We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well Managed”
Review of Sharky's

Sharky's
Price range: US$9 - US$25
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, View, Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine, Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, After-hours, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Tucked under the Ocean Isle Beach bridge, Sharky's Restaurant features a large indoor dining area as well as outdoor dining on the back deck that overlooks OIB's beautiful waterfront canal and views of the ICW. Menu choices offer the best seafood, salads, sandwiches, appetizers as well as the chef's choice of daily lunch and dinner specials. And all our menu items are reasonably priced! Enjoy ice cold beverages and anything from our menu at either of two bars. If you are planning a wedding, family reunion, birthday celebration or any special event, we have the perfect spot for that too! Sharky's has been the locals favorite for over 25 years and it's easy to see why it's the #1 destination for all visitors to our fantastic island paradise. If you are looking for a fun spot to enjoy great food, great drinks and the best staff, Sharky's Waterfront Restaurant is where you want to be.
Worcester County
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Well Managed”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

On a Saturday lunch, you have an influx of people arriving on the isle and hanging out until check in time, and the people leaving the isle and wanting food for road. This place shows the experience of good restaurant and reservation management. The hostesses were pleasant and efficient. Skilled at seating people and keeping the lines happy. The manager (maybe owner) pitches in to help any employee. I had the best burger. Whether it is your first impression of the isle or the last, it made a good impression with me.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NewEnglandBound_508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

580 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    191
    219
    106
    42
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
North Myrtle Beach
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Finally a vegetarian option!”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

It is challenging being vegan in the Carolina's. Most servers are clueless unless you want to go with "fine dining" and pay $25 or more for a plate of veggies. Sharky's has a veggie plate of bow tie pasta with fresh (not overcooked) veggies - on the menu- and easily make it without butter or cheese when you ask for it that way. It was delicious!! My hubby loved his Neptune platter and my friend said it is her favorite pizza in the Grand Strand. She ordered a large just so she could take home a lot of pizza. Her date said the hamburger was very good. We had a nice table inside because my disabled hubby can't do hightop seating, which the outdoor area is limited to. But we had a great view of the waterway and watched boats come and go. It is very casual and welcoming, and our service dog was as welcomed as we were. The place gets packed, so next time we will again try to avoid peak hours. We are locals (NMB) and will surely go back.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank piperann3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level Contributor
96 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Pretty good, what you'd expect at the beach”
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

We went to Sharky's twice while at OIB, and it is a predictable beach seafood restaurant. The service was a little overwhelmed both times that we were there (and the hostess was not very useful in getting us a bandaid when my son got a cut on his hand), but the food was good. Among us we had hush puppies, a hamburger, popcorn shrimp, shrimp skewers with rice, the grouper sandwich and the fish taco. I'd say it was all good except the fish taco, which is really more of a fish burrito, and my friend said it was mediocre.

The location's good and the view is nice - we'll return the next time we're back.

Helpful?
Thank leighcecilia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“horrible pizza”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

the crust was too thick, and the sauce was chunky. The cheese was ok, but overall- one of the worst pizzas

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Shar0n_NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
134 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“OK Lunch”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Four of us for lunch on Sunday afternoon. The place was virtually full, but we did not have to wait. The atmosphere is funky, southern beach, the service is hit or miss and the food is fair to good. Two of us ordered fish sandwiches, one flounder and one grouper. They were both tasty but not exceptional. And two ordered the skewered shrimp - good, not great. For appetizers we had the cheese sticks and the conch fritters - both good.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DiveDog13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sharky's also viewed

 
Ocean Isle Beach, NC
 

Been to Sharky's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing