We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing customer service, charming accoms!”
Review of The Captain's Stay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Captain's Stay
Ranked #4 of 10 New Bern B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

Deb and Paul are the best innkeepers ever! Deb went out of her way to accommodate our crazy schedule, waking up an hour early to prepare a made to order breakfast for us both. She also kindly obliged when I asked her to do my laundry! My room was comfortable and perfect in every way. No thoughtful detail was overlooked throughout our stay and I would recommend her place to anyone planning a trip to New Bern!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Denisegg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (87)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 87 reviews

Reviewed 14 November 2013

Deb and Paul were great hosts who made us feel comfortable and right at home. The location was perfect - a couple of blocks from all the sites. We stayed in the master room which was generous in size and well appointed. We played darts and pool and guitar and even got to taste Deb's wonderful dessert that she had prepared for her cooking class. We can't wait to return and visit our new friends!

Room Tip: The master bedroom has a really comfortable king size bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisHaders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Stayed for a 3 day weekend to explore possible retirement area. If all the residents of New Bern were like Debbie and Paul, we would move to New Bern in a heart beat! The B&B was immaculate. The bed was comfortable, even for our abused bodies. The food was tailored to our needs as I am diabetic. Quite healthy, but gourmet at the same time. Debbie shared her culinary tips with me, and Paul arranged a wonderful trip up the river to see Nicholas Spark's river home. Where else but at the Captain's Stay, can you hear the tales from Debbie and Paul's years as captains of yachts for the stars?

Truly a delight. We can't say enough about the hospitality of Paul and Debbie.

Room Tip: The main suite was very large and comfortable. The bath was luxurious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xdiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We checked in on a rainy evening for a one-night stay midweek in October. The B&B was beautiful. Our hosts helped unload our baggage and take it to our room, which was the Master Stateroom. What a pleasant surprise. The room was very large by most reasonable standards, and the bathroom was even larger -- really. Separate shower and tub; fully stocked toiletries; everything one would need in case something was forgotten. When we asked, what's for breakfast? The reply was, what would you like. Definitely appreciated the Keurig coffee machine at breakfast with its large variety of coffees, teas, etc.

Prior to establishing their B&B, Paul and Deb catered to the "rich and famous" for over 20+ years as crew on a variety of mega-yachts. Paul as captain (3,000 ton license), and Deb (100 ton license) as chef. They know how the hospitality industry functions and what standards clientele expect. We would definitely stay there again. It's within easy walking distance of New Bern's historic attractions and restaurants.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We did not want to stay in a chain hotel. It was just the two of us going to visit friends. This was a quiet and great place to stay. We stayed in the back cottage. Lovely. This was our first b&b experience and thanks to Debbie and Paul it will not be our last. I would definitely stay here again.

Close to walking distance to charming shops and farmer's market in New Bern. We visited old USMC friends and we could stay on our own and not impose. Lovely area.

Room Tip: Oops no pool sorry couldn't delete. We stayed in the back quaint cottage, The Crow's Nest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank salvodon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Paul and Deb Johnson's inn is beautifully decorated in antiques with a nautical flair. In their living room, they have combined comfy overstuffed couches and armchairs by the fireplace with objects from their own world travels, which results in a relaxing but very interesting environment. Paul is knowledgeable on a variety of subjects and will regale you with stories if you ask. I recommend you ask, he is very entertaining.

We have stayed there twice, once in the Nautical Room and once in the Master Stateroom, so I will discuss both. All the rooms have tvs with dvd players.

The Nautical Room is charmingly decorated with lighthouses and compass roses that remind you you're in a seaside town. It is a corner room, so it has windows on two sides. It has a spacious closet, a hardwood floor, and plenty of books. It doesn't have a bathroom ensuite, but the hall bathroom is pretty and is stocked with a nice array of toiletries.

The Master Stateroom is sumptuous, decorated in soft pinks, with a king bed that has a headboard made from an antique fireplace mantel. It has lots of fluffy pillows, smooth linens, and a beautiful matellaise coverlet. Ensuite there is a huge bathroom that includes a real clawfooted tub as well as a separate shower. Both bathrooms boast luxurious towels, and lots of them.

The house is quiet, they must have insulated it well or something. Once we were in our room, we had a real sense of privacy, which made us even more comfortable.

Deb served very nice breakfasts, including omelets made to order, from western to veggie, pastries, fresh fruit, bacon and sausage, and even pancakes. She introduced us all to each other, telling us a little about each other, which sparked the conversation. We started talking about where we'd been and where we were going next, comparing notes and giving each other tips. Soon we were laughing and having a great time. Deb creates a friendly atmosphere at her table, conviviality with cantaloupe.

There is free parking on the property, which is a boon in this town. This town! New Bern is an old seaport, with historic sites and tours and great restaurants, bars and shopping. All of it is within easy walking distance, so we were able to park our car and forget it. I had the best ice cream of my life at the Cow Cafe (Moocaccino), but whatever your taste, Deb and Paul can make a recommendation. Be sure to see the Tryon Palace. It's a fascinating tour, with a story, not just a house, but a saga.

We had a wonderful time, and will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Get the Master Stateroom if you are a couple. it has a king bed and a huge bathroom. If you have kid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vandystar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013

The house is beautiful and really felt like the perfect home away from home for a weekend escape. Our hosts were retired yacht captains who could not have been warmer and had incredible stories to share! Our room and bathroom were beautiful and our breakfast was wonderful. In addition to continental, they have fantastic omelets and pancakes to order! The house is within walking distance of everything so we parked our car and enjoyed walking through the streets of the historic district for the rest of the weekend. Can't wait to go back and take friends!

Room Tip: The master with the claw foot tub was delicious!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Bern hotels
2 mi away
Hampton Inn New Bern
Hampton Inn New Bern
#1 of 10 in New Bern
660 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bridgepointe Hotel and Marina
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Comfort Suites New Bern
Comfort Suites New Bern
#5 of 10 in New Bern
224 reviews
0.6 mi away
Courtyard New Bern
Courtyard New Bern
#4 of 10 in New Bern
322 reviews
2 mi away
SpringHill Suites New Bern
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Captain's Stay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Captain's Stay

Address: 718 Pollock St, New Bern, NC 28562-5638
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > New Bern
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in New Bern
Price Range: £82 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Captain's Stay 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Captain's Stay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing