We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Place to stay!”
Review of Islander Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Islander Inn
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fantastic Place to stay!”
Reviewed 1 October 2012

The Islander Inn on Ocean Isle Beach is fantastic.

Great location - right on the beach. Also, it is very close to the restaurants in town - Sharky's and Pelican's Perch... so you can stumble back to your room after a fun night out.

The rooms were in good shape... certainly not the nicest place I have stayed in, but quaint, charming and inexpensive.

The breakfast wasn't bad either for being included in the price.

Can't wait to go back to Ocean Isle!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank diveinstructor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarnieWilliamson, General Manager at Islander Inn, responded to this review, 11 October 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
We are so pleased that you have enjoyed your time at the Islander Inn. Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on our behalf. Your kind words about our property and staff are very much appreciated. Again, we look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Ocean Isle Beach!
Warmest Regards,
Marnie Williamson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    219
    167
    68
    29
    15
See reviews for
178
202
18
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2012

Last year I stayed at the Ocean Isle Inn next door, I have to say the Islander Inn is a bit nicer and better price for the same thing. I thought the rooms were cleaner also. The only bad thing about our stay was when we arrived we were told our room would be ready in an hour, so i went back in an hour and it still wasnt ready. I went back to the beach and another hour later, it still was not ready. I had to go back and forth from the beach several times to check on our room before it was finally ready. The other bad thing about this place, dont ask to check out a little later. They will not let you do this without charging your $15 more. You cant even stay an extra 30 mins without getting charged. This is a good location and family resort, but nothing fancy. Isnt as nice as the pictures either. All in all, good value for what you can get at the beach.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarnieWilliamson, General Manager at Islander Inn, responded to this review, 11 October 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
We are very grateful for that you chose to stay at the Islander Inn and we appreciate you taking the time to share your experiences with other travelers. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us and we sincerely regret that your room was not ready at check-in. I can assure you that this is not a typical experience as we pride ourselves on delivering excellent service to our guests. We are truly sorry and do hope that you will give us another chance on a future visit to Ocean Isle Beach. It is our wish that we will have the opportunity to see you again!
Warmest Regards,
Marnie Williamson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, VA
Level Contributor
51 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2012

we wanted to check out this area and were pleased with the islander inn. the rooms were very clean. comments about the lower level hallway leading to the elevator are true - something needs to be done to upgrade that area (especially a better looking trashcan) and a couple of lampshades in the room had rust showing through along the bottom edge - most likely because of salt air - but otherwise things looked very nice. nice little gazebo to sit and read and lovely pool all overlooking a very nice beach. it's a simple motel in a lovely area - we'll go back.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank obx64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarnieWilliamson, General Manager at Islander Inn, responded to this review, 24 September 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
We are so delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay! Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experiences with other travelers. Your kind words about our property are very much appreciated. We value your feedback and will definitely investigate any issues with the lower level hallway and with the lamps that were in your room. Again, thank you for taking the time to bring these issues to our attention. We look forward to the opportunity to see you again on a future visit to the Islander Inn!
Warmest Regards,
Marnie Williamson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johnstown, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 August 2012

This was our second stay at the Islander this year, and both vacations were perfect! Everything was very clean, the king sized bed was comfortable and the staff was friendly and helpful. We will definitely be going back next year!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Talla G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarnieWilliamson, General Manager at Islander Inn, responded to this review, 24 September 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
We are so pleased that you have enjoyed your time at the Islander Inn and sincerely value repeat customers such as yourself . Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on our behalf. Your kind words about our property and staff are very much appreciated. Again, we look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Ocean Isle Beach!
Warmest Regards,
Marnie Williamson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noth Carolina
Level Contributor
98 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

Ocean Isle Beach is a great family beach and the Islander Inn is a good place to experience it. It's right on the beach so the access is right from your room. Also at the hotel is a little pool which the kids enjoyed when they didn't want to deal with the sand and surf at the beach. OIB has spent lots of money on beach replenishment over the past 15 or 20 years so the beach is wide and not crowded. The Islander Inn rooms are comfortable but the mattress could have been a bit firmer. I like a good firm mattress, but my wife was happy, so I was happy! The Islander Inn is only a very short walk away from the OIB pier if you like to fish or putt putt golf, which the kids always enjoy. In years gone by there was a big water slide nearby also but that's gone now. You should enjoy the Islander Inn.

Room Tip: Try to get a beach view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarnieWilliamson, General Manager at Islander Inn, responded to this review, 29 August 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
We are so delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay! Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experiences with other travelers. Your kind words about our property are very much appreciated. We look forward to the opportunity to see you again on a future visit to the Islander Inn!
Warmest Regards,
Marnie Williamson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stem
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 26 August 2012

This was mine and my husbands first time staying at Islander Inn and actually our first time at Ocean Isle Beach. Love the area and had a great stay at Islander Inn. The place was very clean and the staff was very courteous, friendly and helpful. Really enjoyed the tiki bar and the bartender Monica was great. We plan to go back next year and stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dianne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarnieWilliamson, General Manager at Islander Inn, responded to this review, 29 August 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
We are so delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay! Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experiences with other travelers. Your kind words about our property are very much appreciated. We look forward to the opportunity to see you again on a future visit to the Islander Inn!
Warmest Regards,
Marnie Williamson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
94 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Great views of the ocean or sound. Ample parking under the hotel, beside the hotel or across the street. Even those with a boat and trailer have no troubles with parking. The location on the beach is great. Only two floors of rooms. Beach is therefore not crowded like at SC beaches where they pack vacationers into high rises. No high rises here, except one, very far away down the beach. The beach itself is also wide, soft sand. The staff was friendly and accommodating. The room attendants did a good job of cleaning and making the bed.

My only disappointments come from the mattress and breakfast. The bed mattress was too soft and did not provide good support. I woke up both mornings with a back ache.

The continental breakfast was the typical dry cereal, bagel, packaged muffins, and the ubiquitous thick waffle machine. I was disappointed with the lack of fresh fruit and the coffee machine. Rather than brewed coffee, the coffee machine only dispenses hot water which must add instant coffee as the water is being dispensed. Not good! This could be better.

Room Tip: Rooms are either ocean front or sound view. Ocean front rooms also have a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TracyW610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarnieWilliamson, General Manager at Islander Inn, responded to this review, 29 August 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
We are delighted that you took notice of our amazing ocean view, uncrowded strand and wonderful staff. However, we sincerely regret that our mattresses were too soft for your liking and that our breakfast was not to your satisfaction. We take feedback very seriously and will address any issues we may find. We truly hope you will consider giving us a second chance on a future visit to Ocean Isle Beach!
Warmest Regards,
Marnie Williamson
General Manager We hope to have the opportunity to see you again on a future visit to the Islander Inn!
Warmest Regards,
Marnie Williamson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocean Isle Beach
0.1 mi away
Ocean Isle Inn
Ocean Isle Inn
#1 of 3 in Ocean Isle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
5.6 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#3 of 3 in Shallotte
3.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
15.7 mi away
Best Western Ocean Sands Beach Resort
Best Western Ocean Sands Beach R...
#3 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
The Prince Resort
The Prince Resort
#4 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,033 reviews
6.5 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 3 in Shallotte
3.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
11.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express N. Myrtle Beach-Little River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Islander Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Islander Inn

Property: Islander Inn
Address: 57 W First St, Ocean Isle Beach, NC 28469-7508
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Ocean Isle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Ocean Isle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Islander Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As an oceanfront hotel in Ocean Isle Beach, The Islander Inn overlooks one of the most pristine North Carolina beaches. The Islander Inn is conveniently located within walking distance to several restaurants, shops, an arcade, miniature golf, and museum. The Inn is also just a 10 minute drive from 25 world-class golf courses and hundreds of first-rate restaurants. Famous for its peace and quiet, this intimate oceanfront facility appeals to the young couple, vacationing family, golf enthusiast, or beachcomber who enjoys superior accommodations and breathtaking views of the most beautiful beach on the East Coast. All oceanfront rooms feature a 50in. plasma television. All rooms have a refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, and telephone with voice mail capability. Room rates include daily housekeeping, deluxe continental breakfast, free WiFi, access to our outdoor oceanfront pool with Tiki bar, indoor heated pool and Jacuzzi and fitness room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Islander Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Islander Hotel Ocean Isle Beach
Islander Ocean Isle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing