We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peaceful and Relaxing Beachfront Getaway!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Islander Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Islander Inn
Charlotte
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Peaceful and Relaxing Beachfront Getaway!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2012

This was our first visit to Ocean Isle Beach. We found the Islander Inn on the internet and then called to make our reservation. Since it was off season, we were able to get a great room with a wonderful view for a great price. The hotel has been newly renovated. It's very nice, peaceful and has all the amenitites you'll need for a great beach getaway. We were able to bring our dogs which made it even nicer. Carla & Jessica at the front desk were both wonderful. The breakfast room is very clean. There's an in-door heated pool. And you're just steps from the ocean! The room was very nice & clean & comfortable. We'll definitely plan to stay here again on our next visit to Ocean Isle Beach!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony and view of the beach. This is a dog friendly hotel. But I think the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarnieWilliamson, Manager at Islander Inn, responded to this review, 15 February 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
We are so delighted to hear that you enjoyed your first visit to Ocean Isle Beach as well as your
stay at the Islander Inn. Thank you so much for sharing your experiences with other travelers and for recommending our hotel. Your kind words about our property and staff are very much appreciated. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit!
Warmest Regards,
Marnie Williamson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    213
    164
    67
    28
    15
See reviews for
173
198
17
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bethlehem, Georgia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2012

We have stayed at another hotel on the island and rented a house, but always go back to The Islander. The hotel is clean, comfortable and well run. Jessica, at the front desk, is definitely an asset. She's always willing to go the extra mile to help a guest. Breakfast is strictly continental, but adequate to start your day. We will always return to the Islander.

Room Tip: Oceanfront rooms on the second floor are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jerryandsusan32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarnieWilliamson, Manager at Islander Inn, responded to this review, 4 February 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. Your kind words about our property and staff are truly appreciated. We sincerely value repeat guests such as yourself and very much look forward to your return!
Warmest Regards,
Marnie Williamson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pinehurst, North Carolina, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2012

Our first visit to Ocean Isle and we were wonderfully surprised. It was very clean, the staff was courteous, and the amenities were great. The view from our ocean front room was spectacular.. the sound from the surf was relaxing .. and being it was off season, it was very quiet and peaceful. The breakfast room was very cheerful, amply stocked and the malted waffles were delish!! Jessica at the front desk was very friendly and helpful. Very easy to get to and not that far away to go for a long weekend. We can't wait to go back next winter and would highly recommend to anyone who visits Ocean Isle to stay at the Islander Inn.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura Lee F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarnieWilliamson, Manager at Islander Inn, responded to this review, 4 February 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
We are so delighted to hear that you enjoyed your first visit to Ocean Isle Beach as well as your
stay at the Islander Inn. Thank you so much for sharing your experiences with other travelers and for recommending our hotel. Your kind words about our property and staff are very much appreciated. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit!
Warmest Regards,
Marnie Williamson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

Great, convenient location. Very clean. Indoor pool a big plus. Jessica at the front desk was very helpful.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jlen7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarnieWilliamson, General Manager at Islander Inn, responded to this review, 24 January 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
We are so delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experiences with other travelers. Your kind words about our property and staff are very much appreciated. We do hope to have the opportunity of seeing you again on a future stay!
Marnie Williamson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2012

My toddler son and I visited Ocean Isle beach a couple of weeks ago for the first time. Was looking for a clean, safe and reasonably priced place to stay. Checked around and found the lslander Inn online. I was pleasantly surprised of the great view and the cleanliness and size of the room. It was very nice and quiet for us. The breakfast was fine for what we needed. The staff was very pleasant and accomodating to get us the right room.

However, I was very dissappointed in the lack of hot water/water pressure from the shower. I let the staff know the next morning and a nice man said he checked the hot water. When I returned I asked the woman at the front desk and she said it was fine but let them know if it's not. Well by the time I got my son in the shower, the water would just not warm up- he was freezing. I couldn't leave him in long enough to wash his hair- nor could I wash mine with the lack of pressure!! By this time it was time to put my son to bed, so I didn't see what could have been done. Anyway, I did note this on the comment card but it has been 2 weeks and was dissappointed that I haven't heard back from the management about this. I had also made a comment about the indoor pool- was very nice/cleanand the water was warm- just too cold in the room itself- again- keep it in mind if you have little ones.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Debbie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarnieWilliamson, General Manager at Islander Inn, responded to this review, 24 January 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our property and to share your experiences. It is only with the feedback and suggestions of guests like you that we can continue to grow and refine our services. We are delighted that you enjoyed the lovely view of the Atlantic and are pleased that you found our staff pleasant, our rooms spacious and clean, and our prices reasonable. We are equally sorry for the issue with the water pressure/temperature and the temperature of the pool room. Our maintenance staff is investigating all reported issues. I would also like to explain that a representative from our corporate office in Wilmington collects comment cards from our locked boxes every two weeks. This precaution is taken to assure the integrity of the feedback system we have in place. A downside of this method is that it takes longer to reply to comments or suggestions. We do hope you understand this matter. Thank you again for visiting the Islander Inn. It is our wish that you will consider our property again on a future trip to Ocean Isle Beach.
Warm Regards,
Marnie Williamson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kernersville, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2012

This was our first visit to Ocean Isle and we cannot wait to come back again. Would recommend anyone that comes down to stay at the Islander Inn, we had great service and the people at the desk are very friendly and the room was very clean. Love the view of the ocean from the room.

Room Tip: always choose the room with the ocean front view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ronald g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarnieWilliamson, Manager at Islander Inn, responded to this review, 18 January 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
We are so happy that you enjoyed your first visit to Ocean Isle Beach and are also delighted that you are planning to return to the Islander Inn. Thank you so very much for taking the time to write a review and share your experiences with others. Your kind words about our property and staff are very much appreciated. We are already looking forward to your next visit!
Warmest Regards,
Marnie Williamson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2012

If you're looking for a great get-away at a scenic,quaint, and well maintained place, your destination should be the Islander Inn at OIB, NC. The staff there are so supportive and will assist you in any reasonable way. I love this place and look forward to making annual stays there.

Room Tip: The second story rooms are great because you really get a panoramic view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank washe000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarnieWilliamson, Manager at Islander Inn, responded to this review, 18 January 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
We are so delighted to hear that you enjoyed your most recent stay with us. We are always very appreciative for repeat guests such as yourselves. Thank you for choosing our property for your Ocean Isle Beach vacation. Additionally, your kind words about the Islander Inn and our staff are very much appreciated. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip.
Warmest wishes,
Marnie Williamson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocean Isle Beach
0.0 mi away
Ocean Isle Inn
Ocean Isle Inn
#1 of 3 in Ocean Isle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
15.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ocean Sands Beach Resort
BEST WESTERN Ocean Sands Beach R...
#3 of 53 in North Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,355 reviews
11.8 mi away
The Prince Resort
The Prince Resort
#5 of 53 in North Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
Avista Resort
Avista Resort
#4 of 53 in North Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,137 reviews
5.5 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
#2 of 3 in Shallotte
3.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
6.4 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 3 in Shallotte
3.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Islander Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Islander Inn

Property: Islander Inn
Address: 57 W First St, Ocean Isle Beach, NC 28469-7508
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Ocean Isle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Ocean Isle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Islander Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As an oceanfront hotel in Ocean Isle Beach, The Islander Inn overlooks one of the most pristine North Carolina beaches. The Islander Inn is conveniently located within walking distance to several restaurants, shops, an arcade, miniature golf, and museum. The Inn is also just a 10 minute drive from 25 world-class golf courses and hundreds of first-rate restaurants. Famous for its peace and quiet, this intimate oceanfront facility appeals to the young couple, vacationing family, golf enthusiast, or beachcomber who enjoys superior accommodations and breathtaking views of the most beautiful beach on the East Coast. All oceanfront rooms feature a 50in. plasma television. All rooms have a refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, and telephone with voice mail capability. Room rates include daily housekeeping, deluxe continental breakfast, free WiFi, access to our outdoor oceanfront pool with Tiki bar, indoor heated pool and Jacuzzi and fitness room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Islander Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Islander Hotel Ocean Isle Beach
Islander Ocean Isle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing