We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront
Nearby Hotels
Bridgepointe Hotel and Marina(New Bern)(Great Value!)
US$118
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$125
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$110
ComfortSuites
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Express New Bern(New Bern)(Great Value!)
US$103
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$138
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hampton Inn New Bern(New Bern)(Great Value!)
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Courtyard New Bern(New Bern)
US$131
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Candlewood Suites New Bern(New Bern)(Great Value!)
US$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$79
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$70
QualityInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,267)
Filter reviews
1,267 results
Traveller rating
372
328
258
181
128
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
372
328
258
181
128
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe riverwarm cookiesbeautiful viewbalcony roomwithin walking distanceconvention centerhotel is in a great locationwater frontdowntown areahistoric districtnorth carolinatryon palacemarinariverfrontboatsconferencepet
Filter
Updating list...
1,107 - 1,112 of 1,267 reviews
Reviewed 23 October 2012 via mobile

Great location on the water. Front desk clerks need to be trained as they were not helpful at all. Room was not clean with old carpeting and fixtures.
Water pressure was terrible and a shower was impossible.
Limited selections in restaurant
Could be a great place but no attention to details and customer needs.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newport_group, Social Media Specialist at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2012

We apologize for any problems that you were faced with while staying with us. We currently working on the water issue and are about to undergo some renovations to our property. We hope that you will stay with us again in the future and check out our improvements.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2012

After reading some of the reviews we were a little concerned at booking online but decided it was in a very convenient spot for what we wanted. We flew into New Bern airport and called the hotel for the courtesy bus. We were told that it was not running but they would arrange for a taxi. We had barely stepped outside when the taxi arrived to take us the 5 minute drive to the hotel. On checking in we were welcomed by reception and given warm chocolate chip cookies. We asked for a quiet room and were given a very nice room on the top floor overlooing the marina with our own balcony. All the staff we meet were very friendly. Free internet connection was fast and quick to log into.
Our room had the most comfortable bed, lots of storage, fridge, microwave and a spotless bathroom.
We were late for breakfast next morning and felt a little rushed although I think this was more the fault of the waitress trying to finish her shift. Plenty of choice for continental or hot. The buffet breakfast was not the best we have had but the fresh cooked breakfast were excellent.
Very nice and relaxing to have a jazz concert on Sunday evening out on the deck. Other nice touches were free Starbucks coffee outside the restaurant until 10.30am and iced lemon water in the lobby all day.
I also noticed that one reviewer complained about no valet parking. It does say no valet parking on their website and all parking was just in front of the hotel and only a few yards to the far side of the parking area. We borrowed our friends car and were never more than 2 or 3 cars back from the front entrance. When we left a taxi was quickly organised to take us back to the airport.
Will return if we need a hotel in New Bern and look for the Double Tree chain in future.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floor over-looking the Marina
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Silbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newport_group, Social Media Specialist at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2012

Thank you for taking the time to let us know how your recent stay was! We're extremely pleased to hear that you enjoyed everything our hotel has to offer. We're also glad to hear that our staff was on their best behavior. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2012

Nice clean room. Great location. Reasonable price. A 5K, 10K, half marathon was happening that morning. I slept in. The runners all got up before me and showered. I imagine their showers were hot. Mine was not. I ran the water on hot for nearly five minutes waiting for it to even warm up. So such luck. Ended up taking what we call a Navy shower. Splash a bit here, splash a bit there. Too cold to actually stand under. Like when the ship ran out of hot water out at sea. I thought for the price (over $100) a hot shower would be included. I'll not stay there again or recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MrJbrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newport_group, Social Media Specialist at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2012

Thank you for your feedback regarding our water heaters. I apologize that your experience with us was not satisfactory. We have plans to improve our water heating system during an upcoming renovation to help alleviate the water temperature issues. We hope you will consider giving us another chance if you return to the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2012

I'm startled and dismayed by some of the critical reviews of this hotel. It did suffer a lot of damage from the hurricaine in August 2011, but all that has been repaired beautifully. The staff are really friendly and helpful. The deck overlooking the pool and the marina is a terrific place to unwind, take a dip, and enjoy a cocktail in the summer. Also, the weekend bands make it a fun place to party in the evenings with friends. It doesn't have a free breakfast but I've never found the food to be good at hotels offering free breakfasts anyway. I love the Starbucks coffee in the lobby, and there are great breakfast cafes right up Middle Street.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newport_group, Social Media Specialist at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2012

Thank you for the wonderful review! We're pleased that you enjoyed everything our hotel has to offer and we hope to see you again soon :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012 via mobile

This hotel is on the marina overlooking the boats, the river and the bridges.
Great views from a 5th floor rive view room.

Short walk to downtown restaurants and shops. The staff were very friendly, the breakfast buffet was adequate. The restaurant has a small bar for a.before dinner cocktail.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newport_group, Social Media Specialist at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2012

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to let us know how much you enjoyed our hotel! We're glad that everything was just how you liked it and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews