We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Travels with Rover”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in New Bern
Reviewed 26 December 2012

We, myself, wife and sheltie spent 5 or 6 days here during our daughters graduation. Our rooms were not in the main building but close enough for room service. The food was wonderful and delivered HOT. The lower floor was apparently reserved for canine accompanied guests and held the harbor masters office. The room was booked weeks in advance and was unexpectedly inexpensive and non-refundable. It was a nice and spacious room with a 32" (?) HD. My only negative comments were that the AC was noisy, the bathroom door intruded into the vanity and there was a brownish stain on the carpet making it suspect for use without slippers. Our first night was NOT restful as the adjoining room housed a dog which barked at each and every noise. We could hear our human neighbors clearly even though they did not raise their voices. They departed the following day and there was not other disturbance. The staff was terrific, especially a sweet oriental maid who thanked buddah for our tip. I would stay here again for the wonderful views and nearness to historic downtown New Bern and it's shops, restaurants and clubs. PS, the dogwalk supplies provided by the hotel were empty the entire week.

Room Tip: Ask for a waterside room. If you want more of a view go up a few floors.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newport_group, Social Media Specialist at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2013

Thank you for staying with us and for letting us know how your stay was! We apologize for the cosmetic issues that you noticed and for the dog supplies being empty the whole time, we have made management aware so that you will not have this issue next time you stay with us! We look forward to seeing you and your family again soon and if there's anything you need during your next stay please to not hesitate to ask!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,162)
There are newer reviews for DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

998 - 1,004 of 1,163 reviews

Reviewed 8 December 2012

Let me start by saying this was and still is one of my favorite hotels on the planet. You will always be treated well here, and particularly during the holiday season, there is no friendlier town in the world than New Bern. But... while being recognized as an Honors member is perfectly acceptable, recieving the "Hilton" treatment at a place like this was stellar. I certainly still recommend this place, and we will stay again, but you notice little touches they once had that aren't there anymore. I still suggest Christoph's for on-site dining (very good now - not great) and you won't find many better views than the New Bern marina at sunrise. Ask for the riverview side and take a stroll around downtown. A very nice getaway.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newport_group, Social Media Specialist at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2012

Thank you for your kind words about our town and hotel, we're pleased to hear that we were able to accommodate your needs. We appreciate your comments and assure you that management has been made aware of your suggestions. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2012 via mobile

This hotel sits right on the Marina. The views are amazing! The rooms have been updated but the water pressure needs work! The staff is hit or miss. Christophe's is good and the wait staff wonderful. The warm cookies are super yummy!! I'll stay here each time I travel to New Bern!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EllenBug55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2012

We checked-in late & left early. The last time we were here it was the Sheraton. I believe the Hilton just took it over because they are renovating the floors one by one. We were on the fifth floor. I believe the view was worth the stay. They tried their best to do a good renovation, but the bathroom still needs some TLC!! We will stay again because I think it's the best hotel new bern has to offer. Maybe next time we'll even make a weekend of it :) Overall, we got to bring our dog, ($50 non-refundable fee) the front desk employees were friendly, and had a restful night sleep with amazing views.

Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Nayst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newport_group, Social Media Specialist at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2012

We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay at our hotel. We are always working to improve the hotel so we greatly appreciate your feedback. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2012

Stayed here for a business trip. It is a very nice hotel on the water, so a a great view. They also offer pet friendly rooms, which is a plus. The rooms themselves are not the most modern I've stayed in but they are nice enough and very clean. There were some chips in the bathtub and a some rust around the handicap bar in the bathroom but the sink area was updated and there were plenty of shelves and drawers for your clothes and bags. The bed and pillows were also incredibly comfortable.

The in-hotel restaurant had good food, and again a great view but a limited selection and a little pricey. There are restaurants within walking distance though, so venturing out is not a hassle.

The one thing that would keep me from coming back was the lack of broadband connection. I could not log onto my work computer for this reason which put me a week back.

Other than that though, I'd stay here if I was ever in the area again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MegESK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newport_group, Social Media Specialist at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2012

Thank you for staying with us and for letting us know how your stay was! We're glad to hear that you enjoyed everything, and we want to ensure you that the internet connection will not be a problem the next time you're here! We are always working to improve our property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2012

One of the first things to consider regarding this property is that there are two distinct buildings. We stayed in the second building which is away from the check-in and the restaurant. Our stay actually occured during the first weekend in August 2012.
This is a great location. You have a great river view and the hotel is very convienient to the shops and restaurants that down town New Bern has to offer.
We were in room Rm 251 which was very comfortable and the lay out was very good. The beds and pillows were exceleent and comfortable.
Russ Carter was very professional and friendly during our check-in though were not offered any cookies.
This is an older hotel that has gone through previous onership and brand changes as well as a few storms. The maintenance crew were very visable and worked hard on the upkeep during our stay.
The main negative for us was the bathroom in our room. The bath tub was chipped and damaged and needs to be replaced. There was other areas in and around the bathroom that was in need of repair as well. Normally this is a major sore spot for us but the overall cleanliness of the bathroom and the entire room made our stay more than tolerable. We actully enjoyed our stay in spite of the glaring repair needs.
This property has the potential to be top notch once the major repairs that are needed have been completed.
We look forwarde to visiting New Bern again next year and hopefully we will find a new and improved Doubetree awaiting our arrival.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 4Christ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newport_group, Social Media Specialist at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2012

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to let us know how much you enjoyed your stay! As you noticed we are undergoing renovation and a recent change in management. We hope to have everything back to tip top shape soon and we look forward to seeing you again :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2012

We stayed here Oct. 19-22 with our two dogs. The room was clean and very comfortable. You would not have known you were in a pet-friendly room. The grounds were well kept and the hotel staff were very friendly. There was a problem with no hot water on Saturday morning, but we were offered another room in the hotel to shower. Also, the management waived the pet fee for the inconvenience. We always travel with our dogs and will definetly stay here again next time we visit New Bern. It would be nice to have a mini-fridge in the room and to include a breakfast in the (little bit pricey) room rate.

Thanks for welcoming people who want to bring their dogs with them and providing a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Myra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newport_group, Social Media Specialist at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2012

We're pleased to hear that you found our hotel satisfactory and accommodating. We apologize for the hot water issue. We are currently undergoing some renovations so this should not be an issue during your next stay. We look forward to seeing you and your dogs again :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Bern hotels
0.3 mi away
Courtyard New Bern
Courtyard New Bern
#4 of 10 in New Bern
309 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bridgepointe Hotel and Marina
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn New Bern
Hampton Inn New Bern
#1 of 10 in New Bern
636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Comfort Suites New Bern
Comfort Suites New Bern
#5 of 10 in New Bern
221 reviews
2.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites New Bern
3.3 mi away
Candlewood Suites New Bern
Candlewood Suites New Bern
#7 of 10 in New Bern
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront

Address: 100 Middle St, New Bern, NC 28560-2144 (Formerly Hilton New Bern/Riverfront )
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > New Bern
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in New Bern
Price Range: £87 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront 3.5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront is conveniently located in the heart of the downtown Historic District with beautiful views of both the Neuse and Trent Rivers. We are just minutes away from the area's premiere shopping, restaurants, and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton New Bern/Riverfront Hotel New Bern
Sheraton New Bern
New Bern Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing