We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not recommended as an airport hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bridgepointe Hotel and Marina
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in New Bern
United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Not recommended as an airport hotel”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Chose this for a 1 night stay after a late flight into New Bern Airport prior to collecting a hire car the following morning when the desk was open. I selected it as it was the closest hotel to the airport. Wish I'd done more research. It may be the closest but it's not the most convenient. There's no shuttle bus from the airport. I paid 11USD to get there in a taxi on Saturday night. The same company wanted 20USD to take me back to the airport on Sunday morning! The hotel itself is very outdated. It smells musty from the time you walk in. The carpet in my room was threadbare and the linen dirty. Their idea of an evening meal is to give you the local Dominos phone number on your room key and a menu in your room.

Room Tip: Get a room in another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Legs E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    121
    63
    26
    23
See reviews for
97
110
39
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
SLC, UT
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

This facility may be attractive to boaters because of the marina, but it is sorely in need of a makeover. The non-smoking room I had reeked of smoke, the carpet, bedspread and couch were stained and wallpaper was torn/cracked. It was a step above a flophouse and one could do much better for a few dollars more. The staff seem friendly but they are not given much to work with.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Olympia65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We chose this hotel after a local told us our first choices were full. The location is lovely on the water. The clerk told us we were lucky to get the last nonsmoking room, however, the room had quite a bad odor [smoke? who knows what but it was quite pronounced]. I get it that hotel rooms get hard use but our room was quite tired. The veneer was coming off or splitting on the bathroom door; torn wall paper in the bathroom; a badly patched hole near a baseboard; rust on the ceiling grid. Our shower had a quarter sized rusty patch of some sort. I'm sure the room was clean, but, the list of minor issues was long and made the room feel a tiny bit seedy.

I likely wouldn't choose this hotel again; but, would stay here if necessary.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank runningwithscissors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

My family was celebrating my grandson's graduation from East Carolina University, and I reserved five rooms at the BridgePointe for four nights. It was a delightful experience, and the hotel staff were wonderful and helpful. We stayed on the fourth floor (every room has a waterview!) and had a graduation party in two of the rooms (Katie and Mary even found a folding table that we could use for hors d'oeuvres!) Everything worked perfectly--A/C, shower, lamps, etc. The continental breakfast was adequate--nothing exciting except perhaps for the waffle iron.

The hotel is easy walking distance (across the bridge) to downtown New Bern, which was convenient and fun. All in all a fabulous experience.

Room Tip: Since there is a karaoke bar, we chose to stay on the top (fourth) floor. The rooms were very quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dinah428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

I stayed two nights here, and although the view from my room was beautiful, I couldn't help but notice how compared to most hotels I have stayed in recently, this hotel was in need of a serious makeover. I have stayed in hotels that I paid less than what I paid for this room ,and they at least had a flat screen tv in the room.The beds weren't that comfortable and the pillows were a ridiculous size, way too small. The continental breakfast was better than some at other hotels. Just make sure you get up early to beat the breakfast crowd. The location is very convenient( within walking distance) to Tryon Palace and the Fireman's Museum.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Boomchicaboomboom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Just over the bridge from historic New Bern. Large room, very clean. Nice people on desk. Avoid New Bern traffic if there's a festival going on and stay across the river. Planned to stay one night but we stayed two because there is so much to see in New Bern. Reasonable rate. Good breakfast.

Room Tip: Ask for room overlooking the marina
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Poodleparent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro, North Carolina, Usa
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Stayed from Friday to Sunday with friends, in all we had three rooms. The WiFi only worked in the hallways and the lobby. Repeated complaints to the front desk was no help. This hotel allows pets. The room above mine must have had a large dog that was continuously it seemed jumping from bed to bed and from bed to floor making a lot of noise. Surprisingly this did not stop me from sleeping, however starting at 2AM I received two calls, I knew it was not anyone I knew because they would have called on my cell phone number.There was nobody there when I picked up the receiver. After the second call I phoned the front desk it rang for a while and then went to a dial tone. Several minutes later there was a knock on my room door which woke me up again and the night manager said there was loud noises coming from my room. I asked him if he heard any when I opened the door, no response there and I directed him to the room above where there was still loud jumping sounds. The next morning I went to the front desk to complain, that clerk brought out a log which is supposed to be filled out each time there is a complaint that the management gets. I was not surprised when the evening activities were not recorded.

Room Tip: If you must stay in this hotel get a room on the top floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Outbacker46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Bern hotels
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront
0.5 mi away
Courtyard New Bern
Courtyard New Bern
#4 of 10 in New Bern
304 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn New Bern
Hampton Inn New Bern
#1 of 10 in New Bern
608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites New Bern
1.3 mi away
Comfort Suites New Bern
Comfort Suites New Bern
#6 of 10 in New Bern
216 reviews
3.3 mi away
Candlewood Suites New Bern
Candlewood Suites New Bern
#7 of 10 in New Bern
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bridgepointe Hotel and Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bridgepointe Hotel and Marina

Property: Bridgepointe Hotel and Marina
Address: 101 Howell Rd, New Bern, NC 28562-7853
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > New Bern
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in New Bern
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Bridgepointe Hotel and Marina 2*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BridgePointe Hotel has 116 spacious and well appointed guest rooms and suites all featuring free wireless internet, refrigerators, microwaves, irons/ironing boards, coffee makers, and hairdryers. Riverview rooms and Jacuzzi Suites are available and for your convenience an ATM machine. The staff at the BridgePointe Hotel is fully committed to providing each guest with the finest service. The atmosphere of this charming riverfront hotel, coupled with the hotel’s service commitment, makes it the perfect choice for your next visit to Historic New Bern! We have PET FRIENDLY rooms, so bring the entire family! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Bridgepointe Hotel and Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bridgepointe Hotel New Bern

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing