We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little lodge”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Shady Lawn Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Winchester, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great little lodge”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

My family and I had planned a last minute trip to the mountains Memorial Day weekend. Found this place close to our destinations and just needed something for the night. We checked out reviews and decided to try it. Upon arrival, the staff were great. We enjoyed a very clean,renovated & comfortable king suite. Though it had no a/c, the temperature was quite ideal for sleeping as the night we stay lowered to the 40's. With the window open and a fan, it turned out pretty perfect. I normally don't sleep well in hotel rooms but this didn't feel like a hotel and I slept soundly. If it weren't for us moving long, a second night would have been booked. Comfortable sofa, bed and pillows and still felt brand new. Oh and the little diner below, was great too for breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank momofone97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    144
    28
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
66
40
17
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wilkesboro NC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

we were in Newland for a couple of days and had booked the Shady Lawn Lodge thru their web page. We were not disappointed....our room was immaculate, bed very comfortable, the kitchen was very nice ...I too enjoyed the granite countertops, But the friendly staff was the topper..I truly felt like a guest...and pampered...our experience at the restaurant was great.....very good food and service. We will be back soon. Loved it

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chickenman151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnton, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 May 2014

The room was great and we enjoyed our stay. Everybody at the hotel was very friendly and the rooms are very clean. This was our second stay and we would stay there again. The beds are very comfortable and the showers are amazing.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mandy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Orange, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

The motel is spotlessly clean, comfortable, and quiet with very friendly helpful staff. As the title says it is a great value. My travel friend and I tend to favor family-owned businesses over the chains and we were very pleased. We would book here again without hesitation if we are traveling in this area again. It is well situated geographically for exploring the Blue Ridge Pkwy. and the Smokey Mtn. area.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winston Salem, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 29 April 2014

I had an overall positive experience here. The staff was friendly enough and the rooms were far better than should be expected in a motel. The granite countertops, in particular, were a nice touch. My only minor complaint about the room was that the coffee pot was not cleaned and had coffee in it from the previous day's guest. On the other hand, hotel coffee is so terrible that I don't think I missed anything.

One major complaint is the service at the on-site restaurant. I went in for lunch and sat at the bar when it was not particularly crowded, yet I was ignored and waited over ten minutes without even acknowledgement that I had arrived. Two girls, who looked too young to be working anywhere, smiled at me but didn't offer to help, while the only waitress in the room was chatting away with a customer. After I got tired of waiting, I walked to the cash register to complain on my way out; but no one noticed me there either, so I simply walked out and went to the Mason Jar restaurant down the street, where I had an excellent meal.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vance H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Great room, wonderful accommodations, exceptionally clean and well-maintained, very comfortable beds, and amazing shower! Only thing I wish they had was built-in hairdryers like most hotels--but a minor inconvenience. An incredible value. Getting married in Aug and will recommend this place to all family and friends!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolinaMoonshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansboro, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We normally stay in branded hotels when we travel but chose Shady Lawn for it's proximity. It is a gorgeous motel! The rooms are actually suites with living room, kitchenette along with bedroom and bath. The room was immaculate, staff amazing and manager extremely helpful. I was ill when we checked in and they were so concerned about me it was amazing. They made sure we knew where the sheriff's department was, where the hospital was and that our cell service may or may not work so be sure to use the room phone. When we go back to Newland, NC later this year, we will be sure to stay at The Shady Lawn. I wish there were more motels and staff like this. If you are in the area, you can't go wrong by staying here.

Room Tip: If you go in the summer, be sure to ask for a room with central air. They are currently updating al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mynxr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newland
5.6 mi away
Best Western Mountain Lodge at Banner Elk
17.9 mi away
Skyline Village Inn
Skyline Village Inn
#2 of 2 in Little Switzerland
207 reviews
14.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.1 mi away
The Green Park Inn
The Green Park Inn
#3 of 15 in Blowing Rock
452 reviews
9.3 mi away
Linville Falls Campground RV Park & Cabins
7.7 mi away
Four Seasons at Beech
Four Seasons at Beech
#2 of 2 in Beech Mountain
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Shady Lawn Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shady Lawn Lodge

Property: The Shady Lawn Lodge
Address: 330 Cranberry St, Newland, NC 28657-8800
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Newland
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Newland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Shady Lawn Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located in the High Country of North Carolina in the community of Newland. We have 20 luxury units ranging from 1 queen bed to a 2 bedroom apartment suite. We are centrally located close to all major area attractions. Many championship golf courses line the area and resort communities with beautiful surroundings. Less than 10 miles to the top of Grandfather Mountain, site of the annual scottish Highland Games. Within 15 miles of the major ski resorts including Sugar Mountain and Beech Mountain for winter activities. Two universities are close to the area, with Appalachian State University and Lee's McRae University, both within a 30 minute drive.Surrounded by beautiful hiking trails and nature walks, there is something for everyone within minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Shady Lawn Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing