We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and service :)”
Review of Sugar Shack

Sugar Shack
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Jamaican
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Knoxville, TN
2 reviews
“Great food and service :)”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We recently visited the Sugar Shack on our trip to Sunset Beach. We made a reservation earlier in the week because we had been warned it gets a little crowded - and crowded it was! We were seated shortly after we arrived and had a very personable and friendly waiter. He was very helpful in menu selections and recommendations. We had a bit of everything. The coconut shrimp and crab fritters are fantastic! I personally had the ribs and grilled shrimp. The ribs were amazing! They give you a ton of food. So even though it's fairly expensive, I didn't feel it was unfairly priced. We will definitely return next year!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tnmommy09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    288
    111
    41
    15
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fall off the bone goodness”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

If you're looking for upscale and fancy don't bother, but if you want the best jamacian food ever make a reservation and get to eating. Between the ribs, cole slaw and sweet bread one of the best meals ever. Never miss a chance to eat here when I'm in the Ocean Isle area.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vfargis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocean Isle Beach, North Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Make Reservations”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

As a local, I look forward to the seasonal opening of Sugar Shack! It absolutely rocks, but make reservations or don't plan on eating if you just show up! The fall-off-the-bone ribs are off the chart and everything else on the menu is recommended. Love me some Johnny Cake!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem!”
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

We passed sugar shack last year while on vacation and saw how packed it was. We knew we had to try it on our next trip to ocean isle.

This year, after reading lots of reviewers, We made reservations the day before for 5pm the next day. The staff was very friendly, we had the privilege of having the owners granddaughter help our waiter George.


Per George's suggestion, my husband ordered the NY strip steak and I had the ribs and coconut shrimp combo. My husband and I are real "foodies" and tend to be restaurant snobs. The food from sugar shack was an amazing. You will not find better coconut shrimp anywhere. The new York strip was the best tasting steak I've ever tried. The ribs melt in your mouth. The food was so flavorful, yet not salty.

We can not wait to go back!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarahrizzo06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, South Carolina
2 reviews
“It was as Tony the Tiger says Greattttttttt”
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

Great good. Owners were awesome. Great service
Best dinner of the week.
Pork was great and ribs were off the chart great

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank edwingerace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sugar Shack also viewed

Ocean Isle Beach, NC
Ocean Isle Beach, NC
 

Been to Sugar Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing