We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ocean Crest Motel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Oak Island
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Driftwood Motel(Oak Island)
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Pool
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Suites(Southport)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Riverside Motel(Southport)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bald Head Island Limited(Bald Head Island)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (242)
Filter reviews
242 results
Traveller rating
125
68
27
12
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
125
68
27
12
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate balconyocean frontfishing pierroom was cleanoceanfront roomoff seasonsmall poolmini fridgeyellow buildingbeach houselast minute tripcoffee makerbeach vacationfamily vacationfirst floorgreat roomshort drive
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
117 - 122 of 242 reviews
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

This is our second visit. Definitely recommend the blue building, ocean front room. No extended check out though. You must turn in your key by 11amor they threaten to charge another night. Fridge in room, but no microwave. Definitely a motel vs. a hotel, but not a bad place to stay.

Stayed: August 2014
2  Thank Mejwu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We were so very lucky to have gotten a room at Ocean Crest Motel! We even stayed an extra night! Sherry in the office was so friendly and helped us add the extra night. Family member health issues made it difficult to plan more then two nights and so the third night had to be made at the last minute. We loved the view and the rooms! We plan on going back again as soon as we get the chance!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Renee144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

I booked a room in the blu building with an oceanfront balcony top floor. Clean and neat They were very friendly and helpful especially Sherry. There is a restaurant next door along with a long fishing pier Perfect for a beach gateway

Room Tip: Blue building top floor oceanfront it is worth the extra money
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mel4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

From the very first phone call to Sherry & 3 visits within 15 months & a 4th visit coming in October 2014-we obviously LOVE this little motel. Sherry answered the phone that day when my husband called to inquire about this place over 1 1/2 years ago, he had many questions since he is a bilateral double amputee & wheelchair bound & wanted to make sure they could accommodate his needs. Sherry couldn't have been more helpful, not only did she answer all of his questions above & beyond, she called us back when I returned home from work to see if I had any questions. After talking with her, we had no need to look elsewhere! After our 1st visit in April 2013, we decided this was home & we come here every 6 months for 15-17 days each time! It's all because of Sherry, Bob, Lori, and owner Walt! The rooms are super clean. Sherry gives you pointers & directions to the walking trails, ferries & Southport etc. She wants your stay to be the best ever! The staff genuinely love their jobs & you can tell just by the way they treat you like family! Everything in our room was great. If you love to fish, all you have to do is walk out of your door & thru the parking lot & you are at the pier! This is definitely a little paradise in Heaven!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank clevedians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

My husband and I have been coming to the Ocean Crest since 1990. It's the relaxed atmosphere and the staff that brings us back year after year. The owner, Walt Lorgan, has made all the difference. Not only is he accommodating to your needs, but makes you feel as if you're part of the community, not just a visitor to the area. The newly remodeled rooms are beautiful and the ocean front location is great. It all starts at the top, though, and Walt Lorgan should be proud of his accomplishment and easy going friendliness he affords all his guests.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews