We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in New Bern
Trinity, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice Rooms”
Reviewed 15 April 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel during a trip to New Bern for a friend's wedding. The hotel has a nice view of the water. The room and bathroom were beautiful and immaculately clean. We had a very nice stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank psylent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DianeJSchmitt, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront, responded to this review, 21 May 2013
I am so happy to know that we were able to Create A Rewarding Experience for you during your visit to New Bern for such a special occasion. I will make sure I share this with our Director of Housekeeping so she can commend her staff on their efforts. Thank you and have a wonderful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    334
    295
    229
    151
    94
See reviews for
227
346
40
380
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Monument, Colorado
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013 via mobile

If you are in the area, stay here. Perfect location on the water/edge of downtown/next to the New Bern bridge. Walking distance to all of down town. 20 minutes to Cherry Point. No other good options between Cherry Point and New Bern. Great staff with quality food and amenities. Wish the rooms had a microwave but not a big deal.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SFRetSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newport_group, Social Media Specialist at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront, responded to this review, 12 April 2013
We're glad to hear that your recent stay with us was everything you had hoped. We hope that you will choose our hotel again on your way back through New Bern.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2013

They stole my credit card information and went to town after we left!! Just received a call from Chase telling me that there are 4 separate charges AFTER we checked out from this place. Stay away!! The food sucked also. Took over 4 times to get a chair brought up to our room. They even left it in the hall. What a rip-off.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
5 Thank Cheryl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newport_group, Social Media Specialist at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront, responded to this review, 12 April 2013
Thank you for your comments. I sincerely apologize for this unfortunate situation. If you would please contact me directly, I will be more than happy to work with you to find a resolution to this. newportgroupaugusta@gmail.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New Bern hotels

Charlotte
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 March 2013

We had our wedding and reception here this past weekend and everything was perfect. Our guests were seated on the lawn with the ceremony in the gazebo and it was ideal. We had our cocktails in the "rotunda" of the Inn with dinner in the Library and the reception on the Veranda overlooking the water and it was exactly what we wanted. Only problem was the weather - where is spring. A large number of our guests were from out of town, all stayed here and some were in town for as long as 6 days. All the rooms were great (make sure you get the river view). We had a few small problems but the staff was quick to solve all of them. Everyone enjoyed the restaurant and lounge on numerous occasions. The wait staff never got flustered, even when our small table of 4 would suddenly become a group of 20. The entire staff was wonderful - professional when needed and fun when appropriate. Tasha and Jan in sales are easy to talk to even when we became demanding as to room locations. Vernice (Catering Manager) was absolutely the best! She listened to what we wanted, made some great suggestions, and did not panic when we refused to give on the weather location. Marie (Banquet Manager) and her staff were also fantastic. She stuck with our planner late the night before the wedding making changes as our guest list evolved (last minute changes thanks to the military). Service during dinner was fast and efficient but never in the way. Even though there was another reception in the hotel the same day, the attention we got from the staff and management (even managers off work came by to check on us) made us think we were the only guests in the hotel. The hotel shuttle makes it easy for guests that fly in to get around. They will even transport you around town between airport runs! Hotel is in a great location. You can walk to almost everything that New Bern has to offer. We definately will be back and recommend that anyone coming to New Bern stay here.

Room Tip: The Inn is a little older than the main building. It may not be as convenient but feels more person...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Russell F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newport_group, Social Media Specialist at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront, responded to this review, 12 April 2013
Congratulations on your wedding! We're incredibly pleased to hear that our hotel and staff were able to make your big day everything you dreamed of. We hope that you and your family will come visit us again and please to do hesitate to let us know if there is anything we can do for you :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY NY
Level Contributor
176 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 244 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2013

We stayed at the New Bern Doubletree for one night on a quick trip to New Bern. The front desk attendant was busy and another attendant stepped in to assist. The first staffer was pleasant and outgoing, offering us a complimentary tube of toothpaste which we had mentioned we had forgotten. The second one was very quiet, as she checked us in. We and our traveling friend had two rooms in the new building. If I were traveling alone I would recommend staying in the main, older building, since the newer one is empty with no visible security to the various entrances. Our hotel room door was difficult to open and close. At times we realized it had not closed all the way, at others, we could not open the door without body slamming it. Thursday night, we went to the restaurant for drinks and enjoyed the jazz combo playing there. The atmosphere was lively and the people were friendly, especially the musicians who related in a nice way with the crowd. The bed was comfortable although the ventilation rattled on and off all night. At 8:30 of the morning we were going to check out we got a knock at the door from housekeeping who wanted to clean the room. We got a complimentary breakfast when we checked in an enjoyed the buffet. The waiter was very congenial and the service good. We would return to this hotel if we had occasion to visit New Bern again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PAM_from_LINY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newport_group, Social Media Specialist at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront, responded to this review, 12 April 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let us know how your recent stay at our property was. We apologize for the noisy air conditioner but we're pleased to hear that everything else was to your liking. We hope to see you again next time you're in the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2013

Have read several reviews putting this Hotel down, my personal experience is 100% different. My wife and I were well pleased with the service the people were as nice as it was possible to be. We were also pleased with the quality of the food and service. The rooms were very clean and nice everything was as clean as could be expected. All in all we had a very nice stay and we will be back!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newport_group, Social Media Specialist at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront, responded to this review, 26 March 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let us know how much you enjoyed your recent stay with us! We're pleased to hear that everything was to your liking and we hope you and your wife will come to see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
the great pacific northwest
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2013

Right next to the boat harbor so the view is water and boats.
Very comfy beds, though they weren't queen size, and I appreciate the double-sheeted down comforter. The heaters are noisy, so we turned it off when we went to bed. But it was rather warm in bed because of the down comforter. A lighter weight comforter would be a nice option.
We are in a handicap accessible room, so the bathroom is large.
Good food in the on-site restaurant, and quick room service.
My niece wanted to swim, but the only pool is outdoors and not open yet.
The wifi situation is a bit confusing, but we got it going finally.
The room furnishings were nice and included a fridge behind a door in the large armoir.
With my AAA discount the price was reasonable for four people in a two bed room.
I would stay here again.

Room Tip: The rooms on the harbor side are worth the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dybdahl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newport_group, Social Media Specialist at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront, responded to this review, 26 March 2013
We're pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay. Come see us again during warmer months and enjoy our outdoor pool :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Bern hotels
0.3 mi away
Courtyard New Bern
Courtyard New Bern
#3 of 10 in New Bern
303 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bridgepointe Hotel and Marina
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn New Bern
Hampton Inn New Bern
#1 of 10 in New Bern
594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites New Bern
1.6 mi away
Comfort Suites New Bern
Comfort Suites New Bern
#6 of 10 in New Bern
214 reviews
3.3 mi away
Candlewood Suites New Bern
Candlewood Suites New Bern
#7 of 10 in New Bern
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront
Address: 100 Middle St, New Bern, NC 28560-2144 (Formerly Hilton New Bern/Riverfront )
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > New Bern
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in New Bern
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront 3.5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront is conveniently located in the heart of the downtown Historic District with beautiful views of both the Neuse and Trent Rivers. We are just minutes away from the area's premiere shopping, restaurants, and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton New Bern/Riverfront Hotel New Bern
Sheraton New Bern
New Bern Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing