We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dated rooms, but the price may be right”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bridgepointe Hotel and Marina
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in New Bern
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Dated rooms, but the price may be right”
Reviewed 16 March 2014

The exterior (renewed?) disguises the age of this facility, which is older than it looks. The rooms are a good size, but the baths are TINY... one person only. The bed had seen better days, but was comfortable, with five nice pillows. The room's other amenities were simple but sufficient, and the rooms facing the west have a pleasant view of the Trent River. The free breakfast consisted of coffee, juice, DIY waffles, boiled eggs, toast, muffins, bagels, muffins, and instant grits. The room was clean and the staff was pleasant and helpful. There's an outdoor pool, marina, and free, easy-access wifi. The best part was that a coupon from a magazine at the tourist information office got us a room for less than eighty dollars (taxes included) on a Saturday night in the middle of March.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Evan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    121
    63
    26
    23
See reviews for
97
110
39
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
513 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

I stayed at the Bridgepointe Hotel again this past weekend and was once again thoroughly satisfied with my stay. While the hotel is obviously an older facility, it is expertly maintained. The rooms and grounds are both well maintained by a caring staff.

No matter where I have stayed I have never had a hotel have fresh "movie theater" style popcorn available upon check-in.....Great little perk....

My room had a great view of the harbor, microwave, small refrigerator, desk, coffee maker,iron and ironing board. All the amenities your room needs. Plus the free breakfast was adequate and well stocked. If there is anything they can do, they should upgrade the TV's and available channels.....maybe add pay per view movies.....

Otherwise a perfect stay for the money....

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pparrothead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colwen_MGMT, General Manager at Bridgepointe Hotel and Marina, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Thank you for your return patronage of our hotel and for taking the time to review your most recent stay. I'm happy to hear that you had a perfect stay and we look forward to hosting your next visit.

Best,
Gary Curry, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, ON
Level 6 Contributor
63 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Not a lot to say. An older property, but well maintained. Cleanliness and comfort were satisfactory. Front desk staff were friendly and helpful. Nice to see a large breakfast room with a full time attendant taking care of it. Obsolete TV sets need to be replaced by flat screens.

Location is attractive, across the river from down town New Bern.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ronw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Bern, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

I am not a picky person, but I felt like I needed a shower after leaving here. My family and I stayed here and my daughter's first comment was, "It stinks!" The first floor had no smoking signs but it reeked of smoke! Then we opened the door to our room and it smelled like urine. Did not want to take a shower/bath here..the tub was very dirty. Rust on the ceiling in the bathroom. We actually found a cleaner place in Havelock. For a place on the water, we were hoping for more. I felt like I could breathe once leaving.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AmandaCab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaufort, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

After reading some reviews and needing a place to stay after the storm that hit the East we headed for the Bridge Point Inn. It was everything the previous people wrote about. We were most satisfied and were able to enjoy a lovely sunset from the 4th floor room overlooking the water.

Went to the Thai Thai restaurant.....excellent and very friendly owner. It is well worth going to. Locals support it whole heartedly.

Historic houses and palace history all very interesting.

Room Tip: 4th floor had king size bed and good views. It was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cynthia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

My husband and I have visited this hotel 3 times at New Years (as well as other times of the year) for some much needed R&R. Our room was clean,amenities all that was needed, the hotel staff is wonderful, friendly, people ready to respond to your needs at any time.Regardless of location of the room, you are overlooking water. Late in the afternoon they make fresh free popcorn for anyone wanting a little snack. Coffee available 24/7 and breakfast is certainly more than sufficient for those not wanting to go out, with available cereals,fruit,English muffins,bagels,all the trimmings for each of course, fresh made waffles if you desire, hard boiled eggs, two different coffees, milk, tea, two juices and a variety of muffins and pastries.There is walking distance to a steakhouse or a short drive to many different restaurants in the town of New Bern, one better than the next with plenty of available fresh seafood.They have just put in a beautiful new marinaif you have a boat. There is an in-house bar and entertainment is provided at New Years for a minimal cost. We would recommend this hotel at any time. There is also a swimming pool for those visiting in the hot summer months which is kept very neat and clean. We enjoy returning and will do so again.

Room Tip: We enjoy the front as it overlooks the two rivers on the third floor. We've never had a problem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ErnieM39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milford, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We chose this hotel because it was one of the cheapest hotel on line we could find, we were however surprised that discount prices did not mean discount quality. Our non smoking King size room over looked the water and we were able to watch a road race from the comfort of our hotel room. The breakfast in the morning was more than you would get at a paying restaurant. Would recommend this hotel to all who are stopping by. Great value for your money and if you have a boat their new docks on the marina are amazing.

Room Tip: King size non smoking rooms are the way to go
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MEM153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Bern hotels
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront
0.5 mi away
Courtyard New Bern
Courtyard New Bern
#4 of 10 in New Bern
304 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn New Bern
Hampton Inn New Bern
#1 of 10 in New Bern
608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites New Bern
1.3 mi away
Comfort Suites New Bern
Comfort Suites New Bern
#6 of 10 in New Bern
216 reviews
3.3 mi away
Candlewood Suites New Bern
Candlewood Suites New Bern
#7 of 10 in New Bern
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bridgepointe Hotel and Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bridgepointe Hotel and Marina

Property: Bridgepointe Hotel and Marina
Address: 101 Howell Rd, New Bern, NC 28562-7853
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > New Bern
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in New Bern
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Bridgepointe Hotel and Marina 2*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BridgePointe Hotel has 116 spacious and well appointed guest rooms and suites all featuring free wireless internet, refrigerators, microwaves, irons/ironing boards, coffee makers, and hairdryers. Riverview rooms and Jacuzzi Suites are available and for your convenience an ATM machine. The staff at the BridgePointe Hotel is fully committed to providing each guest with the finest service. The atmosphere of this charming riverfront hotel, coupled with the hotel’s service commitment, makes it the perfect choice for your next visit to Historic New Bern! We have PET FRIENDLY rooms, so bring the entire family! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Bridgepointe Hotel and Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bridgepointe Hotel New Bern

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing