We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel - good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in New Bern
Reviewed 20 October 2008

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Sheraton in New Bern. The service was wonderful - especially Dale, who checked us in. She was very patient - as we had a particular kind of room in mind - the view was of most importance. The room was very nice, clean, and comfortable except for the air conditioner, which I think was not working correctly. It kept cycling off and then coming on immediately.
The restaaruant was very nice - good buffet breakfast with a good view of the marina.
The location was great - we didn't need to use our car at all - could walk to restaurant,s sights, etc.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank MargreteJoyce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,241)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,204 - 1,210 of 1,241 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2008

did not want to stay here based on earlier reviews, but my first choice hotel was sold out. The Sheraton in New Bern is a great hotel, having just been renovated. My room was excellent in every detail. the staff could not have been more friendly. everyperson I contacted was helpful and friendly. excellent views, excellent rooms, excellent staff.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank tprichmond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2008

We are staying here right now. So far it has been a horrible experience. We made the mistake of taking our bags into the lobby with us to check in, only to be assigned a room in a different building. There was no one available to transport our bags to the other building, so we were left to do it alone, in 100 degree heat. No apology from the staff at all. After working up a sweat moving all the bags, we headed to the pool to cool off, to find out it was shut down. The kind souls offered us a coupon to go use the pool at the YMCA! If I wanted that I would have stayed at Motel 6. Some time during our first night, the air conditioner went out, and we could hardly sleep it was so hot in the room. I called in the morning to get someone to come look at it, and was told they would get someone right over. 3 hours later I called again. Again an apology, but no results. After another hour wait I called again, and was told that the A/C was out on all the room on our floor. I guess they just planned on staying quiet about it to see if anyone complained. They said the found us another room, back in the other building! Of course I had to re-pack everything and move it myself again. The staff is just horrible. They offer apologies, but offer nothing for the inconveniences they have caused. They use the excuse that they are renovating, but of course they are still charging full price for the crummy rooms. I cannot recommend this hotel to anyone. This place is a black eye on the Sheraton name. The only reason they are getting one star from me is that is the lowest I can give.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Paul2or3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2008

We hadn't planned on staying in New Bern, called several hotels and this was not only the cheapest of the major brands but also had the two beds we were looking for -- a fluke I'm sure.

What a lovely surprise! It was a substantial notch above the Hampton Inn we stay at in New Bern. The renovation is beautiful and was complete in the room but was ongoing elsewhere. The pool wasn't finished and they were having elevator problems, but neither problem affected us.

Our room was beautiful with a lovely marina view. The wifi worked well. It had a small refrigerator, beautiful linens and was spacious enough.

We breakfasted at the restaurant. There was no buffet and the menu was not set up for a la carte ordering. We were disappointed that in June our fruit plate (not cheap) was limited to honeydew, cantelope and grapes. We really expected strawberries and watermelon too at that time of year and that price.

We wanted to use the laundry facilities, but when we found out there was only one washer and dryer we went to a local washerette to get it done quickly.

The location both downtown and on the waterfront make this hotel especially appealing. Note that the bridge which is the most direct route from the highway is out due to construction. My GPS tried to take us across the bridge every time.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank georgia1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2008

My husband and I arrived in New Bern on July 4th without a reservation (not recommended). However, we were fortunate to visit the Sheraton after quite a few adventures in the neighboring areas (including a canceled reservation at Days Hotel - ICK!). We knew the Sheraton was booked, however, we were hoping for a miracle. And we got one. Her name was Paula and she is the property manager. She became our advocate and worked diigently to help us secure one of the few rooms that became available at the last minute. The room was fantastic - and the room service was inexpensive and delicious (try the quesadilla and carrot cake - yum!). Plus we had a great view of the fireworks! I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting New Bern - it is the BEST option.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sassy1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2008

The "new" building the desk clerk assigned us to could not have been new at all...maybe new to the Sheraton acquisition team is all we could figure,since the elevator was old enough to have dirty carpeting, as well as more than a few bumps and gouges and the pipe handrail at the entrance seemed to have been recently installed by a drunkard. A little strange, too, was the central fountain in the lobby that had water in it even though it was not operating.But nonetheless, the room was clean and a good size, the decorating was nice, and the little balcony had a wonderful view of the water. We wanted a refrigerator and a microwave but got a flat screen TV instead. The room was quiet, likely because it seemed as if we were the only people in the place. The 2 double beds were not lumpy but seemed a little too springy for our sleep styles. A nice ceiling fan and central air were a bonus. No noisy, annoying air conditioner under a window, thank goodness. One little issue and not a problem with the room, but a problem with the on-site restaurant. Both of us had a bout with food poisoning after dinner.

Stayed: June 2008
Thank TheCovertCritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2008

Last minute stay. Planned to laze by the pool before a function. OOPS, pool not open. roped off. Very little outdoor space to hang out. Hotel is still being renovated - so you may want to wait a month or two before staying here. Staff very nice. Newly renovated room was very nice, comfortable bed, flat screen tv. bedroom area large and comfortable (we stayed in the older section) Bathroom and closet very small. Airconditioner very noisy- you will need to set it on about 66 to stay cool. You will hear it when it kicks on. Can't beat the view. However- if the comfort suites has an opening - that is my preferred hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank khtaber1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Bern hotels
0.3 mi away
Courtyard New Bern
Courtyard New Bern
#4 of 10 in New Bern
326 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn New Bern
Hampton Inn New Bern
#1 of 10 in New Bern
680 reviews
1.6 mi away
Comfort Suites New Bern
Comfort Suites New Bern
#5 of 10 in New Bern
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bridgepointe Hotel and Marina
3.3 mi away
Candlewood Suites New Bern
Candlewood Suites New Bern
#7 of 10 in New Bern
84 reviews
2.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites New Bern
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront

Address: 100 Middle St, New Bern, NC 28560-2144 (Formerly Hilton New Bern/Riverfront )
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > New Bern
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in New Bern
Price Range: £78 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront 3.5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront is conveniently located in the heart of the downtown Historic District with beautiful views of both the Neuse and Trent Rivers. We are just minutes away from the area's premiere shopping, restaurants, and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton New Bern/Riverfront Hotel New Bern
Sheraton New Bern
New Bern Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing