We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“we are family”
Review of Ocean Crest Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Oak Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ocean Crest Motel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Oak Island
Certificate of Excellence
Youngstown, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“we are family”
Reviewed 22 November 2013

we had a great stay. everyone was so friendly. they treated us like family. in the evening, I would go to the lobby to use my computer , but ended up chit-chatting with sherry, the sweet girl at the desk, most of the night.
the price for the stay is great, if you stay for 7 days, you only pay for 5 days.

Room Tip: the rooms closest to the office get better Wi-Fi. the ocean view rooms are perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank souperbev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    64
    25
    12
    10
See reviews for
88
87
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Hotel is not fancy but Sherry and (yikes... forgot name of owner) .... were very accommodating. They bent over backwards to make my stay great. I will come back here if I am ever able to get back to the Atlantic Ocean again!

Room Tip: Private balcony rooms are the best.... Had one night up there and my next night (which was an add-o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gma24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

The Ocean Crest is not fancy. In fact, it is just about as bare bones as you can get in 2013. It is however, in a great location next to the pier, convenient to the new bridge bringing traffic in from Hwy 211 without going into Southport, has an incredible view of the beautiful beach of Oak Island, and is very clean. .Our room was oceanfront in the building closest to the pier. The two double beds had "new" mattresses that were comfortable enough once you got past the noisy plastic covers. Since we were visiting family in Southport, we only needed a place to sleep so didn't go for the more expensive rooms with private balconies. Our view was from a shared walkway just outside the room and it was spectacular. The beach in front of the motel is wide and flat at low tide. The wall air conditioner was noisy - they always are - but it was effective and kept the room comfortable. The shower was fine with plenty of hot water. The maid service was really terrific. The room was completely cleaned with fresh linens after our first night and it was done correctly. The only complaint was that the front desk personnel were without personality and adhered strictly to their rules - no ifs, ands, or buts! Check in is, indeed, at 3 pm. Not a minute before! And don't even ask your room number until you are handed your key. That information is kept tightly under wraps until they are ready for you to know! Other than those somewhat odd rules, the Ocean Crest served its purpose well. Clean, affordable, great location, two nights of restful sleep, beautiful view of the ocean and pier - what more could you want? It's plenty for us! We know exactly where we'll be staying on our next visit!

Room Tip: If you want a queen bed, you'll have to go for the more expensive rooms in the ocean front priva...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rahmari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

I hadn't stayed here since 1997 when I booked our stay (typically the whole family rents a house, but we did not this year), and I had some reservations due to that stay and some of the more marginal reviews here. I'm happy to report that they're generally wrong.

First of all, manage your expectations; this is not an ocean resort with attached restaurant and turndown service, nor is it a Marriott or Hampton with free breakfast, nor do they ever sell themselves as one. This is part of an older breed of beachfront motel once common in North Carolina and as far as that particular breed goes, you can't do much better than the Ocean Crest Motel. Clean, fairly contemporary rooms, friendly and helpful staff, and a reasonable rate (oceanfront private balcony for $500/week in mid-September? Take my money!). I will have full confidence in it when I return after the great week we had

The Negatives:
- The rooms can feel humid but seeing as how you're less than 50 yards from the high tide line this is unavoidable, period.
- Private balcony rooms require lugging your beach or fishing equipment up and down stairs. Again, not a huge deal, but it would be cool if you could rent little lockers on the first floor or something

The Positives:
- Housekeeping are like ninjas. You never see them come or go, but the rooms are spotless after they do
- Service; everyone from maintenance to front desk were friendly, approachable, and helpful
- OUTLETS. A big problem in this type of property (all hotels, really), especially of this age, is that there's no place to plug in all the little electronic doodads and what have you that need charging. Electrical outlets are plentiful here.
- The Rooms; none of the photography of the property reflects their most recent renovations, which look very nice indeed
- Billing; no surprises, which is always nice.
- Location; as a visitor to Oak Island for 26 of my 33 years, this place is centrally located to all my favorite fishing spots and restaurants. Not to mention, you know, the beach right outside.

The Really Annoying But Not the Property's Fault:
- The neighbors two doors down who kept slamming their door during our last two nights. What was their problem?

Room Tip: Oceanfront private balcony if you're staying longer than a few days
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank revbleech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
york, pa
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

I love this motel. We stayed in a private balcony room facing the beach. We were on the top floor so there wasn't a roof over our balcony, which is great since it lets in the sunlight and you don't feel closed in. The room was nicely decorated. Let's face it folks, this hotel isn't a "resort" hotel! However, just because it isn't a resort hotel, doesn't mean it is trashy. The room was clean, as was the bathroom. The beds were comfortable. The air conditioner was noisy, but since we came at the end of September, we didn't need it on at night. We left the patio door open and let the ocean waves lull us to sleep! The fishing pier is right next door, I fished there 3 days in a row and found the proximity to be a big plus. Beach access is easy and convenient. If you want a Hampton Inn, then go to a Hampton Inn! But if you are looking for a no-frills, clean motel on the beach, then stay here.

Room Tip: No elevators, so keep this in mind. If you want a balcony that doesn't feel closed in, then get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kkitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davidson, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Wife and I needed a get-away as part of our relocation to Davidson NC, and a new friend told us about Oak Island and the old town of South Port NC. We decided to make a 3 day run to the beach. I always use TripAdvisor before making plans and was fully aware of the marginal reviews Ocean Crest had received. Yet it was the only beach front location in the area that didn't require a full week stay, so we booked a private balcony room and crossed our fingers.

While it was right on a very nice stretch of sandy, flat beach, and right next to the fishing pier (if you like to fish), it was a "throw back" type motel location and far from the "resort experience" we prefer. While the room was clean (and the maid was a joy), it was old and well worn (and this was the top of the line room!). The A/C unit ran constantly...and LOUDLY. There was no chance of enjoying the sound of breaking waves just outside the door. The beds were classic 50s queen size but surprisingly comfortable, altho the pillows were huge and very uncomfortable.(bring your own). The shower can only be described as a power mister, but the water was hot, and the pressure was good. And even 6'2" guy like me could comfortably enjoy the bath tub.

There is a pool, but it is stuck in the parking lot on the other side of the building from the beach! More importantly, it is SMALL, ans we did not use it because when 4 kids were it, there was no room for an adult!

There is also a restaurant next door (Island Way) that holds itself out to be an "upscale" dining location. While nicely appointed, the only truly upscale part of the experience was the price. Average food, average service, above average cost, and below average drink pour. Too bad.

So a mixed bag experience at best. The Ocean Crest will not be on our return list, altho we did like the Oak Island area and South Port. Next time, we'll rent a house.

Room Tip: IF you stay here, spend the extra to get a private balcony room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank reeagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rutherfordton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

I am thrilled to have discovered Ocean Crest Motel. I have traveled extensively across the United States and can tell in the first 30 seconds whether the room is clean and the staff is friendly. Both were true at the Ocean Crest Motel. Everyone at the front desk was so helpful and accommodating and each day when we came back from our jaunts on the beach, our room was again sparkling clean! The location right on the beach and next to the pier was a blessing, as my husband is disabled and cannot walk long distances. He was able to fish every day from the pier - just a short walk away. Also we appreciated the strict "No Pets" policy as I am allergic to certain pets. I could check in knowing I would not have a reaction to the room where a pet had been. Thank you for that, Ocean Crest. And finally, what a value! Incredible price for a room on the ocean side of the street. I love this place and will keep coming back again and again. I would highly recommend Ocean Crest Motel to anyone who wants to enjoy a nice, quiet, relaxing, fun-filled time at the beach at a clean, comfortable, affordable motel!. Love this place!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sallie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oak Island
4.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Southport - Oak Island Area
6.1 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#2 of 5 in Southport
268 reviews
16.9 mi away
Ocean Isle Inn
Ocean Isle Inn
#1 of 3 in Ocean Isle Beach
723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Southport
6.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Southport
Hampton Inn Southport
#1 of 5 in Southport
527 reviews
17.0 mi away
Islander Inn
Islander Inn
#3 of 3 in Ocean Isle Beach
514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Crest Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Crest Motel

Property: Ocean Crest Motel
Address: 1417 E Beach Dr, Oak Island, NC 28465-6557
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Oak Island
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Oak Island
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the beach providing a unique location on Oak Island and the area. Your choice of 3 room types at fair rates. Stay for 7-Only pay for 5 night special year round. Ask about our awesome oceanfront Townhouse that sleeps 8 persons! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ocean Crest Hotel Oak Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing