We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ocean Crest Motel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Oak Island
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Driftwood Motel(Oak Island)
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Suites(Southport)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Riverside Motel(Southport)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bald Head Island Limited(Bald Head Island)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (242)
Filter reviews
243 results
Traveller rating
125
69
27
12
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
125
69
27
12
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate balconyocean frontfishing pierroom was cleanoceanfront roomoff seasonsmall poolmini fridgeyellow buildingbeach houselast minute tripcoffee makerbeach vacationfamily vacationfirst floorgreat roomshort drive
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
235 - 240 of 243 reviews
Reviewed 9 January 2008

This is a $20/night hotel that cost $90/night... simply because of the location. Okay, it is on the ocean shore, but the way the houses are jammed in here, it is like being in the city.

Having said that... the location isn't really all that great. There really is no where to go when staying here... you a pretty much forced to drive for every meal.

The room is low-rent. The average Econo-lodge has better features. A dirty, old-style hotel room with bad beds and old bed linens.

My suggestion is stay at a nice hotel in Wilmington and drive to Oak Island...

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LorenzoBandini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ocmownr, Owner at Ocean Crest Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2009

Some people cannot be pleased. Oak Island is one of the few islands left without high-rise hotels and a heavy commercial ocenafront. our customer come here to get away from the hustle and bustle of places like Myrtle Beach. The houses are not "jammed in" and definitely does not resemble a city (did he really rate the right place?).

As far as $20 a night, where is there any oceanfront place at $20 a night?

Our rooms are all extremely clean and the linens are exceptional and we get great reviews from all our customers. See my guestbook on my website for real reviews.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2007

My fiance and I booked this motel because it was oceanfront and the rooms looked ok on the website..............HOWEVER.......when we checked into the motel it went downhill FAST! They said that housekeeping had just finished and the room was ready so we went ahead up to our room. When we walked in the carpet was very wet and the room had a sewer smell to it and felt damp. I called the front desk to see if maybe they had shampooed the carpet and I was told NO. So someone came up and asked about the carpet and I told them it also had a smell and I was told that maybe someone before me had spilled something. WHEN YOU WALKED ACROSS THE CARPET BAREFOOT YOU HAD BLACK FEET!!!!!! Our rate was $150.00 a night and this is what I recieved. At no point did anyone try to make it better. The coffee pot had a molded coffee filter in it the next morning when I got up to fix coffee needless to say I ended up at the diner down the street. I can honestly say that I could have stayed at the Hampton Inn in Southport for the same price and Im sure ALOT cleaner and fresher smell.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank fyreman660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ocmownr, Owner at Ocean Crest Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2009

This customer advised us of the wet carpet after check-in but said it was not a problem. When I was notified the next morning, I personally went to the room to see what was wrong. She said the carpet was wet but it wasn't too bad. I offered to move them to another room so we could shampoo the carpet but she declined the offer to move and said it wasn't a problem as it was drying out. I then asked if there were any other problems and she said everything else was fine. They stayed two more nights without any other comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2007

My wife and I happened upon this motel while driving the Caroline coast and what a find. This is a great old style motel that is right on the water and priced great. Friendly staff, clean room and a balcony that overlooks the ocean. It is not in the same league as one of the high rise hotels a few miles down the coast but that's what makes it so special. If you don't need to stay at a "resort" check this place out.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BizTravelerMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2006

Took a last minute and I do mean last minute trip to the beach. Love Oak Island but had never stayed at Ocean Crest til this time. I must say I think this is where we will be staying from now on. Owners were very friendly and accomadating. Even came to ask us if we enjoyed our stay before we left, how many do that? Very family oriented.

Stayed: August 2006
4  Thank camp_robinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2006

My husband & I stayed for a week, and we loved it . The room was very "quaint" & "beachy". The service was excellent. I have recommended this place to all my friends. The weekly rates can't be beat, & it is right on the ocean with the pier only a parking lot away. Very trusting & family oriented atmosphere. We do hope to stay there again in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Jeanna E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews