We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Supper Club”
Review of Turtle Island

Turtle Island
Ranked #3 of 61 Restaurants in Oak Island
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Southport, NC
Level Contributor
46 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice Supper Club”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Nice size horseshoe shaped bar and plenty of fish selections on a Friday evening says "Supper Club".
If you are from the Midwest, Supper Club designation means a comfortable atmosphere, drinks are generous, service and food great. While a bit priceier than a usual supper club, the food selection was large and quality was good. One nice thing is that many entrees were on the Appetizer List offering a smaller portion at a reduced price. Serivice by Mike was outstanding. We will definitely go again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank keg0nsaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    206
    103
    32
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Level Contributor
141 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Outstanding food and service”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

If my memory is working, I think this restaurant has been in business on OKI longer than almost any other. We visit at least once every year, and this year didn't disappoint. I tried the whole baby flounder, based on other ++ reviews. Glad someone mentioned to flip it over; there's delicious fish on both sides. My husband laughed at me and all that was left of my cute little fish skeleton. He gave the ribs a thumbs up. A bit too spicy for him, but he's got a low tolerance for heat. I would rate a 5 overall if they would freshen up the interior without losing the comfy personality, of course.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nancy-a-go-go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mullins, South Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great seafood in an eclectic atmosphere.”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

During a girls' weekend, Turtle Island Restaurant was recommended by locals along with good reviews on TA. Our group had the grouper, shrimp and flounder, grilled chicken salad and blackened grouper - everyone was pleased! We look forward to visiting again.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryl A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Tuna AWESOME”
Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

A busy place, 6:00 on a Tuesday place very busy. I had blackened tuna, cooked perfectly with a nice salad and house potatoes($21.50) good portion, my wife shrimp and grits ($19.50) she said it could have been kicked up a notch. Very good and timely service.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank lynchwf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Best Meal so far in Southeastern North Carolina”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We have been trying to visit and eat in as many restaurants in the Southport, NC area while we are here on a job assignment. We have now been at Turtle Island four times and have never been disappointed. From the drinks to the service and the quality of the food, this has become our favorite so far and not sure if it can or will be beat.

This is a must visit if you are in the area.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SANDY B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Turtle Island also viewed

Oak Island, North Carolina Coast
Oak Island, North Carolina Coast
 
Oak Island, North Carolina Coast
Oak Island, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Turtle Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing