We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Victorian home with hosts who make you feel like family” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Aerie Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Aerie Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 11 New Bern B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Kannapolis, North Carolina
1 review
“Beautiful Victorian home with hosts who make you feel like family”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2011

We stayed at the Aerie Bed and Breakfast the last weekend of April. What a fantastic place to stay! The rooms were clean with nice touches such as bottled water and mints. We stayed in the Basin Street Room for two nights and the bed was very comfortable. Michael and Marty made us feel welcome and right at home. They were so nice to recommend restaurants and activities...they even made reservations for us. The breakfasts are a real event and not to be missed. The french toast was delicious! We were able to park the car and not move it the entire weekend, since the home is so conveniently located. It is within walking distance of Tryon Palace, downtown New Bern, many restaurants and the riverfront walk.

We had a great time and have recommended the Aerie Bed & Breakfast to our friends.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tldsbd81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    368
    29
    10
    1
    0
See reviews for
27
312
13
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2011

I have stayed at the Aerie twice now, both times for work trips, and I wish I could go back again soon. I am always treated like family and taken such good care of. The sheets are amazing and the breakfast is to die for!!! It is the perfect place to stay if you are in New Bern....and even if you are just close by....plan a trip there anyway...it is worth it!

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank june07bride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clemmons, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2011

We were only able to spend one night at the Aerie B & B but will definitely try to make it back! The room was comfortable and super clean. The delicious breakfast was served with style by the most friendly hosts ever! The Gunhus' will make you feel right at home.
I highly recommend a stop at Aerie if you are able to visit New Bern!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carlfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valparaiso, Indiana
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2011

My sister and I stayed at the Aerie on Tuesday, April 5, 2011. The accomodations were lovely and the bed sumptuous. In fact, it was the most comfortable bed I've ever slept in. They seem to cater to businessmen rather than vacationers as we found the host (not the hostess) less than accommodating. Rather than get up early so we could leave for our ferry trip to Ocracoke Island, he flat out lied to us in order to persuade us to change our itinerary. He told us there was nothing to see on the southern portion of the outer banks but hotels as it was all built up. He accomplished his goal and we decided in favor of the lovely breakfast instead. During breakfast we spoke with another guest and discovered our hosts duplicity. So instead of saving us time on a waisted trip, our host caused us to miss Ocracoke Island and all that we would have seen up to Hatteras. We ended up driving over to the Outer Banks via Roanoke Island and then down to Cape Hatteras, as I very much wanted to see the lighthouse. During the drive we discovered there were only a couple of areas with hotels but mostly lots of sand, ocean and wildlife areas. The time wasted driving down to Hatteras and back up to Kitty Hawk caused us to have only 15 minutes to explore the Wright Brothers National Memorial.

While the Aerie was a beautiful place, I can't forgive the host for lying so blatantly about the Outer Banks, causing us to loose not only the prepaid ferry fare but our opportunity to see Ocracoke Island and their lighthouse. We missed the restful ferry rides, instead, I ended up doing twice the driving and wasting much time..

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stormy53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clemmons, North Carolina
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2011

The hosts of the Aerie were so very nice and made us feel welcome in every way. The breakfast was delicious each morning. The b&b is located such that we didn't move our vehicle from the time we arrived in New Bern until we left 48 hours later. This is a beautiful town where you can walk and relax, with lots of choices for eating. This is a definite must for a North Carolina long weekend!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank letsgo82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rye, New York
Level Contributor
126 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2011

A very welcoming, relaxing B & B beginning with a socializing hour with wine & snack to a full gourmet breakfast and wonderful room. The staff is also wonderful and friendly.

Room Tip: Call in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederick, Maryland
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2011

the town of New Bern, NC was very much a surprise. the history the neighborhoods - just wonderful. I stayed in the hidden room and LOVED it! Very comfortable - bed and linens were great. so much light in the room - just what i needed - i had planned on staying only one night but made it two instead. The owners were very helpful and gracious

Room Tip: Hidden Room back of house lots of light private ee
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank loriannmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Bern hotels
0.4 mi away
Courtyard New Bern
Courtyard New Bern
#3 of 10 in New Bern
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn New Bern
Hampton Inn New Bern
#1 of 10 in New Bern
4.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
BridgePointe Hotel And Marina
2.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites New Bern
1.9 mi away
Comfort Suites New Bern
Comfort Suites New Bern
#6 of 10 in New Bern
4.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Aerie Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Aerie Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Aerie Bed and Breakfast
Address: 509 Pollock St, New Bern, NC 28562-5611
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > New Bern
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in New Bern
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Aerie Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Circa 1882, the Aerie Bed and Breakfast is home to a premiere New Bern, North Carolina bed and breakfast, guest house and conference center. The Aerie Bed & Breakfast features nine well-appointed rooms, each with private bath, modern amenities and tasteful decor that reflects the home's late-Victorian heritage. Across the street, The Aerie Guest House and Conference Center offers two additional guest suites and a meeting facility to host events and functions. The Aerie is one block from the Colonial Tryon Palace Historic Sites and Gardens, and walking distance to fine dining, antique shops, marinas and The Birthplace of Pepsi. Our North Carolina inn is the perfect lodging choice for the discriminating traveler interested in convenience to the town's top attractions, while still experiencing the warmth and charm of elegant accommodations. Sailing, fishing and fine dining are all at your fingertips. The Aerie B&B is located in the heart of it all! Whether it's business or pleasure, your stay will be one surrounded with award-winning, personal attention and one that you will want to repeat. Your hosts, Michael and Marty Gunhus, look forward to welcoming you to their New Bern, NC bed and breakfast. The Aerie has the distinction of being awarded 'Simply the Best B&B' in the area by the Sun Journal- Five-time recipient - The Aerie Bed & Breakfast - An Inn of Distinction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Aerie Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing