We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Candlewood Suites New Bern
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in New Bern
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Stayed for 4 nights in January. The biggest plus was the location. It is just across the street from several places to eat. IHOP, Applebee's, Papa John's, Schlotzsky's, Texas Steakhouse, China Wok, A&J Steak Subs, Waffle House... just to name a few.

The food pantry has an honor system, which I really liked. You didn't need to get help in order to get a snack. Fresh coffee was available 24/7. Free USA Today.

The room was fairly small compared to other Candlewood Suites (not sure what defines a "Suite"). The appliances were in very good shape. Microwave, full Refrig and cooktop.

My biggest request would be an investment in higher speed internet. Seems like this internet service was fairly slow.

I was on the first floor the first night. Asked to be relocated on the third floor facing the back. This was much quieter since the noise of construction trucks were very obvious, especially right outside my ground-level floor.

I loved the fact they do not provide daily maid service. Less noise in the halls and you don't have to constantly wait for them to bang on your door, even when you have the "do not disturb" sign up.

No pool nor restaurant.

Staff was very friendly and professional. Would definitely recommend staying here.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the rear of the building on the third floor. Be careful crossing the street, sinc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JetPlt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (84)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 84 reviews

Reviewed 29 November 2013

Love Candlewood's in general, but this place left a bad taste in our mouths. Included in our stay were free eye rolls when asking for an extra coffee packet, a room right beside the laundry room while the hotel was basically empty - I am assuming the clerk who loved to roll her eyes at us just didn't like the way we looked. First tip, ask for a room AWAY from the laundry room or you will listen to whooshing all night long. Just when we nodded off to sleep the fire alarm goes bezerk. Then off. Then on. Then off. Then on. On the plus side, the bedding smelled heavenly (read bleach clean)! For $95 a night, you could get a better deal, just as clean, somewhere else.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the laundry room. And don't ask for extra coffee. The staff don't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank InnAtHome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites New Bern, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2013

Dear InnAtHome,

Thank you so much for the feedback provided after your recent stay. We appreciate you taking the time to help us improve our services by providing crucial feedback. I apologize for any inconvenience and discomfort you may have experienced caused by the fire alarm and staff service. Your review is greatly appreciated as it aids us in ensuring such issues are resolved. I do hope you decide to give us another chance for a future stay.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

Visted for 3 nights for a wedding. The staff was awesome and the rooms were large and spacious. They do not do daily maid service but the rooms are very clean. Plenty of places near by to eat or shop.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
Thank Jason D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewBernManager, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites New Bern, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2014

Thank you for your fantastic review, we hope to see you soon !!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

This is the third time I stayed here, this time for 3 nights. The receptionist remembered me (I'm not too cynical to think this was just from the computer records). If you like hotels which are cheap, clean and functional, but enough room in that you are not too cramped, this is a good choice. The absence of daily maid service is a bonus for me, but some people may not like this. A good choice for visitors to this area.

Room Tip: The front of the hotel is floodlit, so if you like to sleep in complete darkness avoid rooms in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

this is one of the nices hotels/extend stays I have ever stayed in. It very clean, up to date and has a wonderful kitchette in it. Staff seemed friendly and helpful. I would recommend this to anyone traveling in this area weather staying in New Bern or going onto Cherry Point Marine base. It's 15 minutes to the base and the rooms are spacious and really nice. enjoy and stay.

Room Tip: no swimming pool or restaurant in the hotel but you have your own kitchen for cooking
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Joe W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewBernManager, Manager at Candlewood Suites New Bern, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2013

Thank you for your wonderful review, As an extended stay hotel we are very honor to serve our troops and support MCAS Cherrypoint Marine Base.We do appreciate your business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Rooms clean, service friendly, but won't stay here again. The wireless access was horrible, and no invoice was slipped under the door as is common at Holiday/Hampton/Comfort Inns. Not particularly well built - the construction worker on the floor above was tromping around at 4 am, which actually shook the ceiling. The poor wireless alone is a deal-breaker for a business traveler.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DJ M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewBernManager, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites New Bern, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2013

We apologize for having problems with WIFI.We are a Business Class with facilities which can make your life easier on the road, Free Guest Laundry,Free Movies ,with Free WIFI which has considerable amount of speed for downloading. We do have FREE 24X7 help desk if you encounter any problems with WI-FI connection. We want you to enjoy your privacy and feel free while staying, If you want a invoice under the door,please ask the front desk next time.
Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

First time staying at this chain so I can only compare it other similar chain hotels.

Facility
Typical stucco exterior design -- sort of plain. A couple of quirks which are a negative: the front entrance has a covered portico but it only extents out over part of the front sidewalk --- it does not have a covered driveway so you are loading/unloading in the rain; The front sidewalk at the entrance also has a big step down, it is not level with the parking lot lot every other hotel of this type. This makes for a difficult time pulling your luggage or trying to get their luggage carts up and down the 10 inch curb. (yes I know the handicap parking has a ramp but it is completely at the other end of the hotel and you can't get around the cars parked there) It seems like this would be an easy fix.
Lobby and halls are typical, good lighting, carpet is clean; I got to say the elevator is fast - 4 floors.
Staff was friendly and helpful -- full instructions on arrival;
Rooms
I booked a studio for $95 - comes with a queen; When offered a King I said OK until I heard the price -- $34 more? Most chains -- Marriott in particular charge the same for both;
The room is small and they have jammed it with furniture; Only one night stand since there's no room on the other side of the bed for a second one. A recliner is jammed between the bed and the AC unit --- and you're only about 5 feet from the desk/table; The desk chair doesn't go up high enough to comfortably use your laptop at the table --- this is common on most every hotel but I don't get why anyone can't get this right. Lighting is ok but the wall light next to the bed has those annoying push buttons -- you have to push it hard multiple times to get both lights on etc. Once for the right light, twice for the left light, 3 times for both -- you also have to get up out of bed to reach it.
Room as a full size ref, a 2 burner hot plate, sink, but a big dishwasher. As instructed, you better turn the ice maker off at night --- it must eject the ice at 40mph -- it's very loud.
The bath was clean and functional. Good thick towels -- if you want clean ones you have to turn in the old ones to the desk. They have one of those old fashion rubber anti-slip mats in the tub, it's so thick and slides anyway so remove it. Quick hot water but somewhat weak pressure -- I was on the 4th floor.
AC works fast and was quiet. Controls on the wall, kind of hidden; The window does open if you like fresh area -- just don't get the parking lot side;
As is typical, the parking lot lights are projected into the room -- so another reason to get the back side of the hotel. The bed was OK -- they give you very soft/weak pillows -- but you can, again, get a firmer one from the front desk --- see a pattern here?
There is considerable room to room / hall to room noise transfer. You can hear the heavy feet of others at times. Speaking of noise ---- this hotel seems to attract a lot of heavy equipment, blue collar workers. They allow them to park their large trucks and equipment on the grass area in front of the hotel. That includes air compressor's on wheels, trailers etc. I am sure they are nice guys but that's a lot of noise since most of them leave very early -- 6AM? or earlier. My stay included a very loud tractor and trailer for a food store.
No bill under the door so you have to check out at the desk --- seems like a small thing but why?

Room Tip: Get a room on the back of the hotel away from the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Critic48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites New Bern, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2013

Dear Critic48,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment regarding our staff and room amenities.

However, We’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding the room size, noise, and the property driveway. We will look into this point. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Bern hotels
3.3 mi away
Bridgepointe Hotel and Marina
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn New Bern
Hampton Inn New Bern
#1 of 10 in New Bern
671 reviews
3.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Comfort Suites New Bern
Comfort Suites New Bern
#5 of 10 in New Bern
225 reviews
1 mi away
SpringHill Suites New Bern
3.6 mi away
Courtyard New Bern
Courtyard New Bern
#4 of 10 in New Bern
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites New Bern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites New Bern

Address: 3465 Dr M L King Jr Blvd, New Bern, NC 28562
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > New Bern
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in New Bern
Price Range: £68 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites New Bern 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Especially designed for stays of a week or more, at Candlewood Suites® you’ll find just what you need to live, work and relax comfortably. Each suite features a fully equipped kitchen and the new Comforts of HomeTM Bedding Collection. Our signature amenities you’ll find at this guest preferred leader in extended stay hotels. Consider us homeTM ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Candlewood Suites New Bern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites New Bern Hotel New Bern

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing