We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant surprise!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Islander Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Islander Inn
Eldersburg, Maryland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pleasant surprise!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

We did not plan our stay in NC until about a week prior to our visit and did not expect to find anything great. We could not get an ocean view room because of the lateness of our reservation, but were able to get sound view. What a pleasant surprise we had! The Islander Inn was so clean, the people were exceptionally nice, and the setting was amazing, with a pool, direct access to the private beach, and a tiki bar! In spite of the entire hotel being booked, it was not noisy nor crowded any place! One drawback was the TV. It is on its last breath of life and had reception issues in addition to interruption in watching. Hopefully, the soundview rooms will be upgraded to flat screen TVs soon. Also, we will definitely look for an oceanview room next time. We did not realize how much we like having a balcony until we did not have it. Loved our stay, though! Great beach, very quiet and serene! Thank you, Islander Staff!

Room Tip: Unfortunately, the soundview rooms do not have balconies. Even though they do not overlook the ocean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bonnie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theIslanderInn, Manager at Islander Inn, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
We are so pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us at the Islander Inn and sincerely value customers such as yourself. We were glad you were able to relax and enjoy your vacation with us.We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your sound side room.We were very pleased to hear that also enjoyed our" wonderful beach and our tiki bar" with its relaxing ambiance in the evenings.Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on our behalf. Your kind words about our property and staff are very much appreciated. Again, we look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Ocean Isle Beach this summer.
Warmest Regards,
Simon Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    214
    164
    67
    28
    15
See reviews for
173
198
17
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
READING
Level Contributor
61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

The location of this hotel is wonderful! Right on the beach. Unfortunately, when we booked it 2 months in advance there were no ocean front rooms left so we booked one on the road side of the building. It was ok. The hotel was very busy and booked solid on the week of our stay, Aug. 4th. The beach front pool was great. The indoor hot tub and pool, not so much. It didn't look too clean and we didn't even go in it. The exercise room was a joke! There were 4 machines stuffed in a large closet! Our hotel room was fairly clean. The only concerning thing was the mold on the inside of the lamp shades which were changed out the 2nd day of our stay. I guess in the ocean air mold can be troublesome. The air conditioning worked really well. The room card keys did not work half the time. The breakfast included in the stay was adequate. It was a nice week for relaxing but definitely not a luxury hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jkatobx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theIslanderInn, Manager at Islander Inn, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
We are so pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us at the Islander Inn and sincerely value customers such as yourself.We take all of your feedback seriously, both positive and negative.As far as the lampshades go it is actually rust and not mold, and as you said we changed them out right away.We were very happy to hear that you enjoyed our beach front pool. Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on our behalf. Your kind words about our property and staff are very much appreciated. Again, we look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Ocean Isle.
Warmest Regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lansing, North Carolina, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

My husband and I were looking for a quieter beach to visit and found just what we were looking for at the Islander Inn. Very professional staff, clean rooms, and beautiful views! What more could you ask for? We are already counting the days until we can return!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Holly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theIslanderInn, Manager at Islander Inn, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
We are so pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us at the Islander Inn and sincerely value customers such as yourself.We are happy to hear that you were able to relax and that your experience was a wonderful one.We are also very happy to hear that you enjoyed the view of our wonderful beach from your balcony. Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on our behalf. Your kind words about our property and staff are very much appreciated. Again, we look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Ocean Isle Beach this summer.
Warmest Regards,
Simon Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013 via mobile

I came across the Islander Inn online.. I had never visited OIB before but was looking for a quieter beach community besides Myrtle Beach (too busy) to get married and have some time with family and friends. Majority of our guests (about 40 or so) including me and my family had booked with this Inn. There were a few kinks but nothing that couldn't be fixed right away. The staff were great and catered to all of our wedding guests... Islander inn is within walking distance of the local shops and mini golf... Great place for a family. Even though the hotel was booked, it never seemed too overly crowded. Pools were kept clean and overall maintence on the hotel was nice. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone and will most likely be back next year for our 1 yr anniversary!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meghangooch1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theIslanderInn, Manager at Islander Inn, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
We are so pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us at the Islander Inn and sincerely value customers such as yourself.We are happy to hear that your experience was a wonderful one.We are also very happy to hear that you enjoyed the view of our wonderful beach. Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on our behalf. Your kind words about our property and staff are very much appreciated. Again, we look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Ocean Isle for your 1 year anniversary.
Warmest Regards,
Simon Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

My family and I stayed for the very first time at the Islander Inn and it wont be our last. We will defintaly be back. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. The atmosphere at this hotel is very relaxing and clean. You can tell the housekeepers take pride in their jobs. The pools are very clean. The hotel has plenty of parking. They have a gazebo that overlooks the ocean which is very convenient for the ones who wants to view the ocean without getting sandy. They also have an elevator for the ones who isnt able to walk stairs well. They are pet friendly which didn't bother us at all since they have rooms in a certain building for the pet lovers NO complaints at all about this wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Destiny R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theIslanderInn, Manager at Islander Inn, responded to this review, 27 July 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
We are so pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us at the Islander Inn and sincerely value customers such as yourself.We are happy to hear that your experience was a wonderful one.We are also very happy to hear that you enjoyed the view of our wonderful beach from your balcony. Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on our behalf. Your kind words about our property and staff are very much appreciated. Again, we look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Ocean Isle Beach this summer.
Warmest Regards,
Simon Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

If you want to say right on the beach, this is the place for you. We made our reservation the day before our arrival, so staying on the ocean side was not an option. Many others have written about the land side vs. ocean side, but I would like to add that the views from the land side are not bad. I have stayed at other hotels where you look at the wall of the building next door! Our view consisted of the bridge, the marshes, lots of water skiers and boats, and coastal North Carolina. We liked it.

We absolutely loved the beach. It is so much less crowded than Myrtle Beach- and even than other sections of Ocean Isle Beach. In the evening, I sat on the beach and felt nearly alone watching the moon over the ocean. Wonderful. Ocean Isle Beach has maintained a more relaxing ambiance by avoiding high-rise hotels.

I haven't been to many inns like this that offer breakfast. Breakfast was simple, but adequate. The breakfast area was particularly crowded when I went right after it opened at 7 AM. The management was friendly and attentive. Families with younger kids sure seemed to enjoy the pool. It was very hot when we visited, and our room was on the top floor. But, the AC was terrific. In fact, we ended up adjusting it warmer several times.

The Islander has plenty of parking- under the buildings, around the perimeter of the buildings, and at an extra lot across the street. Even when there was a wedding on the premises on a Friday night, we still found a parking spot.

Although the Inn was clean, the carpets could use a deep cleaning in several places. Still, this was minor compared to the many fine characteristics of this establishment. We'll be back!

Room Tip: Lots of stairs. If stairs are tough for you, request a room near the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Berniega
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theIslanderInn, Manager at Islander Inn, responded to this review, 22 July 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
We are so pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us at the Islander Inn and sincerely value customers such as yourself. We were glad you were able to relax and enjoy your vacation with us.We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed the view of the waterway etc from your sound side room.We were very pleased to hear that also enjoyed our" wonderful beach" with its relaxing ambiance in the evenings.Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on our behalf. Your kind words about our property and staff are very much appreciated. Again, we look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Ocean Isle Beach this summer.
Warmest Regards,
Simon Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
193 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013 via mobile

This hotel is on a beautiful sandy beach. No seaweed or rocks to speak of. The surf was rolling and gentle.
There is both an indoor pool and an outdoor pool.
This is a quite mostly commercial free area. Unlike some of the more visited areas further south.
The hotels and private homes are all built up on stilts giving an indication as what strong storms must come through.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Casertast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theIslanderInn, Manager at Islander Inn, responded to this review, 18 July 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
We are so pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us at the Islander Inn and sincerely value customers such as yourself.We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed the view of our wonderful beach. Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on our behalf. Your kind words about our property and staff are very much appreciated. Again, we look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Ocean Isle Beach this summer.
Warmest Regards,
Simon Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocean Isle Beach
0.0 mi away
Ocean Isle Inn
Ocean Isle Inn
#1 of 3 in Ocean Isle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
15.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ocean Sands Beach Resort
BEST WESTERN Ocean Sands Beach R...
#3 of 53 in North Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,369 reviews
11.8 mi away
The Prince Resort
The Prince Resort
#5 of 53 in North Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
#2 of 3 in Shallotte
3.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
6.4 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 3 in Shallotte
3.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
13.9 mi away
Avista Resort
Avista Resort
#4 of 53 in North Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Islander Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Islander Inn

Property: Islander Inn
Address: 57 W First St, Ocean Isle Beach, NC 28469-7508
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Ocean Isle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Ocean Isle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Islander Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As an oceanfront hotel in Ocean Isle Beach, The Islander Inn overlooks one of the most pristine North Carolina beaches. The Islander Inn is conveniently located within walking distance to several restaurants, shops, an arcade, miniature golf, and museum. The Inn is also just a 10 minute drive from 25 world-class golf courses and hundreds of first-rate restaurants. Famous for its peace and quiet, this intimate oceanfront facility appeals to the young couple, vacationing family, golf enthusiast, or beachcomber who enjoys superior accommodations and breathtaking views of the most beautiful beach on the East Coast. All oceanfront rooms feature a 50in. plasma television. All rooms have a refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, and telephone with voice mail capability. Room rates include daily housekeeping, deluxe continental breakfast, free WiFi, access to our outdoor oceanfront pool with Tiki bar, indoor heated pool and Jacuzzi and fitness room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Islander Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Islander Hotel Ocean Isle Beach
Islander Ocean Isle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing