We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ole!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of San Jose Mexican Restaurant - CLOSED

San Jose Mexican Restaurant
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Calabash, North Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Ole!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

We have been to San Jose several times and the food is better than other Mexican restaurants in the area. Service is good and prices are fair.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ruth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    13
    7
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Easton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
60 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great little find, so sorry to see it go!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

We stopped in for an early dinner during our OKI vacation this year and were sorry to learn the place was closing the following day! We got very good service, chips & salsa, a tasty meal from a very large menu with tons of choices, and huge delicious drinks from the bar. The portions were good size, and very reasonably priced. I would absolutely have gone again! Sorry to see this something-different option leave Oak Island. Thank you!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank raven0729
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fuquay-Varina, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“OK food, terrible service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

Food is about what you expect in a Mexican restaurant. No better, no worse. Service was terrible and they weren't crowded, there were plenty of vacant tables near us.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Toni S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level Contributor
140 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Husband likes it better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

Nothing different from most mexican restaurants in NC. Lots of food for the money. I tried a new menu item advertised as fresh guacamole made table side. No biggie that it wasn't made by our table, but I was disappointed in the lack of flavor. My husband likes this restaurant better than I do.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nancy-a-go-go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Terrible service, terrible food.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

We were not given menus until we had to ask five minutes after we were seated. Our waiter kept running outside to cough in the middle of taking our order. Yuck. Ordered a margarita before ordering our food and it still hadn't come half way through eating our meal. All wait staff was running around sweating like chickens with their heads cutoff. Understaffed and not organized. You could feel their energy which made it hard to relax and enjoy our meal. Texas fajitas barely had any meat on the plate. Bland.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Koconutpinksoda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed San Jose Mexican Restaurant also viewed

Oak Island, North Carolina Coast
Oak Island, North Carolina Coast
 
Oak Island, North Carolina Coast
Oak Island, North Carolina Coast
 
Oak Island, North Carolina Coast
Oak Island, North Carolina Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing