We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in New Bern
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2012 via mobile

We were here for a long weekend . Very nice stay the location is perfect , quick walk to the downtown area . We had a one bedroom suite . The only downside was that there was not a door to close off the bedroom . Very pleasant staff .

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DurellSullivan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newport_group, Social Media Specialist at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront, responded to this review, 6 September 2012
We're ecstatic that everything was to your liking during your recent stay! We hope that you will be back to see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,051 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    325
    284
    214
    142
    86
See reviews for
212
327
38
365
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tellico Plains, Tennessee
Level Contributor
186 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2012

It was ok, really nothing that special as far as service, cleanliness, etc. but neither did they screw up those areas. Ice machine on 5th floor was inop and it looks like it has been for a while (judging by the sign)

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newport_group, Social Media Specialist at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront, responded to this review, 6 September 2012
We're pleased to hear that everything was up to par for your recent stay with us! Thank you for taking the time to let us know how our hotel performed and we hope you'll stay with us again next time you're in town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sebastian
Level Contributor
76 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2012

I stayed here for a business trip and was impressed. I was upgraded to a suite with a water view without asking based on HHonor status. The room was clean and comfortable. The bathrooms were a little tight, but for an older hotel this is common. The AC was a tad on the loud side.

The hotel itself was quiet, I barely EVER heard other rooms, doors closing, people in the hall, cars, trucks, etc.

The hallway was hot, but I think that was just due to the fact that part of the hall was open to below and hot air rises.

Lots of things were in walking distance, great shops and restaurants.

I would stay here again if I come back.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Snaglpus00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newport_group, Social Media Specialist at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront, responded to this review, 6 September 2012
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay! We're pleased to here that you enjoyed everything and we look forward to seeing you again soon,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2012

Our stay began with the warm chocolate cookies from the front desk staff and since then I was captivated. The room was beautiful and had a great view of the marina. Everything was clean and the bathroom was really well kept. The bed was so unbelievably comfortable that the only complaint is that I had to leave it in the morning to sight see. New Bern is a charming little town to walk through for a weekend and the Double Tree only enhanced our stay. Our family isn't used to staying at upper class hotels, yet the price was not that bad and our room was really great. No complaints here!

Room Tip: Fifth floor facing the marina
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newport_group, Social Media Specialist at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront, responded to this review, 23 August 2012
Thank you for staying with us! We're ecstatic to hear that you and your family enjoyed your recent stay with us. We hope to see you all again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2012

I am typing this as I sit in the room ticked over my experience tonight in what is my first and likely last night in this dump. Where do I start... I am in a separate building from the registration desk. I have been locked out of my room twice. Apparently they don't want you leave your room, because if you do the key card won't let you back in. Two 1/4 mile trips over to the other building for a reprogram, with no apology for my troubles whatsoever. Night lady at the desk on my second visit seemed bothered that she actually had to do something. Air unit in the room took 4 hours to drop the temp 2 degrees. The building I'm in is a complete dump. After a day of rain, there are buckets, trash cans, towels and "slippery when wet signs" all over the lobby floor from the leaky roof, hours after the rain has ended. How hard is it to fix the roof? And why hasn't this all been cleaned up by now? Carpet in a Motel 6 is better maintained. It is lumpy, wavy, and dirty in the public areas. Big time tripping hazard, not to mention how BAD it looks. Cable/Sat is terrible, went for a stretch of time with several channels out. ESPN and CBS were glitchy all night and half of the channels available were analog (bad picture). Plus, 4 seconds or so between each click of the channel, to the point I began to doze off between channel changes. Decided to go get a snack from the vending machine. About 4 food choices and one drink option. If you don't like Diet Mt. Dew, you're out of luck. I don't believe they have restocked in over a month. And to top it off, the drink was luke warm at best. OK, I'll get some ice. Ice machine is out of order, imagine that, with a note and a smiley face referring me to the next floor down. Box fan above the ice machine blowing on it like it had been overheating. Fire hazard perhaps? And my return to the room was the 2nd lockout that I mentioned earlier, requiring me to walk over half dressed. And finally, as I'm ready to go to sleep I press the Wake Up/Service button on the phone to ask for a wake up call....nothing but static, button doesn't work. As far as positives go, the bedding is clean, that's about all I've got. With the way my experience is going, I probably won't have hot water in the morning.

Room Tip: Until they refurbish this place, choose another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 747Kevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newport_group, Social Media Specialist at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront, responded to this review, 23 August 2012
Thank you for staying with us and for letting us know about your stay. We're sorry to hear that our hotel was not in tip top shape for your visit. We are currently working on getting the leaky roof fixed. Our hotel is also still undergoing some fixing up after we were hit hard by a hurricane last year. We hope that you made management aware of your problems while you were in house so they could address your problems immediately. We hope you'll reconsider and give us one more chance next time you're in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New Bern hotels

Fredericksburg, VA
Level Contributor
165 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2012

I stayed here for 4 nights this past weekend. Air conditioner broke down two nights in a row. The motel recovered by offering us another room that was larger and gave us two dinners to Christoph's restaurant.

The plus side is it is real close to town and listening to the music on the deck was so much fun. Would stay here again but with some reservations.

Room Tip: Stay in the older building street view. Large windows and more room in the corner rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Journeytonowhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newport_group, Social Media Specialist at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront, responded to this review, 23 August 2012
We're pleased to hear that we were able to accommodate all of your needs. We apologize for the air conditioner breaking but we're glad that the staff took care of you! We hope you'll stay with us again next time you're in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perrysburg, Ohio
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2012

We stayed for one night while traveling south. This was a nice hotel in a very nice location. We had a room with a view of the water which was very nice. There were a few minor cosmetic issues with this hotel, like a burned out light bulb, but we are not overly picky about these things. The room did smell musty when we arrived and it was very humid during the time of our visit. The hotel was quiet except for the air conditioner. The air conditioner would run for a while, then it would turn off for about two minutes before turning on again. This happened all night so it was hard to fall asleep. The room did not have a refrigerator and breakfast was unfortunately not included. On the plus side, the beds were so very comfortable and the door did not slam shut. This hotel was in a nice area, the staff was very friendly and the customer service was excellent. The warm walnut chocolate chip cookies were definately a plus. We would consider this hotel again in the future.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank born2sail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newport_group, Social Media Specialist at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront, responded to this review, 23 August 2012
Thank you for staying with us and for letting us know how your recent stay was! We're so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Bern hotels
0.3 mi away
Courtyard New Bern
Courtyard New Bern
#3 of 10 in New Bern
4.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
0.3 mi away
BridgePointe Hotel And Marina
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn New Bern
Hampton Inn New Bern
#1 of 10 in New Bern
4.5 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites New Bern
1.6 mi away
Comfort Suites New Bern
Comfort Suites New Bern
#6 of 10 in New Bern
4.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
3.3 mi away
Candlewood Suites New Bern
Candlewood Suites New Bern
#7 of 10 in New Bern
4.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront
Address: 100 Middle St, New Bern, NC 28560-2144 (Formerly Hilton New Bern/Riverfront )
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > New Bern
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in New Bern
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront 3.5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront is conveniently located in the heart of the downtown Historic District with beautiful views of both the Neuse and Trent Rivers. We are just minutes away from the area's premiere shopping, restaurants, and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton New Bern/Riverfront Hotel New Bern
Sheraton New Bern
New Bern Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing