We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We like this place.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Captain Ratty's

Captain Ratty's
Ranked #8 of 168 Restaurants in New Bern
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$29
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“We like this place.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

We have eaten here before. Good atmosphere, good service, good food, not pricey. My kind of place. I broke down and finally tried Shrimp and Grits. Never liked grits so never tried it. OMG it was excellent. Not like grits at all, very creamy. Not only shrimp but sausage and bar-b-q'd bacon. My hubby's chicken was very good too.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lizzzy03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

602 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    213
    225
    95
    40
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Rooftop romance”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

Super wine selection and REALLY fresh well prepared seafood offerings from appetizers to main course and desert!!!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Miniwife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful Everything”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

Ratty's has great atmosphere, excellent food, wonderful service and fair prices.
Good for singles, couples or families.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank CollE73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesapeake, Virginia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

Wonderful food and wine. Had a lunch appetizer of fried green tomatoes with slices of moz cheese sandwich between and two different aloi sauces and dozen raw oysters. Dinner the rib eye steak is hugh and perfectly cooked, my dinner partner had the crab cakes and grilled shrimp. Excellent wine selecton Can't go wrong. Service was very friendly.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank crowder51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staten Island, New York
Level Contributor
91 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Sunday Night Dinner.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

We called Capt. Ratty's around 6pm on 7/27/14 to see if we needed a reservation for dinner. The hostess said they weren't taking anymore reservations that night but we could come and have a wait of about 35 minutes. We took a chance and drove over and gave our name to the hostess. It was only about a 25 minute wait until we were called. After being seated, it wasn't very long before the waitress came and took our drink orders. After a few more minutes she came back for our dinner orders. Well to shorten the story, they had a large party upstairs which was causing a delay in orders coming out of the kitchen and also running short of some items that we had ordered. The waitress let us know about the problem and had a suitable solution which the owner had suggested. It did take a fairly long time for the meals to finally get to the table, but both the waitress and owner came over to apologize for the delay and offerred us free desserts after the meal. All in all, the food was good and the staff wait staff did a nice job. We would definitly go back again.

Helpful?
Thank Mark K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Captain Ratty's also viewed

New Bern, North Carolina Coast
New Bern, North Carolina Coast
 
New Bern, North Carolina Coast
New Bern, North Carolina Coast
 
New Bern, North Carolina Coast
New Bern, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Captain Ratty's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing