We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would stay again” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in New Bern
Omaha
Level Contributor
9 reviews
“Would stay again”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

We ended up in the Marina house. We had paid a little extra for a view, but being on the second floor didn't provide much view of the bay. Other than that, it was a good, comfortable place to stay. It was clean and amenities were adequate. The restaurant was good and not as pricey as some hotel restaurants. The staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank PBOGoingPlaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DianeJSchmitt, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Good Afternoon

I wanted to take a moment and thank you for your recent stay and for taking the time to review the property. I am so happy to know that you enjoyed your visit with us and I hope we have the pleasure of you staying again in the future. Thank you and have a wonderful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,028 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    322
    280
    209
    135
    82
See reviews for
208
322
37
355
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raymond, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

The DoubleTree was chosen mostly due to its location on the waterfront. We were quite pleased to find the staff professional and very friendly and the facilities very good quality. We did notice a very minor amount of weathering on some of the waterfront wood trim but this did not detract from the experience. The location is almost ideal with easy walk to downtown restaurants and attractions. it also has a large marina which adds to the waterfront ambiance. The room was very large with good quality furnishings and amenities. Even though New Year's Eve was part of our stay, there were no problems with noise.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Harry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DianeJSchmitt, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Good Afternoon

I wanted to take a moment and thank you for your recent stay and for taking the time to review the property. I am happy to know that you enjoyed your visit with us and I hope we have the pleasure of you staying again. Thank you and have a wonderful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yardley, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
75 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

Our family booked two separate rooms on 12/29 and we all thought our rooms were relaxing, clean and reasonably sized. Not large, but decent. I think they must have just taken over a conference center that is right next door, which I don't think they've figured out what to do with yet! There is a little room off the lobby with the fountain that is just junk....random games and some storage items. There are other small, odd lobby rooms that don't seem to be of much use and, honestly, the grounds crew were noisy and in the way. They just walked in front of you and continued to blow leaves even as you were walking through them. Their jobs are important, but it's just as important for them to be less noticeable. The main hotel lobby was clean, attractive and well-staffed with pleasant people. Did I mention the warm chocolate chip cookies?!

Room Tip: I would suggest the main hotel vs. the conference center next door, at least until they renno the co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank catcat6327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DianeJSchmitt, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Good Afternoon

I wanted to take a moment and thank you for your recent stay and for taking the time to review the property. I apologize you were not happy with the Inn building where we began our renovations, all of which are done for now. The room you are refering to in the Inn is actually a small lounge for the marina guests to use. I have also brought up the issue with the grounds people and them not being considerate to our guests. I hope we have the pleasure of you staying with us again in the future and please feel free to request a room in the main tower. Thank you and have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

Loved the corner room but it needed some work. Two of the posts of the 4 posted bed had been cut off. The light fixture in the bathroom was falling out of the ceiling and the shower had mold on the tile on the floor. There was a wedding in the lobby of our building preventing us from using the elevator without walking through the middle of it. This is one of my favorite hotels to stay at and I would have appreciated it if the staff would have warned us of the renovations and wedding.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DianeJSchmitt, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Good Afternoon

I wanted to take a moment and thank you for your recent stay and for taking the time to review the property. I apologize for the issues you faced with your room and also the wedding party and renovations. I hope we have another opportunity to have you stay with us again and be able to Create A Rewarding Experience for you once our renovations are done. Thank you and have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbridge, Virginia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

The staff was very helpful during our stay here. We had a quick check in and a nice clean room waiting for us. The building is indicative of the old world charm of historic New Bern. The hotel was quiet and a charming throughout. I had the buffet breakfast and it was delicious. The buffet station was not messy and everything was in order.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Charity3110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DianeJSchmitt, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Good Afternoon

I wanted to take a moment and thank you for your recent stay and for taking the time to review the property. I am so happy to know you enjoyed your visit with us and also enjoyed our breakfast buffet. I hope we have the pleasure of you staying with us again. Thank you and have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

The room was fantastic ... spacious and clean. It was just what we needed for a week-long visit with family during the Christmas holiday! We had dogs and the grounds were perfect for them. The staff was very accommodating and friendly despite having to work over the holidays.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank ATABSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DianeJSchmitt, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Good Afternoon

I wanted to thank you for your recent stay and for taking the time to review the property. I am so happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and our staff made you feel welcomed. I hope we have the pleasure of you staying with us again in the future. Thank you and have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
233 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

This Doubletree is located in a perfect location on the harbor in the historic small city of New Bern, NC. It was easy to walk through the city and visit the historic landmarks from this location. The view of the harbor from my room , 455 on the "inn" side, was good. There are two buildings in this complex and I was put on the "inn side." The room itself was nice and there was one ceiling light not working above the chair near the bed. The carpet was new so it took a little push to open the door since it has not been matted down by use. The hot water took a long time to get to the bathroom faucet and shower. The cleaning staff did a good job with their daily upkeep of the room.
Sometime during the first night the room heater must of died and I woke up to a 59 degree room around 5:30 AM. I increased the temp on the thermostat but it just kept blowing out cold air. Needless to say this was too uncomfortable to stay in so after shower etc I went down to the next building to the desk and reported it. The desk clerk sympathized especially after I showed her a picture of the thermostat that read 59 degrees! She gave me a key for another room on that floor but when I went into that room, 452, the temp was 52 degrees and the heat was off! Obviously they try to save money by turning off the heat in rooms instead of turning them down to like 60 degrees or so like I do at my house when away. This may be part of the problem. I went back to the desk and told the clerk that I wanted someone to fix the heat in my original room as I refuse to move to an even colder one. I decided to move up my fishing trip and came back a little after noon to find that the heat was fixed. I was told that it took the repairman about an hour to fix. In short good hotel but poor maintenance and/or management policies hamper its success.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jjmat49022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DianeJSchmitt, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Good Afternoon

I wanted to thank you for your recent stay and for taking the time to review the property. I apolgize for the issues you faced with the heat in your room and can understand your frustration. Getting out of a shower in 59 degrees is not pleasant. We did have an issue in the Inn building and our Chief of Engineering was able to repair it. I hope we have the pleasure of you staying with us again in the future. Thank you and have a wonderful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New Bern hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Bern hotels
0.3 mi away
Courtyard New Bern
Courtyard New Bern
#3 of 10 in New Bern
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn New Bern
Hampton Inn New Bern
#1 of 10 in New Bern
4.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
0.3 mi away
BridgePointe Hotel And Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites New Bern
1.6 mi away
Comfort Suites New Bern
Comfort Suites New Bern
#6 of 10 in New Bern
4.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
3.3 mi away
Candlewood Suites New Bern
Candlewood Suites New Bern
#7 of 10 in New Bern
4.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront
Address: 100 Middle St, New Bern, NC 28560-2144 (Formerly Hilton New Bern/Riverfront )
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > New Bern
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in New Bern
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront 3.5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront is conveniently located in the heart of the downtown Historic District with beautiful views of both the Neuse and Trent Rivers. We are just minutes away from the area's premiere shopping, restaurants, and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton New Bern/Riverfront Hotel New Bern
Sheraton New Bern
New Bern Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing