSTANDING.
Desk Clerk: Cheryl - OUTSTANDING.
Hotel: OUTSTANDING, SUPERB SERVICE / LOCATION
Close to everything
Highly recommend to everyone

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Stan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2010

We stayed here on a recent business trip to the New Bern area. I was concerned about the hotel since I've never stayed at a Candlewood Suites hotel before.
This hotel is located just west of the highway, near the local mall, and all the usual chains. Being well set back from the road its very quiet. The front desk staff are friendly and helpful. The lobby 'store' is stocked with lots of things that their guests might need, including a few unexpected treats.
The rooms are a little on the small side, for being suites. The bed is set into a small alcove with just enough room to shimmy down either side. The desk/work area is wedged in between the Kitchen and the TV/dresser. The bathroom is ample sized, nicely laid out, with a great shower.
Most important is that its quiet - very quiet - no guest noise, no road noise.
Since all units have kitchens there is no complimentary breakfast. Either carry in, or visit the lobby store. But instead of being stuck with a mini coffee brewer there's a real coffee pot with real coffee - no crummy pods to put up with.
All in all, a very nice experience.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JKoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2010

Stayed (actually still staying) here for 6 nights (one-bedroom suite). Efficient check-in even at 1130 pm. Very clean place. Friedly and helpful employees. Nicely appointed suite also well suited for business meetings with 3-4 persons. Kitchen has everything one needs.
Location close to Highway, shops, post office, restaurants. I would come here again anytime.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Frwsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2010

Came to New Bern to ride in MS Bike Ride. Had booked hotel in March for the rate of $98 per night. Was charged $130 per night. Manager said employee gave me wrong rate in March. Would not change rate and was very rude. I did not have choice but to stay since I was scheduled to be at bike ride @ 7 A.M. Called home office. They did said that they had record of me being given $90 rate but they said that manager was only one to refund money. Did give me priorty points but were not equal to amount of money that I was charged! You can be sure that I do not stay there during next year's Bike Ride or for that matter ever again!!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank bikerider614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2010

New property February 2010. Still has that new smell about it. Had one Bedroom Suite and it was very nice. Only appliance missing was oven. Plenty of seating, two TV, closets, very easy access, many restuarants, shopping within 1/2 mile.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank emo3f2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Bern hotels
1.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites New Bern
4.1 mi away
Comfort Suites New Bern
Comfort Suites New Bern
#5 of 10 in New Bern
224 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn New Bern
Hampton Inn New Bern
#1 of 10 in New Bern
657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Bridgepointe Hotel and Marina
3.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront
3.6 mi away
Courtyard New Bern
Courtyard New Bern
#4 of 10 in New Bern
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites New Bern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites New Bern

Address: 3465 Dr M L King Jr Blvd, New Bern, NC 28562
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > New Bern
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in New Bern
Price Range: £71 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites New Bern 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Especially designed for stays of a week or more, at Candlewood Suites® you’ll find just what you need to live, work and relax comfortably. Each suite features a fully equipped kitchen and the new Comforts of HomeTM Bedding Collection. Our signature amenities you’ll find at this guest preferred leader in extended stay hotels. Consider us homeTM ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Candlewood Suites New Bern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites New Bern Hotel New Bern

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing