We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply The Best” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ocean Ridge Plantation

Ocean Ridge Plantation
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: This resort and residential complex features the four legendary "Big Cats" Courses - Panther's Run, Lion's Paw, Tiger's Eye and Leopard's Chase - each of which has won world-wide critical acclaim and is renowned for their dramatic design features and challenging level of play. Come Chase Birdies with The Big Cats Today!
Ocean Isle Beach, North Carolina
Level Contributor
80 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Simply The Best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

My wife and I were looking for a place to relocate from New Jersey seven years ago and traveled most of the east coast in pursuit of a new life new the ocean. Three days after we found/visited Ocean Ridge, we purchased a lot and began construction. The area is one of the best on the east coast and our move to Ocean Ridge was the best decision we could have made. Ocean Ridge is a gated golf community with the friendliest people in the world. It includes all the amenities you could ask for including a house on the ocean front in the town of Sunset Beach to have direct access to the ocean. Unlike many golf communities on the east coast, Ocean Ridge Plantation is well managed by the home owners and has the financial resources to insure the stability of the community.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank wayneh850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    7
    2
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Level Contributor
216 reviews
100 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Tiger's Eye excellent”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

Tiger's Eye by far the best course. Fast greens although a little beat up. Great layout. Really hard par 3's. Panthers Run was fine, Lions Paw had so many doglegs. Played all 4 courses for $200. Leopard Chase and Tiger's Eye are great. Wouldn't play the other 2 again.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank pbirdie3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocean Isle Beach, North Carolina
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A premier community”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

Ocean Ridge is one of the premier communities in Brunswick County. It has only upscale single family homes, an indoor and outdoor pool, tennis courts, a workout room, four golf course plus one under construction. There are oodles of activities to participate in for those so interested.

It took a hit in the real estate bust a few years ago, but is doing pretty well again. There are lots of homes under construction, but the best deals are on resale homes and lots.

I suggest that in order to get the full picture you talk with a real estate agent who works for the community as well as one who works outside the gates.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Sokoloff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Big Cat Courses”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013

Good choice for golf at the beach. Discount with the Coastal Vacation Resorts key is nice and well worth it.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Todd L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Panthers Run GC not amazing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2012

These courses have gone down a bit. I was always a big fan of all of these and I had the opportunity to play all of them this summer. The starter and his staff were not very friendly. They made us feel like it was a privilege for us to be playing on these courses. They were good, but not that good. In fact, they all seem the same so if you play one, it will be pretty close to playing all of them. The lady in the pro shop was also a little short with us like we were wasting her time. I am not sure why or when this happened. These courses were among my favorites the past few years but we will take a few years off going forward.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank redrt88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ocean Ridge Plantation also viewed

 
Ocean Isle Beach, NC
 

Been to Ocean Ridge Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing