We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay!”
Review of Islander Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Islander Inn
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Being a huge fan of Ocean Isle Beach (I'm from there!) but not having an easy place to stay when I return, the Islander Inn is a wonderful spot to grab a room on the oceanfront that has everything you need for a short or extended stay. The beds were comfortable and while the bathroom was a little barren, it worked fine for our short stay. There was a fridge that made bringing home leftovers from local eateries and storing drinks a cinch. The flat screen TV made late night show viewings easy and the balcony had the most lovely view of the ocean! It was wonderful. If you are indecisive about where to book, the Islander Inn is an easy choice for its location, comfort level and view. Big fan!

Room Tip: Get an oceanfront room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank blair m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theIslanderInn, General Manager at Islander Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Dear Valued Guest,
We are so pleased that you have enjoyed your time at the Islander Inn and sincerely value repeat customers such as yourself . Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on our behalf. Your kind words about our property and staff are very much appreciated. Again, we look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Ocean Isle Beach!
Warmest Regards,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (531)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

253 - 259 of 531 reviews

Reviewed 29 December 2013

I have to admit that after looking at some of the reviews on TripAdvisor, I was a bit skeptical about this place. My family and I stayed in building 7 and it was wonderful. Building 7 is the pet friendly building and you couldn't even tell other pets had been there. Everything was clean and smelled fresh, I was surprised. We enjoyed it so much that we decided to stay an extra day.

The hotel staff was very polite and even told me some things about using Expedia and Hotels.com that I did not know. A tip for future guests would be to call the hotel and make your reservations over the phone. For some reason, the rates were way cheaper than those on the website and other travel websites.

I strongly suggest staying at this hotel. I can't wait to come back next year when the weather will be warmer.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cmousenc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theIslanderInn, Manager at Islander Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2013

Dear Valued Guest,
We are so pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us the Islander Inn and sincerely value customers such as yourself.We are happy to hear that your experience was wonderful one. Our cleaning staff will be happy to hear that you couldn't tell there had been pets in your room previously as they work very hard keeping the rooms clean. We would like to thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on our behalf and welcome both yourself and your pets back to our hotel. Your kind words about our property and staff are very much appreciated. Again, we look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Ocean Isle and the Islander Inn when the weather gets warmer.
Warmest Regards,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

My husband and I stayed here for Christmas, and it was a very nice and peaceful vacation. This hotel has very comfortable beds, big flat screen tvs, and an awesome indoor swimming pool. And they have pet friendly rooms. I would say the only negative thing is they only have 1 elevator, it was a little annoying to bring everything up and down the steps. Other than that its a really nice spot, we would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank amcab1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theIslanderInn, Manager at Islander Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2013

Dear Valued Guest,
We are so pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us the Islander Inn and sincerely value customers such as yourself.We are happy to hear that your experience was wonderful.We are extremely happy to hear that yourself and your family really enjoyed the heated indoor pool and hot tub. Also.We would like to thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on our behalf. Your kind words about our property and staff are very much appreciated. Again, we look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Ocean Isle and the Islander Inn.
Warmest Regards,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Reading some of the reviews I double checked the name of my Inn to make sure we were talking about the same place,apparently they saw something we didn't. We were in North Carolina in November for a family event and made reservations at the Islander Inn because we wanted to be near the ocean. The location is great. We sat on our balcony enjoying the ocean which was good because the room was depressing. The room was clean enough but felt dingy. The towels were thin and not plentiful. The furniture was functional but very cheap. It was November so we were in the off season but the temperature was in the 70s. We wanted to go sit on the beach but the Inn had no beach chairs available even to rent. Their "deluxe continental breakfast" was skimpy at best. It was kind of like staying at an econolodge only with a great location. It is probably a two star location but it had been advertised as a 3 to 3 1/2 star facility. The frustration is with such a great location they could really make it nice but the will doesn't seem to be there.

Room Tip: Make sure you get an ocean view or don't bother staying here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jan3112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theIslanderInn, General Manager at Islander Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2013

Dear Valued Guest,
We are unhappy to hear that your experience not as enjoyable as you would have liked. We were glad that you got to enjoy your balcony and the view of our wonderful beach. We do not rent chairs but we do have chairs available for our guests to use on the beach. Our breakfast is a continental style with fresh made waffles, biscuits, cereal, bagels and fruits. We do not usually get any complaints in regards to our breakfast. We are at this time in the process of re painting our rooms and replacing carpets for the upcoming season. Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on our behalf and we do hope you will give us another chance at our hotel. Your words about our property and staff are very much appreciated. Again, we look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Ocean Isle and the Islander Inn.
Warmest Regards,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

My family and I stayed at the Islander Inn for a wedding. The room had an awesome view from the balcony, we loved watching and hearing the sound of the waves. The rooms were so clean and cozy, and the beds were really comfortable, we didn't want to leave! And the indoor pool was just what we needed to keep the kids entertained while we relaxed in the hot tub:) The help at the front desk were always so kind and patient with us as we asked for directions and tips on where to get the best food:) My family hated to leave and is looking forward to coming back soon.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Audree343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theIslanderInn, Manager at Islander Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Dear Valued Guest,
We are so pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us the Islander Inn and sincerely value customers such as yourself.We are happy to hear that your experience was wonderful.We are extremely happy to hear that yourself and your family really enjoyed the heated indoor pool and hot tub.Also it is very nice to hear that you had a great view from your balcony of our wonderful beach.We would like to thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on our behalf. Your kind words about our property and staff are very much appreciated. Again, we look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Ocean Isle and the Islander Inn.
Warmest Regards,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We stayed at the Islander Inn for our beach wedding. The view was spectacular watching the dolphins with our morning coffee and the sunrise in the evening. Room was clean, comfy and the perfect temperature. We actually left the back door open to have the sound of the waves sing us a lullaby. Highly recommend this Inn. Indoor pool and breakfast area. Ice was not a problem and the people in the front were most helpful! Thank you Islander Inn for helping us make our day very special!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ambercoopsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theIslanderInn, Manager at Islander Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2013

Dear Valued Guest,
We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Islander Inn. We do take great pride in providing excellent customer service and appreciate it so much when a guest takes notice of this.We are happy to hear you had a wonderful wedding on the beach. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our Inn. Your kind words about our property and staff are very much appreciated. We look forward to seeing you again on a future stay!
Islander Inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

3 of us stayed here on a 2 day golf outing. Beds were comfortable, large screen tv, small refrigerator and microwave. Bathroom was ok, bath towels really small and the showerhead basically did just a bit more than trickle. Cleaning service was excellent. Small balcony facing the ocean, beautiful sunrises. Quiet in November. For less than $90 per night including taxes, not too bad. Didn't try the complimentary breakfast, we were out the door before 7 am.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pbirdie3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theIslanderInn, Manager at Islander Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2013

Dear Valued Guest,
We are so pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us at the Islander Inn and sincerely value customers such as yourself.We are also happy to hear that you enjoyed the view of our wonderfull beach from your balcony. Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on our behalf. Your kind words about our property and staff are very much appreciated. Again, we look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Ocean Isle Beach!
Warmest Regards
Islander Inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocean Isle Beach
0.1 mi away
Ocean Isle Inn
Ocean Isle Inn
#1 of 3 in Ocean Isle Beach
763 reviews
11.7 mi away
The Prince Resort
The Prince Resort
#3 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
1,276 reviews
15.7 mi away
Best Western Ocean Sands Beach Resort
Best Western Ocean Sands Beach R...
#4 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
1,674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#3 of 3 in Shallotte
68 reviews
24 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Southport
16.7 mi away
Bay Watch Resort & Conference Center
Bay Watch Resort & Conference Ce...
#7 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
2,328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Islander Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Islander Inn

Address: 57 W First St, Ocean Isle Beach, NC 28469-7508
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Ocean Isle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Ocean Isle Beach
Price Range: £47 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Islander Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As an oceanfront hotel in Ocean Isle Beach, The Islander Inn overlooks one of the most pristine North Carolina beaches. The Islander Inn is conveniently located within walking distance to several restaurants, shops, an arcade, miniature golf, and museum. The Inn is also just a 10 minute drive from 25 world-class golf courses and hundreds of first-rate restaurants. Famous for its peace and quiet, this intimate oceanfront facility appeals to the young couple, vacationing family, golf enthusiast, or beachcomber who enjoys superior accommodations and breathtaking views of the most beautiful beach on the East Coast. All oceanfront rooms feature a 50in. plasma television. All rooms have a refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, and telephone with voice mail capability. Room rates include daily housekeeping, deluxe continental breakfast, free WiFi, access to our outdoor oceanfront pool with Tiki bar, indoor heated pool and Jacuzzi and fitness room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Islander Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Islander Hotel Ocean Isle Beach
Islander Ocean Isle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing