We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic meal!”

Giggling Mackerel Seafood Grille
Price range: US$4 - US$24
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Join us on our 3rd Floor Tiki Bar where the coldest Beer and Southern Hospitality awaits you. Located under the bridge on the Intracoastal Waterway. Open Thursday - Sunday 11:00am-9:00pm.
Charlotte, NC
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Fantastic meal!”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We had a great experience with the food and the service here. Sometimes in our party we have some exceptions or special requests and this restaurant was very accommodating. I had the tuna steak and it was outstanding. Perfect! We all loved our meal and even the leftovers were wonderful. We would highly recommend dining at the Giggling Mackerel!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank jolianne01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    52
    42
    16
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Won't be coming back!”
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

There was a long wait in the rrstaurant, so we decided to eat a long the rooftop tiki bar. That's more our speed, anyway. We ordered at the bar and then waited AT LEASE AN HOUR for our food. Our son made 3 trips to the bathroom during that time. Other parties that ordered after us got their food well before we did. When we did get our food, it left much to be desired. The slaw was the best thing on the plate. Shrimp were overcooked, onion rings were straight from a bag. If you want to enjoy drinks on the ICW, then by all means head to this establishment. If eating is on your agenda, keep going.

Helpful?
Thank Mary Kristen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barboursville, West Virginia, United States
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“View was great buy food very average!”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Daughter and grandson were looking for some good seafood and this looked like a good place. The calamari was unseasoned and tough. Daughter found lipstick on her glass. Server was attentive and polite but food was very slow in arriving and not worth the wait. Will not go back.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NC
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“If you can't find anything else...”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

My wife and I ate here for dinner on 6/16/2014. She ordered the 3-piece fried seafood combo (flounder, oysters, shrimp), I ordered the 2-piece combo (oysters & shrimp). In my opinion the shrimp and oysters were fried too long because they were not tender. Tastewise the food was ok. Unless every other restaurant in town was closed and our car broke down, we would not return.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank plculiNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Will not be going back”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

I can honestly say my family and I will not being eating here again. The food is at best poor. The service is worst then the food. When I go out to eat I don't think it's asking to much for food to be served on plates. We ate outside upstairs and our food which was terrible came out to us in to go boxes. You have to track down somebody just to be told to order at there out door bar. We will pass on this place next year.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Leslie1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Giggling Mackerel Seafood Grille also viewed

Ocean Isle Beach, NC
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing