We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staying At The Hilton In New Bern”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in New Bern
Reviewed 18 December 2011

It Was A Nice Hotel To Stay In The Beds Were Very Comfortable Room Was Good Alittle Small There Were Some Spots That Could Of Been Cleaner I Do Work At A Hampton Inn & Suites So I Did Look to See How Clean It Was There Was Hair On The Ceiling Stains On The Chairs And Carpet But For Being An Old Hotel It was Good The Housekeeping Lady Did Just Walked In Didnt Give Us A Chance To Answer The Door Which Worried Me Alittle Thank Good I Had The Bolt Lock On But The Front Desk Was Very Nice Also It Was Nice Going In A Hotel And Know What The Front Desk Was Talking About Since I Work The Front Desk Also Despite All The Stuff I Talked About In My Review It Was A Nice Hotel Thanks!!!

Room Tip: Get A Room With A River View
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sabrena B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newport_group, Social Media Specialist at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2011

We want you to know that we appreciate your comments and concerns and we want to assure you that we will use them to better our hotel. Thank you for staying with us and we hope that you will stay with us again next time you are in the area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,231)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,134 - 1,140 of 1,231 reviews

Reviewed 15 December 2011

I will admit I was a bit nervous about staying at this facility based on some of the previous reviews, however the name brand and the lure of riverfront accomodations won out and I am so happy I proceeded with my reservations.

When I arrived Sunday evening, Dec. 11, 2011, the front desk staff greeted me warmly, checked me in quickly and gave me some information on the historical significance of the area and some activities I may want to explore should I have the opportunity.

My room was located on the Riverfront side of the 5th floor. When I got off the elevator I was greeted with the unmistakable scent of new carpeting. Indeed the gold sculpted carpet on that floor looked as if it had been laid fairly recently. My room (non-smoking and non-pet) was clean and comfortable. The view off my balconly onto the river was beautiful. I felt close enough to the yachts below to reach out and touch them.

The only two small annoyances were small and could happen in any hotel: 1) I twice heard the pipes knocking after flushing the toilet; 2) the stopper in the tub was broken. Again, these were very insignificant and did not sully my experience with the hotel.

My stay was cut short at the last minute. I informed the front desk at 1:12 PM that I needed to check out and there were no problems and my bill was adjusted accordingly. The bellman even walked my luggage out to my car after I had told him it wasn't necessary.

I will definately stay at this property again.

Room Tip: I would suggest trying to get on the fifth floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Martye N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newport_group, Social Media Specialist at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2011

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to let us know how much you enjoyed your stay! We are pleased that we were able to accomodate all of your needs and we do apologize for any inconvienence that you may have experienced. We hope to see you again soon when you can stay longer and get the full effects of our town!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2011

We drove for nine hours in holiday traffic to share Thanksgiving with family residing in New Bern, North Carolina. Our reservation for dinner was at 3pm and we arrived with 30 minutes to spare. We were greeted warmly by front desk, our check in was expedient and we were even able to park very close to the entry of the building, our room was the first on the left, we were enthralled! (False sense of security)
After having a long battle of the wits with the door and winning we were greeted with the shaggiest room we have ever seen! The darkly stained tattered carpeting, dust encrusted bedraggled furnishings and the stale odor was boggling. We deposited our heavy baggage on the foot of one of the beds and agreed to simply get refreshed and to the restaurant on time and find management afterwards as we were skating on a thin ice of time.
My husband called to me from the bathroom and showed me the filthy camode with pubic hair not only on the rim but about the base. I settled my service dog and pets in with fresh bottled water while my husband then struggled with the thermostat. I called front desk and requested a manager contact me as soon as possible, reminding her that I had left both our cell phone numbers with her on check in. I was reciting the issues from stubborn door to present moment as my husband triumphantly exclaimed in the back ground that he had finally succeeded in getting the air on in the room.
We were ten minutes late meeting up with our family at the entry of the dining hall which the gracious hostess brushed it off with a smile and got us seated. The dining experience rivaled that of Disney! They far exceeded any and all expectation with their delightful culinary splendor, their rich hospitality and extraordinary presentation. After dinner we gathered our dogs and with our family we walked about the enchanting grounds and riverfront, settling peacefully at one of the many inviting outdoor seating areas to visit and enjoy the late afternoon sun.
Fatigue plagued every inch of my body and I just couldn’t wait another moment for our phones to ring so we retired to the room. (I am disabled) The bedding was fresh and the bed comfortable so it didn’t take long for sleep to take me.
What sounded like a troupe of energetic deaf clog dancers rudely woke me from my slumber around 9pm as I shot out of bed and snatched the phone to call front desk and ask what on earth was going on here. The pleasant lady informed me of hurricane Irene (How many months ago?) and that they had to take whatever the contractors were willing to give and that meant carpet installers were told to WORK AT NIGHT!!!!!!!!!!! As kindly as I could muster I asked for another room and a valet to help us move and she informed me that they didn’t have any other accommodations for us with our pets and my smoker husband. I told her that I would ban him to the great outdoors if we could please be relocated and she again reminded me that because of the dogs we were stranded.
It was an unholy night of tremendous noise that went on until just after 5am. I dressed and made my way to the front desk asking yet again for management and was told they wouldn’t be in for awhile. After returning to our hovel I lay back down and dozed until our family called and we told them I was in pretty bad shape but we mustered visits between napping times all the while waiting for the call that never came. Had our family not been living aboard their yacht with limited space I would have taken them up on crashing at their home.
Night two approached and with no hope in sight we packed, leaving our compartments open for access to toiletries and clothing so we could get out of there at first light, assuming I would be physically capable. I really didn’t believe the noise decibel level could possibly surpass the prior night, but it did, by a long shot. At 3am I told my husband if he had to carry me I wanted out and as far away as we could make it. We called the family at half past six making plans to share breakfast later in the dining room. Stopping at the front desk, I asked once again for a manager and was told that they weren’t in yet (Imagine that). Family helped load our belongings and dogs into the Hummer and leaving the vehicle attended we made our way to the dining room.
How a place could be such a combination of Heaven and Hell just boggles and stretches the imagination. Our breakfast which was fit for royalty was served by the most warm and hospitable server. The panoramic waterfront view is simply inspiring! To see and experience this resort (Sans the rooms) is sheer bliss and beauty as far as you can see. This writer believes that the Culinary, Grounds and Hospitality divisions are clearly not handled by the irresponsible and invisible manager responsible for guest services, maintenance and housekeeping. Who in their right mind would order construction work to be done while their guests would be sleeping? The same that would hold no accountability to housekeeping and would blatantly ignore a paying guest in crisis.
My attempts to contact management continue to this moment (three days after checking out) I have saved every e-mail, the survey and kept careful record of each call. A trainer is the only person to have responded and she sounds very sincere and caring, I am cut and pasting her reply to me this morning.
Good Morning XXXXXXX,
It was my pleasure to respond to your email about our hotel. I want to apologize for not explaining this earlier; Michael usually passes any emails or service issues to me first to respond to and get a bit more information and then he follows up with the guest to make sure we have come to a conclusion which is in the guests best interest. I can assure you he takes all comments from guests both good and bad very seriously. I agree the room could use some work with the condition of the carpeting as well as a good deep cleaning. I have urged the Derrick, Director of Housekeeping, to do this immediately. I have not yet had the opportunity to follow the housekeeping staff on random checks but I will speak with Derrick and see if there is a schedule he and I can set up where we both check in on them. Again, I truly apologize for the noise of the construction. When one loses sleep it surely does not do a body any good. I am sorry you missed the opportunity to visit with family; I also visit family for the holidays and would also be upset if I did not get to spend the maximum time allowed with them. Travel is an extremely precious commodity and it should be thoroughly enjoyed. I am going to follow up with Michael and fill him in as to our discussion. Please allow us to make this right for you. We enjoy the opportunity to have you as our guests as well as your company.
Sincerely,
XXXXXXX

This was the fourth in the chain of e-mails; I had suggested that there be accountability in place when it comes to timely response to Guest’s needs, housekeeping and maintenance. The lady has been most gracious, a shame she has limited authority. I just want this to be past us already, I want the bill straightened out (They charged me 250.00 for my dogs and we left the room in better shape than we found it, my husband went out and bought some cleaning items.). I don’t feel they have a right to charge for so much as a night’s stay. There is no way to compensate a person for stealing time from their lives, for subjecting a human to conditions one would not do to an animal.
I am writing this following an urgent appointment with one of the medical specialists that are a part of my care giving team. He was aghast when we told him what had triggered this attack, even more so when we told him it was a Hilton and not a Motel 6. I will be on bed rest and temporarily on heavy enough meds to coax my muscular skeletal system back to normal.

Room Tip: Call the Comfort Suites or one of the many bed and breakfasts in that enchanting Norman Rockwell typ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Susan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newport_group, Social Media Specialist at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2011

First, I want to thank you for taking the time to both write us and speak with our staff about your recent experience at our hotel. I extend my most sincere apologies and want to assure you that the GM of the property, whom I believe you have spoken with since this review, has met with all of our staff and the issues you have addressed are promptly being taken care of.

Thank You.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2011

I was excited to stay at this property when I was in the area for business. I lived in New Bern briefly as a kid and actually attended the Bicentennial fireworks on the site of what was to become this hotel on July 4th 1976. The park where the hotel is located is called (as it was then) Bicentennial Park. It was nice to see the historical downtown and old historical neighborhood where I lived were not only surviving, but thriving beautifully.

The hotel itself must have been built in the 80’s but still seems new-ish and up to date with renovations. Check-in was fast and friendly and my Hilton Honors VIP Diamond status recognized. My room was really great – must be one of the best in the hotel – top floor overlooking the river, bridges and marina. It was spacious, clean and modern feeling. It was also very quiet – which I like. Parking was plentiful and free. There are a number of restaurants nearby which you can walk to or drive (lots of street parking, although I was there on a Monday night). The hotel website says they were damaged by the hurricane, but I didn’t see any evidence of this.

The breakfast buffet was pretty unremarkable. The service (despite being at first the only one, the one of two tables of one – both getting the buffet) was pretty slow. I knew the waitresses were around because I could hear them in the back talking about their weekend or something -- but no plate clearing or glass re-filling ever happened. I usually like to put whatever breakfast charges I have on my room, but rather than get annoyed at the wait, I just left a cash tip and my Diamond breakfast coupon and left without anyone noticing, apparently.

It was a quick overnight stay, but I would definitely stay here again if I am in the area again. I’d like to bring my family and show them where Daddy used to live a long time ago.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TransCon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newport_group, Social Media Specialist at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2011

We're are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and that we were able to accomodate all of your needs. We look forward to seeing you and your family again in the near future.

Thank You!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2011

Although this hotel suffered damages from hurricane Irene, it is obvious they are trying to repair and improve the facility as quickly as possible. We had a nice stay , beautiful location , honored my Hilton upgrade as a Diamond member and gave us a suite. ( Not all hotels make the effort to do this) Breakfast was great .

Room Tip: There are 2 buildings at this location .You may want to inquire about what may be going on in the ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TEF2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newport_group, Social Media Specialist at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2011

Thank you for your wonderful comments about our hotel! We're pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay, despite all of the construction going on. Thank you agian for staying with us, and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2011

The hotel brings bands in during the summer on Friday and Sunday nights to promote their outdoor bar, 22 hours worth the weekend we were there. Our original room was less than 40’ from the amplified speakers; our room window rattled with the noise and we had to raise our voices to hear each other. After too much effort on our part, we were able to get a room in a building away from the bands. The hotel has spoiled their peaceful waterfront setting and invaded the guests’ rooms with noise.

There were several other problems which made the stay less relaxing and enjoyable than it should have been, not even close to Hilton’s usual standards. What appeared to be mold in the bathroom; asking guests to not use their cars during the stay because of crowded parking, room doors slam shut instead of closing gently, for examples.

In my opinion, the management is more concerned about an extra buck than the comfort of their guests, rather than the other way around. Although this hotel is not in great condition, the primary reason I would not recommend staying here is management’s attitude. Even when they remodel and rebrand this hotel, management’s poor attitude towards its guests will still be present. I took the time to locate the head of operations of this particular Hilton franchisee and send him an email explaining my concerns. He did not even acknowledge receiving the email but just passed it along. It ended up with the front desk supervisor responding to my concerns. While she was very nice to talk with, she does not have the authority to make any of the needed changes, not a decision maker. The lack of response from the head of operations is very disrespectful towards a guest.

This Hilton is rated 7th out of 9 hotels in New Bern, I think it should be at the bottom of the list.

Room Tip: If noise from the weekend bands are causing you a problem, New Bern has a noise ordinance and a dist...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Annapolis2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newport_group, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2011

Thank you for taking the time to write about our hotel. We appreciate your comments and concerns. We truly care about our guests comfort. The hotel has been having bands on our deck for over a decade now and most individuals enjoy a Friday evening on the deck listening to music while on vacation. I apologize you did not enjoy our entertainment. I can assure you as the General Manager at the hotel I am extremely concerned with you as a guest. We are undergoing construction due to the hurricane and hope to have our hotel back to the Hilton Standard. Thank you again for taking the time to bring these issues to my attention and I will be sure to personally follow up with each department.

Sincerely,
Michael McMahon
General Manager
Hilton New Bern/ Riverfront

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2011

We are from New Bern and have a lot family there so we stayed here for a weekend visit. This hotel used to be a Sheraton hotel and was recently changed to the Hilton. I stayed at the hotel when it was the Sheraton and from what I can see, all that has changed is the name. Now that's not to say that it was a bad stay, because it was not.

It is located in the downtown area so it is lovely to get out and walk around downtown. Plus, the riverfront is right behind it with a path that connects to a local park (Union Point Park) so it is in a beautiful location. It is also right next to the convention center.

This hotel has 2 sections, the regular hotel part and the inn. The regular hotel part is just like a regular hotel, but the inn is much more modern, with some of the rooms having an opening out onto a small "balcony". The bad part about this, however, is when booking the room online, there is no place to choose which part you'd like to stay in. You have to add that you'd like to stay in the inn on the "Comments" section when making your reservation. However, no matter what section you choose, try to get a riverfront room; the view is marvelous. The only drawback to our stay was we chose and paid for a riverfront room, but when we opened the curtains, there was a huge tree outside the window that blocked the entire view. I wish I could remember the room number but I can't recall.

We have stayed at almost all the hotels in this town and we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ncmon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newport_group, Social Media Specialist at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2011

We're extremely pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay at our hotel. Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we want to ensure you that all comments are used critically to better our hotel. We are currently undergoing a good amount of renovations and our hotel will be evolving over the next couple months. We hope you will choose to stay with us agian next time you are in town!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Bern hotels
0.3 mi away
Courtyard New Bern
Courtyard New Bern
#4 of 10 in New Bern
326 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn New Bern
Hampton Inn New Bern
#1 of 10 in New Bern
672 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bridgepointe Hotel and Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Comfort Suites New Bern
Comfort Suites New Bern
#6 of 10 in New Bern
226 reviews
2.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites New Bern
3.3 mi away
Candlewood Suites New Bern
Candlewood Suites New Bern
#7 of 10 in New Bern
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront

Address: 100 Middle St, New Bern, NC 28560-2144 (Formerly Hilton New Bern/Riverfront )
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > New Bern
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in New Bern
Price Range: £80 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront 3.5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront is conveniently located in the heart of the downtown Historic District with beautiful views of both the Neuse and Trent Rivers. We are just minutes away from the area's premiere shopping, restaurants, and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton New Bern/Riverfront Hotel New Bern
Sheraton New Bern
New Bern Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing