We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Year's Eve in New Bern”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in New Bern
Reviewed 1 January 2011

I was a little skeptical about this hotel after reading some of the reviews. Luckily we went ahead and booked their New Year's Eve Party Special and were delighted. The hotel is in a great location on the river and we had a room on the 4th floor overlooking the marina. The entire hotel is lovely. The halls were clean and quiet and our room was spotless with high-end linens and nice furniture. There was a great coffeemaker, good shower and plenty of nice heavy towels. The thermostat worked well and while you could hear the heating unit run, it was no noisier than our humidifier at home.

Front desk staff, and every employee we came into contact with was very pleasant. It was an upbeat crowd, but not out of control. Would not hesitate to book this hotel again and definitely recommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grana103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,228)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,161 - 1,167 of 1,228 reviews

Reviewed 31 December 2010

Stayed here for a quick trip to visit New Bern. The room was very nice with a water view. Lunch at the restaurant was excellent. The prices were very reasonable. Can walk around the historic southern town with nice little shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosemary1810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2010

A perfect location in New Bern. Park free and walk everywhere. Wonderful renovation from the old Sheraton with nice furniture, TV new bathrooms and a view of the harbor that is unmatched. Woke up each morning to a beautiful sunrise over the Trent River and harbor. Friendly and helpful staff made our Thanksgiving wonderful. Will stay there again soon I hope.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keyfla77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2010

The views of the River are really great, the carpets are really sad! Overall this is a good facility in a great location, in a really historical 300 year old city. Our 5th floor room was okay except for the thread-bare carpet, worn down to the bare floor! The hall carpets were almost the same, full of ripples and torn spots. Some areas were so bad that one could almost expect to trip and fall, as my wife did as I caught her! The restaurant was overpriced with a limited selection. Everything we ordered resulted in a very long wait for food that was extremely spicy, to the point that you could not tell what you were eating. As a Hilton Gold member, this Hilton does not measure up. Checking out, the only human contact was "Your room number?" There was no "thank you, how was your stay, was everything OK, etc, etc". I don't think they care one way or the other!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bobsva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2010

Hilton should remove their name from this property. I have stayed twicve because I am a Hilton Honors member and the klocation is great. On the first visit they gave us a beautiful suite in the Inn. The problem was that there was no airconditioning (they knew this before they gave us the room) and there were no curtains or blinds on the windows, They moved us to a room in the "newer" part but it was quite dirty. the carpet was horrible in the hall and in the room. There was no airconditionng in the hall ways and the ice maker defrosted all over the hall.

Visit two.... wishfully thinking that it would be better, we revisted the hotel. We had a king room on the 4th floor. Again, the carpets were dirty and the room smelled terribly. It smelled damp and of over use of air freshener, which didnt work. The staff is friendly and the location if great... aside from that I can think of nothing good to say about this hotel. The smell was bad enough that my wife and i woke up felling ill. My previous experience with this hotle told me that the staff would be polite but do nothing so we endured as we were only here for 2 nights.

Hilton.... Are you listening....

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ccham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2010

We loved the city of New Bern, and this was the perfect place to say, everything in town was walk able from the hotel. The room was wonderful and the beds were super comfy. It was a great nights sleep

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank embanks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2010

I've stayed at several hotels in New Bern, and this is one that I will not go back to. I was initially excited to try this hotel. It has a great location: not only is it in the middle of the quaint downtown, but its also right on the river, with a marina attached to it.
I checked in, and got a room on the 5th floor. This is the only floor that has balconies, which overlook the water and the marina. Awesome view! The good part ends there. The rug in the 5th floor hallway is rippled and folded up like an ocean with big waves. I'd never seen anything like that in any hotel, let alone a Hilton. It was the entire long hallway, not just one small section.
I then went into my room. The carpet here had several large holes and rips in it. There were ants streaming along one wall. The toilet ball was dirty, and had clearly just been used by someone with some GI issues. I tried to flush it away. . .it was clogged! Management was very slow to respond to all of these problems. Further issues: only a few channels that weren't scrambled on the tv. Truly without exaggeration, the a/c unit made a loud screeching sound that sounded like a dying cat all night long. In the lobby, there were connecting hallways with smelly, moldy carpet. The gym had exercise equipment with built-in tv's, but did not actually receive a SINGLE channel!
This was not a one-time thing. I stayed four times in this hotel over a couple of months. The location is so good that I really wanted to like it. Three of the four times, it was horrible. One time, I got a large suite in the newer of the two building. This room was nicer, but had no balcony, no wifi within range, and the tv only tuned in 4 channels. Further, it had no desk, and was a very long walk from the front desk.
Don't be lured by the location, this is a sub-par hotel that is not remotely worthy of the Hilton name.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank enicideme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Bern hotels
0.3 mi away
Courtyard New Bern
Courtyard New Bern
#4 of 10 in New Bern
326 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn New Bern
Hampton Inn New Bern
#1 of 10 in New Bern
671 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bridgepointe Hotel and Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Comfort Suites New Bern
Comfort Suites New Bern
#5 of 10 in New Bern
225 reviews
2.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites New Bern
3.3 mi away
Candlewood Suites New Bern
Candlewood Suites New Bern
#7 of 10 in New Bern
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront

Address: 100 Middle St, New Bern, NC 28560-2144 (Formerly Hilton New Bern/Riverfront )
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > New Bern
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in New Bern
Price Range: £79 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront 3.5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront is conveniently located in the heart of the downtown Historic District with beautiful views of both the Neuse and Trent Rivers. We are just minutes away from the area's premiere shopping, restaurants, and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton New Bern/Riverfront Hotel New Bern
Sheraton New Bern
New Bern Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing