We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I said I'd like coffee when pigs fly~”

Flying Pig Coffeehouse
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Southport, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I said I'd like coffee when pigs fly~”
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Seriously. I -hate- coffee. Can't stand it one bit. And yet, Miss Beckie's mocha is one of the most delicious drinks I've had in my entire life. It has gotten to the point where she knows how to make it exactly how I like it, and I love it dearly!

The atmosphere is quirky and wonderful, everyone there is nice and talkative - whether it is a crowd, or just you and the proprietor! I took my sweetheart there with me, and we spent the better part of an hour talking to people, playing with the jigsaw puzzle (there is always a new one as soon as one is finished!) and playing checkers, and sipping on these drinks that seemed to have no bottom!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    13
    10
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oak Island, North Carolina
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Where everbody knows your name”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Just good coffee. Owner always remember you name. Funky interior. Bagels and more. Stay and work on puzzle. WiFi.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank LarryR568
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great coffee shop!”
Reviewed 4 October 2013 via mobile

This is a great local stop! Wonderful variety of coffees and specialty drinks. Free wifi and some breakfast assortments! Great staff who are very welcoming and knowledgable!

Helpful?
Thank Clinkdisc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great coffee & Gluten free brownies & friendly staff”
Reviewed 6 August 2013 via mobile

Great variety of coffee, bagels and free wifi!!! The staff is always friendly & helpful & it's near the beach. The seating outside reminds my husband & I of old Key West, Fl. I must try if you enjoy great coffee drinks. Excellent!!!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Angie946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Ohio
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Get your coffee fix!”
Reviewed 9 July 2013 via mobile

We drink French press coffee at home, so the thought of drinking drip coffee all week was less than exciting. Luckily, we tried the Flying Pig on our first morning. Heaven! The regular coffee was terrific. The second day, we got coffee drinks. The Mocha Haze latte -- with hazelnut syrup -- made a delightful iced treat. Lots of choices and a cute vibe. Location across from Food Lion is a plus!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank CorkeyC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Flying Pig Coffeehouse also viewed

Oak Island, North Carolina Coast
Oak Island, North Carolina Coast
 
Oak Island, North Carolina Coast
Oak Island, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Flying Pig Coffeehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing