We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice location and rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in New Bern
Reviewed 8 February 2013

beautiful location and central to downtown New Bern. Rooms older than some hotels, but have a great charm & spaciousness to them.
Friendly staff and above average restaurant. Covered walkway between buildings if you do venture outside... directly adjacent to convention center and waterfront. Helpful staff, warm and welcoming lobby

Room Tip: two seperate buildings.... one older and one newer... I actually like the older building better b/c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kona71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newport_group, Social Media Specialist at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2013

Thank you for taking the time to let us know how much you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We're pleased that you chose to stay with us and we hope that you will do so again next time you're in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,203)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,030 - 1,036 of 1,203 reviews

Reviewed 4 February 2013

Great view of the river, awesome staff, a little better than average rooms (but the bedding helps), nice bathroom, fridge has no visual adjustability (leaves beer and water a little on warm side), and the internet is terrible. First hotel I've been at that constantly disconnects and reconnects while also having one of the slowest speeds I've experienced in years. It isn't even quick enough to support streaming of Pandora!

This makes it nearly impossible to do any work on business laptop as I have to login to work account every time it disconnects and reconnects.
Be sure to check out Christoph's- they have great food and bar staff. Well, Vince and Myron, anyway.. Some of the older and earlier waitstaff could stand to be a little friendlier

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bbeck84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newport_group, Social Media Specialist at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2013

We appreciate your feedback on the speed and consistency of our internet service at our hotel. We’re sorry for the inconvenience and are currently addressing this issue with our service provider. Thank you for bringing this to our attention, and we hope you’ll consider staying with us again when your travels bring you back to the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2013

Our room at the Hilton was in The Inn, the adjacent building to the Main Bldg. of the Hilton. room was spacious, wonderful bed/bedding. Everyone very friendly; yummy warm chocolate chip cookies. The Inn needed a few cosmetic repairs. Our door had to be forced open or closed - needed a good carpenter; the light bulb in the bathroom was burned out and needed to be replaced. After calling the main desk, the service man was at our door within minutes. He was unable to repair the stopper in the tub and left us with 2 free breakfast coupons! Wonderful, gormet dinner, friendly waitstaff.

Room Tip: Rooms on the riverfront in The Inn are the BEST. Corner room had large glass windows and tiny balco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank margeaton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newport_group, Social Media Specialist at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2013

Thank you for staying with us and for letting us know about your recent stay! We apologize for the small cosmetic issues that we were faced with but we're happy to hear that our maintenance staff was quick to get to you! We hope to see you again in the near future and please let us know if there is every anything we can do to make you stay even better.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2013

Really nice hotel with great, friendly staff. Had a problem with the room we booked, but they moved us to a nice suite and even provided champagne for our second anniversary and a complimentary breakfast. Just a quick trip down for one night. I also left a personal item in the room, and the staff were great getting it back to me. Thanks Patricia!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VandCWatson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newport_group, Social Media Specialist at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2013

We apologize for the issue with your room but we're glad that the staff on site was able to get the issue quickly resolved! We hope you had a happy anniversary with us and we look forward to seeing you again :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2013

This is a lovely hotel, very clean, very nice staff, excellent food in the restaurant and location is wonderful. Easy to access, parking is great and you feel very safe. The rooms are very nice with comfortable beds and they are roomy. The staff is very helpful, very efficient and always ready to assist you with any issues Beds are very comfortable. They always have fruit available in the lobby and a lovely container of water with a touch of lemons which looks very inviting for a cool, refreshing drink. The view of the water is great. This is a very nice place to stay.

Room Tip: View from 3rd floor overlooking water is beautifu
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChesapeakeAnne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newport_group, Social Media Specialist at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2013

We're incredibly pleased to hear about how much you enjoy our hotel! We strive to please our guests and we're glad that our hotel was able to keep you happy during your stay. We look forward to seeing you again next time you're in New Bern!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2013

I stay here once a year when I travel for work and love it. It is a great location and I love looking at all the boats. This year I staying in the new section of the hotel and was pleased with my room. The only thing that seemed really odd to me was the tub and shower fixtures.. I had this beautiful hotel room and bathroom with all new fixtures but the tube looked like it was very old and was extremely out of place in what was otherwise a very updated room. Also the shower fixtures where mounted right of center which made showering very difficult and uncomfortable. My last bit of advice to the hotel would be that if you have a woman traveling alone, you might want to reconsider putting her in a first floor room right next to an unmanned lobby.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kubbylee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newport_group, Social Media Specialist at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2013

Thank you for staying with us and for letting us know what you thought about our hotel. We apologize for the shower fixtures but assure you that we are about to undergo a remodel. We hope that you will stay with us again next time you're in town!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2013

Not a bad hotel. Has some age spots showing, but in the older tower the views of the river from the balcony are incredible. Would ALWAYS as for a baloncy room. Nice friendly bar and GREAT experience at check in and check out.

Room Tip: Ask for the higher floors with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LadyLexus22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newport_group, Social Media Specialist at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2013

Your comments about your stay at our hotel made me smile. We know it’s the little things that make your stay more comfortable (along with our great location). Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Bern hotels
0.3 mi away
Courtyard New Bern
Courtyard New Bern
#4 of 10 in New Bern
317 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn New Bern
Hampton Inn New Bern
#1 of 10 in New Bern
657 reviews
2.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites New Bern
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Comfort Suites New Bern
Comfort Suites New Bern
#5 of 10 in New Bern
224 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bridgepointe Hotel and Marina
3.3 mi away
Candlewood Suites New Bern
Candlewood Suites New Bern
#7 of 10 in New Bern
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront

Address: 100 Middle St, New Bern, NC 28560-2144 (Formerly Hilton New Bern/Riverfront )
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > New Bern
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in New Bern
Price Range: £76 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront 3.5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront is conveniently located in the heart of the downtown Historic District with beautiful views of both the Neuse and Trent Rivers. We are just minutes away from the area's premiere shopping, restaurants, and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton New Bern/Riverfront Hotel New Bern
Sheraton New Bern
New Bern Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing