We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DEFINATELY BETTER THAN THE BAD REVIEWS!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Resort at Fairfield Harbour
Reviewed 30 August 2012

We stayed in the Condos on the north side of Broad Creek. The entire condo was clean and tidy. All the services worked very well, and the kitchen was really spotless and convenient.
When we called ahead for a late arrival the keys etc were conveniently placed in a lock box which we picked up at midnight without a problem.
The next day we checked in with friendly staff, and the events lady in the foyer was fantastic! The recreation center was great for us and the kids. Even the tennis courts were in top condition. Our only concern was that the Rec' center was too far to walk to, so we had to drive the kids back and forth.
If you are looking for a relaxing quiet time, this is the place for you! In comparison, the place we stayed at in Myrtle beach was awful!

Room Tip: if you enjoy golf, the condo porch upstairs is great for watching the players.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bern4000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (174)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

131 - 137 of 174 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2012

We arrived at this site early as did several other groups. No one's room was ready and the only greeting was a constant reminder that this resort was no longer owned or managed by Wyndham. So all the perks of being a Wyndham owner stopped the minute you stepped out of your car. We were not aware of this change but did discover a news article concerning a pending law suit involving Wyndham management and the home owners over the activity center, Trust me, if you are a Wyndham owner you are not welcome here and you will be shocked at the condition of the units. This is our fourth or fifth trip to this resort and sadly it will be our last. There are some decent people here, trying very hard to please and serve. But the corrosion of the resort and the deterioration of the management have reach a serious level. If I was a Wyndham executive I would move mountains to disassociate myself with this resort until such time as the standards here have improved. What a shame to see such a beautiful area become sub-standard.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Judi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2012

If you like moldy walls, mildew in the showers and roaches, you will love this place. It is a timeshare that is WAY PAST it's prime. The phones didn't work nor did the dryer. I complained but they had no other available units. The plaster on the walls was buckled and peeling in many areas. The air conditioners were so moldy that the walls next to the units were moldy also. The carpet was old and wrinkled with wear and mildew. I don't think there is a way to truly salvage this propery. I thought we could deal with it ok as we were out much of the day, however when a roach crawled down my back while I was sleeping that was enough to run us out. This propery is not convenient to anything except a marina and roaches. Stay away.

Room Tip: Stay at the Comfort Suites in downtown New Bern.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TNbeacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2012

My family & I went down to visit my dad, step-mom, & Grandmother in New Bern NC, where they live. We rented a condo at the Fairfield Harbour Sand Castle location & had a blast. My family all live in the Fairfield Harbour Community year round, but this was the first time in the time share area. The condo was wonderful. Tons of room, clean, & a great location! My grandmother stayed w/ my wife, son, & I for the whole vacation & she had a great time as well. She's 92, so I was concerned about her getting around the condo, but there was a pullout bed in the living room, as well as three bed rooms, (one was a loft that my 9 year old loved), so she was fine w/ the small steps up to the main floor. The lake out back had lots & lots of turtles which we fed & had fun watching them swim around. The pool area was fun, (indoor & out), & the Marina was nice to walk around. We played table tennis in the "clubhouse" & had a Pepsi float in the afternoon. (Pepsi was originated in New Bern NC, so we had to take in the original Pepsi store in town. My wife is a Pepsi FREAK!). The condo had a washer/dryer combo, 2-1/2 bathrooms, back deck, 2nd floor deck, FULL kitchen, multiple TV's, a huge dining room, & a great jacuzzi on the 2nd floor. The only complaint we had, was the 2nd floor deck had no drainage & w/ the rain we got over the 5 days we were there, the deck had about 3" of water on it! Other than that, we enjoyed our entire vacation.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

They have cockroaches!!! Stay away! Dirty dirty dirty!!! Yuck! I will never ever stay here again!!!! Blood on carpets and sheets! Dated and needs to be renovated, this is long overdue. The showers don't really work, you can get freezing cold or very hot...no mild!!! The clubhouse sucks as well...everything is so old! Disappointment for an RCI location...

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
4  Thank Derek G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

While, the accomadations were a bit "dated"....they were nonetheless clean & sufficient to our needs.
We liked that this was NOT a typical hotel unit.
Rather cottage style units....connected side by side. We were in an end unit which was perfect.
We had a carport, upstairs walk-out deck/balcony, ground-level deck. Right on the "lake". Quiet. A nice family get-away to be sure!!
You'll want to have a car on grounds. It was VERY hot when we were there - and the walk to the pool, and arena - seemed like FOREVER!
The pools were nice...but, packed as I believe they are open to "the public" (maybe - just a guess). However, the indoor pool was closed - for "unknown reasons", the 3/4 days we were there.
Mini-golf was old. But, would've been nice - if free, but NOT for a cost.
Employees were pleasant and responsive.
Childrens activities at a minimal cost were cool. T-shirt tye-dye.
Great location!
Peaceful setting.We did NOT find it too far from a grocery & gas.
Highly recomment for a relaxing get-away.
For families, older individuals, and couples alike.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KadenFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2012

We stayed in the Sandcastle units. They were the biggest units we have ever swapped in to. They are set up like townhouses. You walked in and were in a small area with a half bath and washer/dryer combo in a closet. Walked up 4 or 5 steps to main level. Nice sized kitchen, livingroom, diningroom and a deck off the diningroom that led down to a pond. Lots of ducks, geese and turtles in the pond. Plenty of storage space for our food in the kitchen which tends to be unusual. Went up maybe 10 more steps and there was a landing area with the master bedroom (sinking pit of a bed) & bath along with what I called the "spa room". It had a jacuzzi tub with a built in wooden bench and a skylight. It threw light down into the diningroom. Blinding in the morning to eat there. Up a few more stairs to the second bedroom and second bath along with the loft bedroom and another deck. Both bedrooms good sized. Unit was clean, but the outside was covered in spiderwebs. Lots and lots of webs. We were close enough to walk to the marina and rec center. Used the pool and played mini golf. Golf not over priced and it was a nice course. The bad: Not much in area. If you are looking to be around action, this is not your place The pool closed at 8 or 8:30. Waaaay too early for this family. We like to wind down the day with an evening swim, but not here. Still daylight and the pool was closed. We went on the ghost tour in New Bern. Disappointing compared to other ghost tours we've been on. Wouldn't recommend. Boat tour on the rivers was very enjoyable. We visited the Pepsi Store and the Cow Cafe and enjoyed those. Cafe is very cute with a nice play area in back for smaller children. We used New Bern as a jumping point. Went to Fort Macon (dangerous for small children. Lots of tall drop offs around fort. Keep a close eye on your kids! Interesting place, though), the aquarium in Pine Knoll Shores (smaller than expected, but nice), the Crystal Coast beaches, and the Lynnwood Park Zoo in Jacksonville. Zoo was small & quaint with an awesome owner who brought out a couple different animals to show to our little group. He obviously loves what he is doing and reminded us of Jack Hanna. All in all, we enjoyed our stay. Unit was large and clean. Just wish it was closer to activities. Most things were an hour drive.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mommy2My4Kids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Bern hotels
8.2 mi away
Candlewood Suites New Bern
Candlewood Suites New Bern
#7 of 10 in New Bern
84 reviews
5 mi away
Bridgepointe Hotel and Marina
7.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites New Bern
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront
7.2 mi away
Hampton Inn New Bern
Hampton Inn New Bern
#1 of 10 in New Bern
679 reviews
5 mi away
Courtyard New Bern
Courtyard New Bern
#4 of 10 in New Bern
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Resort at Fairfield Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Resort at Fairfield Harbour

Address: 475 Broad Creek Rd, New Bern, NC 28560-9326 (Formerly Wyndham Resort at Fairfield Harbour)
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > New Bern
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Speciality Lodging in New Bern
Price Range: £88 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Resort at Fairfield Harbour 3*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our resort features breath-taking waterfront, wildlife and golf course views. Each unit offers a furnished living area and full kitchen. All share in our generous amenities such as the marina, golf course, restaurant, pool and recreation center. We are 10 minutes from historic downtown New Bern and 45 minutes from the beautiful Crystal Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, bedfinder AG and Atrapalo so you can book your The Resort at Fairfield Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Resort At Fairfield Harbour Hotel New Bern
Wyndham New Bern
New Bern Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing