We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One bite and you're hooked!”

Sunset Slush of Ocean Isle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$8
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours
Description: The finest and most flavorful Italian Ice arrived via Sunset Slush - Classic Italian Ice® in Brunswick County, North Carolina in January 2003. Sunset Slush® is known for its unique flavor and texture; there is nothing quite like it - it has been called "designer ice." It is smooth, nutritious, thirst-quenching, dairy-free, low in calories, cholesterol free, gluten free and refreshing.Italian Ice has become one of the fastest growing and most popular segments of the frozen dessert market. The uniqueness of our Super Premium Italian Ice and our passion for the business will make your trip to one of our stores, the beach pushcarts or event pushcarts the most enjoyable Italian Ice experience ever.Sunset Slush - Classic Italian Ice® offers 50 flavors (including our creative flavor combinations) in our stores and our Italian Ice is available in cups, pints, quarts, 1 gallon buckets and 2.5 gallon buckets. We also offer Gelatis at our stores - any flavor of Italian Ice mixed with vanilla bean or chocolate ice cream. Sunset Slush® is also available for your special event. However you choose to enjoy Sunset Slush - Classic Italian Ice®, we strive to make it an experience to remember.
1 review
“One bite and you're hooked!”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

When I first heard about Sunset Slush a few years back I had a pretty good idea on what to expect. Just another average shaved ice that I've had hundreds of times before, right? Well, for whatever reason I decided to give this new place a try, and let me tell you, after that first bite my expectations for what Italian ice should taste like were raised to to the heavens. The ice here isn't shaved like you would see on a snow cone, it looks and has just about the same consistency as I've cream... and it's just ice and flavor. Speaking of flavor, Sunset Slush has a ton of them, with the option to mix two different flavors. If there happens to be one near you there is absolutely no reason to pass it up. It is that good.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shvidston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    240
    26
    5
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
98 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great service, small, overpriced portions”
Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

We are from the north and are used to great Italian Ice. sunset slushies was really expensive in our opinion. $5.10 for a very, very tiny "medium" gelati. It tasted fine. The service was exceptional - the best in town! But we will not return.

Helpful?
3 Thank Autumn_W_28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spartanburg, South Carolina
1 review
“Delicious, delicious, delicious!”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Sunset Slush is a family tradition when we visit Ocean Isle Beach. Each summer, we visit the location on Ocean Isle at the peer as well as the location off the island. Both are amazing! There is not other Italian ice that compares to the selection, flavor, and quality of Sunset Slush. During our last visit, we spent a great deal of time talking with the owner. His dedication to quality ingredients and customer service is something that is few and far between in businesses today. The outdoor seating is very clean and plentiful, and the establishment is very family friendly. Ice cream stores are abundant at the beach, but Sunset Slush outdoes all of them. My children prefer it to any dessert, and if you are like our family, you will find yourself there on every day of your vacation. This is a must when you are visiting the NC coast!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunset Beach, North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Cool and refreshing ”
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

Nice little place to come have something not too sweet to cool you off on a hot day. Many flavors to choose from! Walk up window with outdoor seating.

Helpful?
Thank Danny L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mebane, North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Love is an understatement!”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Our entire family loves Sunset Slush and nothing else compares to it. I visited their Ocean Isle location today and picked up a gallon to bring home. I packed it in a cooler full of ice and 4 hours later it was still perfect. The service is personable and friendly and just all around great. Sunset Slush is a must if you are visiting Ocean Isle or Sunset Beach this summer. Worth every penny! I can't wa it to go back and try even more flavors. Keep up the fantastic work!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stacy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sunset Slush of Ocean Isle Beach also viewed

Ocean Isle Beach, NC
Ocean Isle Beach, NC
 
Calabash, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Sunset Slush of Ocean Isle Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing