We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“we always enjoy and are satisfied”
Review of Ocean Crest Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Oak Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ocean Crest Motel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Oak Island
Certificate of Excellence
beckley wv
1 review
“we always enjoy and are satisfied”
Reviewed 19 January 2010

my mother, sister and I come to oak island every year and stay a week, we enjoy our stay at the ocean crest motel. it is clean and family oriented, the rooms are a bit small but over all we dont stay in our rooms much. it is ocean front, close to the peir and I can open my room door and smell the ocean air, and watch the sun come up from there if I choose too. we enjoy it and will continue to stay there....

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mtneergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    64
    24
    12
    10
See reviews for
83
86
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte N.C.
1 review
Reviewed 19 January 2010

I was so surprised to see negative reviews about the ocean crest! My family and I stayed there many times while we were looking for a beach house to buy. The staff was friendly the rooms were clean and the beach front location was to die for! I would recommend the ocean crest to all my friends and family!

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ianlizmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coastal North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2010

I have read some of these reviews with a great deal of shock. We have stayed at The Ocean Crest Motel three times and will go again in December of 2010, if not before. Words that describe the motel are simple, clean, highly amenable to easy beach living i.e. wet swimsuits, sandy feet, general clutter. The balconies face the ocean and are nearly in the ocean. It is no frills. Why would you need them? The ocean is right outside your door. The adjacent pier is clean and well run. If you love simple and clean and well run then this is for you. If you want Mrtyle Beach resort then keep driving. We absolutely love the place. Very North Carolina old-time simplicity! YAY!!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anncgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati
1 review
Reviewed 19 January 2010

We have been going to Ocean Crest Motel for several years and we have never been disappointed. Our rooms have always been clean and well maintained. The beach is quiet and ideal for families with children. Walks on the nearby pier are always interesting since we can meet the local fishermen and women , and meet some of the other vacationers. There are shops, restaurants, and grocery stores ...all within a reasonable distance. All the rooms that we have stayed in have an excellent view of the ocean and pier.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theo46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
morristown, tennessee
1 review
Reviewed 19 January 2010

Wow! I have been going to Ocean Crest for several years now. I can tell you that it is clean, family oriented, and a great value! It is our favorite place to stay!

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teach279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mebane, nc
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 19 January 2010

We had a wonderful stay at Ocean Crest Motel in Oak Island. The room was clean and neat. All we had to do was walk out of our room and we were at the beach. Our 6 year old loved being that close to the ocean. We had a great family vacation and will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicole_tim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 1 October 2009

There were no glasses for water or drinks, just paper cups for coffee. Nothing was even available in the office.

There was no fan in the bathroom, which is a very small, confined space. The air conditioning unit, in the wall, was very noisy, making it difficult to hear the TV. Also, the TV was difficult to see, suspended up near the ceiling.

We felt that the room was very overpriced, more than $100 for one night, for what was offered. Of course, we understand that premium prices are charged due to the Ocean Crest being the only motel on the beach in that location of Oak Island. In other words, a rip-off!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cats737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oak Island
4.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Southport - Oak Island Area
16.9 mi away
Ocean Isle Inn
Ocean Isle Inn
#1 of 3 in Ocean Isle Beach
709 reviews
6.1 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#2 of 5 in Southport
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Southport
Hampton Inn Southport
#1 of 5 in Southport
517 reviews
7.0 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Southport
17.0 mi away
Islander Inn
Islander Inn
#3 of 3 in Ocean Isle Beach
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Crest Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Crest Motel

Property: Ocean Crest Motel
Address: 1417 E Beach Dr, Oak Island, NC 28465-6557
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Oak Island
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Oak Island
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the beach providing a unique location on Oak Island and the area. Your choice of 3 room types at fair rates. Stay for 7-Only pay for 5 night special year round. Ask about our awesome oceanfront Townhouse that sleeps 8 persons! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ocean Crest Hotel Oak Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing