We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor quality” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in New Bern
Sims, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Poor quality”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

Hotel staff appeared disheveled with poor appearance. No air condition in hallways and elevator. This was an extremely uncomfortable experience. One small TV in a large suite. No refrigerator available in room to keep drinks cool.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
2 Thank Rebecca R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DianeJSchmitt, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Good Afternoon

I wanted to thank you for your recent stay and for taking the time to review the property. I apologize for the issues you faced during your stay and can assure you they have all been addressed. These are certainly not the standards we strive to achieve. Thank you and have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,028 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    322
    280
    209
    135
    82
See reviews for
208
322
37
355
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

Beware there is currently a lot of renovation work taking place that they don't warn you about when you book a room. Worse still, the workers are leaving fire doors propped open and trip hazards in the emergency exit staircases. Housekeeping is random; frustrating unless you like to play a game of spotting what they've forgotten to do/replace each day. Toilet is faulty in my room, meaning running water noises all through the night. It took two days of reporting it before maintenance looked at. Their work has made the problem worse. The staff don't know their own hotel - on several occasions I've been given incorrect answers to my questions. You can't really swim in the pool. It's about 10m long, but there's a rope half way along meaning a maximum swimming distance of about 5m. The "business centre" is a couple of Windows XP computers and a very basic printer but no scanner. On Friday nights a local DJ plays very loud music on the deck until 10pm. My room is about as far away as you can get from the deck, but the music was still louder than I was playing my own music in the room - not a good environment for working or sleeping in. I need to stay in the area longer than originally planned, but the staff weren't interested in letting me keep the room so I'll be checking out early and taking my business elsewhere. Location is the only plus for this hotel: lots of good independent restaurants within walking distance for the evenings. The waterside is great, but there are only 4 small outdoor tables you can eat at here at the hotel - what a wasted opportunity.

Room Tip: Higher number rooms are furthest from the awful loud music on the deck on Friday night (but it's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Legs E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DianeJSchmitt, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Good Afternoon

I would like to apologize for the issues you faced during your stay. I can assure you the items that you mention are not what we strive for here. I have brought all of them to the attention of our General Manager, Director of Housekeeping, Chief of Engineering and our Front Office Manager and can assure you each of the items will be addressed immediately. These are certainly not the standards we strive to achieve. If you would like to contact me directly so I can make this right for you, please do so. Thank you and have a wonderful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New Bern hotels

Bienville, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

Was put in a room with AC broken. Management kept working on the AC but couldn't fix it. After temp reached 82 degrees insisted they move me. They then would not give me a king bed until I informed them I was checking out - then a king room magically became available.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
2 Thank Martin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DianeJSchmitt, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Good Afternoon

I wanted to thank you for your recent stay and to also apologize for the air conditioning issue that happened during your visit. I can assure you that it has been serviced and fully operational again. Please feel free to contact me directly so I can make this right for you. Thank you in advance and have a wonderful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Bern, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

This was the last straw with the Double Tree in New Bern, NC. Thanks for two days of 80 degrees in my room when you promised to fix the air conditioning. I work very long days and could not change rooms at 9:30PM . I went to the room you offered and it was also very hot and humidity nasty. How much can the Hilton that supports the Double tree HILTOn failures. And dissatisfied customer services. This needs to be taken to the next level the failure of management.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Annette V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DianeJSchmitt, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Good Afternoon

I would like to apologize for the issue you faced with the air conditioning not functioning. I can certainly understand and appreciate how uncomfortable you were. I would like to assure you that the unit has been serviced and is now operational. Please contact me directly as I would like to make this right for you. Thank you in advance and have a wonderful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

I was not given the room I booked. I ask for them to move me and they told me it was not possible. Very poor customer service. I was not given the room I booked. I ask for them to move me and they told me it was not possible. Very poor customer service.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
2 Thank brooksc931
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DianeJSchmitt, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Good Afternoon

Thank you for your recent stay and for taking the time to review the property. I am so sorry that our staff did not accommodate your room type request. I have brought this to the attention of our General Manager and our Front Office Manager so that if and when a request is made that we try to honor the best we can. Thank you and have a wonderful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Bern, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

My wife and I have stayed here the last two years to celebrate our anniversary. We love the top floor balcony rooms that overlook the marina and sound. We have always gotten good service and the people are very accommodating. If there are any cons I would have to say that being an older hotel there are a few things that need to be updated. One example is the sliding glass door going out to the balcony was very difficult to slide. But overall, there are no problems with this hotel. We will stay here again and would recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank William L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DianeJSchmitt, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Good Afternoon

Thank you chosing our property to celebrate your anniversary and for also taking the time to review the property. I am so happy to know you enjoyed the last two wonderful occasions with us and we look forward to your next return. Thank you and have a wonderful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south miami, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

I travel weekly and find the Hilton Garden Inns to be a much better value. Poor desk service, tv didn't work, bath tub cracked, woke to whistling shower next door at 4 am, HVAC one floor below so loud couldn't sleep, elevator broken, lobby coffee service hidden in restaurant and staff seemed to infer we were stealing coffee, business center couldn't print air tickets, invoice dropped thru 5' high mail slot in door which at 4 am was disturbing. I'll do the Courtyard for me and my staff next time. Second time I've been disappointed at this location and commented. No I don't want any perks so don't ask.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
2 Thank Donald G A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Bern hotels
0.3 mi away
Courtyard New Bern
Courtyard New Bern
#3 of 10 in New Bern
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn New Bern
Hampton Inn New Bern
#1 of 10 in New Bern
4.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
0.3 mi away
BridgePointe Hotel And Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites New Bern
1.6 mi away
Comfort Suites New Bern
Comfort Suites New Bern
#6 of 10 in New Bern
4.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
3.3 mi away
Candlewood Suites New Bern
Candlewood Suites New Bern
#7 of 10 in New Bern
4.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront
Address: 100 Middle St, New Bern, NC 28560-2144 (Formerly Hilton New Bern/Riverfront )
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > New Bern
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in New Bern
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront 3.5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront is conveniently located in the heart of the downtown Historic District with beautiful views of both the Neuse and Trent Rivers. We are just minutes away from the area's premiere shopping, restaurants, and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton New Bern/Riverfront Hotel New Bern
Sheraton New Bern
New Bern Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing