We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bridgepointe Hotel and Marina
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in New Bern
Reviewed 5 March 2014

I stayed at the Bridgepointe Hotel again this past weekend and was once again thoroughly satisfied with my stay. While the hotel is obviously an older facility, it is expertly maintained. The rooms and grounds are both well maintained by a caring staff.

No matter where I have stayed I have never had a hotel have fresh "movie theater" style popcorn available upon check-in.....Great little perk....

My room had a great view of the harbor, microwave, small refrigerator, desk, coffee maker,iron and ironing board. All the amenities your room needs. Plus the free breakfast was adequate and well stocked. If there is anything they can do, they should upgrade the TV's and available channels.....maybe add pay per view movies.....

Otherwise a perfect stay for the money....

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pparrothead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colwen_MGMT, General Manager at Bridgepointe Hotel and Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2014

Thank you for your return patronage of our hotel and for taking the time to review your most recent stay. I'm happy to hear that you had a perfect stay and we look forward to hosting your next visit.

Best,
Gary Curry, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (447)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

376 - 382 of 448 reviews

Reviewed 21 February 2014

Not a lot to say. An older property, but well maintained. Cleanliness and comfort were satisfactory. Front desk staff were friendly and helpful. Nice to see a large breakfast room with a full time attendant taking care of it. Obsolete TV sets need to be replaced by flat screens.

Location is attractive, across the river from down town New Bern.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ronw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

I am not a picky person, but I felt like I needed a shower after leaving here. My family and I stayed here and my daughter's first comment was, "It stinks!" The first floor had no smoking signs but it reeked of smoke! Then we opened the door to our room and it smelled like urine. Did not want to take a shower/bath here..the tub was very dirty. Rust on the ceiling in the bathroom. We actually found a cleaner place in Havelock. For a place on the water, we were hoping for more. I felt like I could breathe once leaving.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AmandaCab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

After reading some reviews and needing a place to stay after the storm that hit the East we headed for the Bridge Point Inn. It was everything the previous people wrote about. We were most satisfied and were able to enjoy a lovely sunset from the 4th floor room overlooking the water.

Went to the Thai Thai restaurant.....excellent and very friendly owner. It is well worth going to. Locals support it whole heartedly.

Historic houses and palace history all very interesting.

Room Tip: 4th floor had king size bed and good views. It was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cynthia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

My husband and I have visited this hotel 3 times at New Years (as well as other times of the year) for some much needed R&R. Our room was clean,amenities all that was needed, the hotel staff is wonderful, friendly, people ready to respond to your needs at any time.Regardless of location of the room, you are overlooking water. Late in the afternoon they make fresh free popcorn for anyone wanting a little snack. Coffee available 24/7 and breakfast is certainly more than sufficient for those not wanting to go out, with available cereals,fruit,English muffins,bagels,all the trimmings for each of course, fresh made waffles if you desire, hard boiled eggs, two different coffees, milk, tea, two juices and a variety of muffins and pastries.There is walking distance to a steakhouse or a short drive to many different restaurants in the town of New Bern, one better than the next with plenty of available fresh seafood.They have just put in a beautiful new marinaif you have a boat. There is an in-house bar and entertainment is provided at New Years for a minimal cost. We would recommend this hotel at any time. There is also a swimming pool for those visiting in the hot summer months which is kept very neat and clean. We enjoy returning and will do so again.

Room Tip: We enjoy the front as it overlooks the two rivers on the third floor. We've never had a problem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ErnieM39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We chose this hotel because it was one of the cheapest hotel on line we could find, we were however surprised that discount prices did not mean discount quality. Our non smoking King size room over looked the water and we were able to watch a road race from the comfort of our hotel room. The breakfast in the morning was more than you would get at a paying restaurant. Would recommend this hotel to all who are stopping by. Great value for your money and if you have a boat their new docks on the marina are amazing.

Room Tip: King size non smoking rooms are the way to go
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MEM153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

We stayed here for a Saturday night (Aug 24) to attend my niece's wedding, nearby. We were given a room on the second floor. Here are my observations:

PROS
• Friendly staff
• Good size room
• Huge dresser (10 skinny drawers)
• Lots of storage in nightstands too (3 skinny drawers each)
• Wifi works well
• Sofa in the room
• Tall mini-fridge
• Two mirrors in the main room (one full length)
• Location next to marina
• Breakfast has homemade muffins (not store-bought)
• Coffee wasn't too bad (better than other hotels)
• Good, relatively new heating/AC unit
• Convenient location next to a few highways & downtown New Bern


CONS
• Cheapy pink cloth shower curtain (like something you might see at your grandma's house)
• Squeaky headboard
• Overloaded wall socket behind fridge (TV dies when you plug in the small coffee maker)
• TV is from 1997 (date stamped on the back) and only gets about 10 channels
• Small bathroom
• No mini bottle of hair conditioner (just shampoo)
• Soft water (feels slimy when in the shower... tough to feel rinsed off)
• Hotel is worn, but in reasonably good repair
• Had to get "special permission" for late checkout
• Drinks in Bambooz Tiki bar aren't that great ($5 rail drinks, $7 special on Long Island Tea)

Just to expound on some things from the lists above...

* The small town of New Bern is just across the small bridge from the hotel. You can walk there if you'd like. There are quaint little restaurants and small shops.

* There is only one wall socket that hosts the TV set, mini-fridge, lamp and coffeemaker. When you plug in the coffeemaker, the TV cuts off due to the power drain. There are other outlets in the room, but they are on other walls.

* Bathroom is unusually small, given the generous proportions of the bedroom and sitting area. They could/should have taken a few feet from the spacious bedroom to make the bathroom bigger.

* The hotel uses "soft water", which feels a little slimy when showering... like you can't get fully rinsed off. I guess you get used to it, but it felt a little strange initially.

* When I phoned the front desk the morning of our departure, to request a late checkout (all hotels will grant you an hour, no problem), I was surprised when I was asked by the front desk clerk, "Why?". (!!) I guess the front desk clerk didn't want to rock the boat with the housekeeper that morning. She said she would talk with housekeeping and call me back. (?!) About 5 mins later, she called back to tell me it was fine and we could check out an hour late. (Bizarre.)

* Their lounge is called the Bambooz Tiki Bar. It has a few outdoor seats that overlook the dock area, and the indoor seating has nice views of the marina through big windows. The bar has TVs with sports showing. The night we were there, they had karaoke going on too. It's not a bad bar, but the drinks were only so-so.

In conclusion...
For $80 (after tax & fees), this hotel is a pretty good value considering the convenient and attractive location. I'd give it about 3.5 stars, but TripAdvisor won't let reviewers give half stars.

P.S. There is an Outback Steakhouse right across the parking lot, though we didn't eat there.

Room Tip: Our 2nd floor room overlooked the parking lot primarily, but we could see part of the small marina b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Virginian01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Bern hotels
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn New Bern
Hampton Inn New Bern
#1 of 10 in New Bern
657 reviews
2.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites New Bern
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Comfort Suites New Bern
Comfort Suites New Bern
#5 of 10 in New Bern
224 reviews
0.5 mi away
Courtyard New Bern
Courtyard New Bern
#4 of 10 in New Bern
317 reviews
3.3 mi away
Candlewood Suites New Bern
Candlewood Suites New Bern
#7 of 10 in New Bern
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bridgepointe Hotel and Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bridgepointe Hotel and Marina

Address: 101 Howell Rd, New Bern, NC 28562-7853
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > New Bern
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in New Bern
Price Range: £74 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Bridgepointe Hotel and Marina 2*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BridgePointe Hotel has 116 spacious and well appointed guest rooms and suites all featuring free wireless internet, refrigerators, microwaves, irons/ironing boards, coffee makers, and hairdryers. Riverview rooms and Jacuzzi Suites are available and for your convenience an ATM machine. The staff at the BridgePointe Hotel is fully committed to providing each guest with the finest service. The atmosphere of this charming riverfront hotel, coupled with the hotel’s service commitment, makes it the perfect choice for your next visit to Historic New Bern! We have PET FRIENDLY rooms, so bring the entire family! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Bridgepointe Hotel and Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bridgepointe Hotel New Bern

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing