We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A sweet B&B with excellent food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hanna House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 11 New Bern B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
1 review
“A sweet B&B with excellent food”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed at this B&B for two nights. We enjoyed talking to Camille and Joe (and Katie) and all of the guests that stayed there while we were there. The food was AMAZING! We want to go back again for a week or two worth of visits so we can sample all of the breakfast combinations. The atmosphere was awesome. The antiques around the place made the place look great as well. We stayed in the Lincoln Room.

Room Tip: The rooms with queen size beds have a stand-in shower. The rooms with king size beds have a Jacuzzi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bradley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    261
    12
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
40
157
12
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh
Level Contributor
150 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

What a great place to stay. Immaculately kept, interesting furnishings, welcoming hosts and an unbelievable breakfast. For breakfast you are given a choice of many offerings (like stuffed french toast with caramelized apples) and you pick the time you want to be served the night before. Excellent location just two blocks from the sound and two blocks from downtown. Free internet access and large quiet comfortable rooms.

For a fantastic dinner, walk the two blocks to the river and eat at Persimmons on the waterfront. Excellent service, great atmosphere and well prepared food.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoWolfpack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

Owners are fabulous, rooms are great and the food is superb. My husband and I were here picking up kids from a local camp. Was great for a night but would have loved to have had more time. Antiques are just beautiful. Price of the room was great - we stayed in the Fox Chase.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kbluster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

My husband and I stayed at this B&B a couple of weeks ago. Our stay was very enjoyable. Our bed was king sized and very comfortable. The owner gave us a great recommendation for a restaurant for dinner and she provided us with the most delicious breakfast I've had in a long time. She is a wonderful cook. Unfortunately I can't remember the name of the restaurant we ate at but it is the one right on the water. She will definitely know. I highly recommend staying there.

Room Tip: I think that all the rooms would be good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

How lucky we were to find Hanna House! We've stayed at a lot of B&Bs, but this is definitely one of the top experiences we've had! And for the same price as staying at an impersonal chain hotel, you can have a very personalized, comfortable and homey experience at Hanna House.

As other reviewers have mentioned, this B&B is unique in that you not only get to choose your breakfast from an extensive menu of offerings which Camille cooks fresh each morning, but you also get to choose what time you'd like breakfast served. The food was unforgettable! Try the stuffed french toast, the overnight pancakes or the dutch baby pancake filled with caramelized apples! In addition to the food, the house itself is beautiful restored and well appointed. Comfortable rooms, very accommodating hosts.

Be sure to ask for restaurant suggestions if you're unsure where to eat - We tried several of Camile's recommendations and they were all spot on!

One more thing - this B&B's location can't be beat! Easy walking distance to all points of interest in historic New Bern.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NicoleMarieL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterbury, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We have stayed here on two occasions. The last one was on July 4th as we were on our way to our new home in Myrtle Beach. It is a beautiful B&B. The food is amazing, the hosts, Joesph and Camille are so warm, accommodating and friendly. They make us feel like family. New Bern is a great town to visit. Make sure if you go you stay here. You will not be disappointed. We have stayed in many B&B's and this is by far our favorite!!!
Gene and Paula L.

Room Tip: Any of the rooms you choose are lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

We visited over the 4th of July and could see the fireworks from the balcony. It was a perfect, relaxing night away.

The breakfast was amazing !!! The only problem was trying to decide what to order.

Great location, easy walk to the river and downtown.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Bern hotels
0.2 mi away
Courtyard New Bern
Courtyard New Bern
#3 of 10 in New Bern
4.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront
0.6 mi away
BridgePointe Hotel And Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn New Bern
Hampton Inn New Bern
#1 of 10 in New Bern
4.5 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
2.5 mi away
SpringHill Suites New Bern
1.8 mi away
Comfort Suites New Bern
Comfort Suites New Bern
#6 of 10 in New Bern
4.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanna House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanna House Bed & Breakfast

Property: Hanna House Bed & Breakfast
Address: 218 Pollock St, New Bern, NC 28560-4943
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > New Bern
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in New Bern
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hanna House Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hanna House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing