We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So Private!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Islander Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Islander Inn
Simpsonville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“So Private!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

I don't know how Ocean Isle is in the summer, but in March, it's like you've been given your very own place in the sun. Yes, it was a little chilly, but the sheer beauty of the place prompted us to ask to stay an extra day at The Islander Inn. That was no problem. There was no fighting over the waffle-maker in the breakfast room, and there were enough goodies there to last until dinner at Calabash, NC, just 9 miles south, and a mecca for all seafood lovers. It was great to be out of the traffic of Myrtle Beach, and the view from our balcony was breathtaking. Would visit again in a skinny minute!!

Room Tip: The elevators are in Bldg. #2, if you have trouble with climbing steps you can see through.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FRAN H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theIslanderInn, Manager at Islander Inn, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
We are so pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us at the Islander Inn and sincerely value customers such as yourself. We always like to hear good things in regards to our off season because as you said you get the whole beach to yourself. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed the "Breathtaking" view of our wonderful beach from your balcony and that our continental breakfast was to your liking.Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on our behalf. Your kind words about our property and staff are very much appreciated. Again, we look forward to seeing you again in a "Skinny Minute" on your next trip to Ocean Isle Beach this summer.
Warmest Regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    217
    167
    67
    28
    15
See reviews for
176
200
18
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Indian Harbour Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

We stayed at the islander inn in the summer of 2013. The rooms were nice and very clean. The view from the rooms is so beautiful and their food really good. Will be coming back this summer. Service is great. Great place for a family vacation! Friendly people in the front desk

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kristian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theIslanderInn, Manager at Islander Inn, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
We are so pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us the Islander Inn and sincerely value customers such as yourself.We are happy to hear that your experience was "AWSOME" with us here at the Islander Inn and that you also Loved the view of our wonderful beach from your Balcony. We would like to thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on our behalf. Your kind words about our property and staff are very much appreciated. Again, we look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Ocean Isle and the Islander Inn.
Warmest Regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitmire, South Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

Just stayed for two nights and was very impressed. It was quiet, clean, and couldn't ask for a nicer place to stay on Ocean Isle. The pools and spa were nice and just a few steps from the beach. Was family friendly and still very quiet. Will definitely be back soon!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeysMom87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theIslanderInn, Manager at Islander Inn, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Islander Inn.We are happy to hear you had a wonderful time here at the Islander Inn on the beach.Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our Inn. Your kind words about our property and staff are very much appreciated. We look forward to seeing you again on a future stay!
Islander Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, West Virginia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

We stayed at the Islander Inn in the summer of 2011. It had some of the nicest most helpful staff you could ask for. The rooms were nice, roomy, and very clean. The bathrooms were small, but were clean. We had oceanfront rooms with a balcony, the beach was only a few steps away. The pools were excellent and my girls really enjoyed the tiki hut. All in all we loved it and are planning our 2nd trip this summer.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JSG76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theIslanderInn, Manager at Islander Inn, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
We are so pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us at the Islander Inn and sincerely value customers such as yourself.We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed the view of our wonderful beach from your balcony and our outdoor pool with the Tiki Bar. It is always good to see reviews from repeat customers like yourself. Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on our behalf. Your kind words about our property and staff are very much appreciated. Again, we look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Ocean Isle Beach this summer.
Warmest Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

We were in OIB for the Food bank's half marathon. Great location! From the Islander, you can walk or ride a bike anyplace you want to go on the island. Definitely get an oceanfront room! The balcony is a must! Our room and bathroom were very clean, but the bathroom in particular needed some updating. The paint was peeling, and the grout around the base of the tub was mildewing. The towels are small and thin. But the bed was comfortable and having a fridge is great. The breakfast was quite adequate and I like that It is open until 10:00. The front desk staff is very helpful and pleasant. So-if you're looking for luxury, this isn't it. But if you're looking for clean and comfortable, right on the beach, the Islander fits the bill!

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean front room on an upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Terry928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theIslanderInn, Manager at Islander Inn, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Islander Inn. We do take great pride in providing excellent customer service and appreciate it so much when a guest takes notice of this.We are in the process now of painting our rooms and bathrooms right now ready for the upcoming season. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our Inn. Your kind words about our property and staff are very much appreciated. We look forward to seeing you again on a future stay!
Islander Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

Being a huge fan of Ocean Isle Beach (I'm from there!) but not having an easy place to stay when I return, the Islander Inn is a wonderful spot to grab a room on the oceanfront that has everything you need for a short or extended stay. The beds were comfortable and while the bathroom was a little barren, it worked fine for our short stay. There was a fridge that made bringing home leftovers from local eateries and storing drinks a cinch. The flat screen TV made late night show viewings easy and the balcony had the most lovely view of the ocean! It was wonderful. If you are indecisive about where to book, the Islander Inn is an easy choice for its location, comfort level and view. Big fan!

Room Tip: Get an oceanfront room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank blair m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theIslanderInn, General Manager at Islander Inn, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
We are so pleased that you have enjoyed your time at the Islander Inn and sincerely value repeat customers such as yourself . Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on our behalf. Your kind words about our property and staff are very much appreciated. Again, we look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Ocean Isle Beach!
Warmest Regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

I have to admit that after looking at some of the reviews on TripAdvisor, I was a bit skeptical about this place. My family and I stayed in building 7 and it was wonderful. Building 7 is the pet friendly building and you couldn't even tell other pets had been there. Everything was clean and smelled fresh, I was surprised. We enjoyed it so much that we decided to stay an extra day.

The hotel staff was very polite and even told me some things about using Expedia and Hotels.com that I did not know. A tip for future guests would be to call the hotel and make your reservations over the phone. For some reason, the rates were way cheaper than those on the website and other travel websites.

I strongly suggest staying at this hotel. I can't wait to come back next year when the weather will be warmer.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cmousenc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theIslanderInn, Manager at Islander Inn, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
We are so pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us the Islander Inn and sincerely value customers such as yourself.We are happy to hear that your experience was wonderful one. Our cleaning staff will be happy to hear that you couldn't tell there had been pets in your room previously as they work very hard keeping the rooms clean. We would like to thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on our behalf and welcome both yourself and your pets back to our hotel. Your kind words about our property and staff are very much appreciated. Again, we look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Ocean Isle and the Islander Inn when the weather gets warmer.
Warmest Regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocean Isle Beach
0.1 mi away
Ocean Isle Inn
Ocean Isle Inn
#1 of 3 in Ocean Isle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
5.6 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#3 of 3 in Shallotte
3.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
15.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ocean Sands Beach Resort
BEST WESTERN Ocean Sands Beach R...
#3 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
The Prince Resort
The Prince Resort
#5 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 988 reviews
6.5 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 3 in Shallotte
3.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
11.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express N. Myrtle Beach-Little River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Islander Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Islander Inn

Property: Islander Inn
Address: 57 W First St, Ocean Isle Beach, NC 28469-7508
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Ocean Isle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Ocean Isle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Islander Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As an oceanfront hotel in Ocean Isle Beach, The Islander Inn overlooks one of the most pristine North Carolina beaches. The Islander Inn is conveniently located within walking distance to several restaurants, shops, an arcade, miniature golf, and museum. The Inn is also just a 10 minute drive from 25 world-class golf courses and hundreds of first-rate restaurants. Famous for its peace and quiet, this intimate oceanfront facility appeals to the young couple, vacationing family, golf enthusiast, or beachcomber who enjoys superior accommodations and breathtaking views of the most beautiful beach on the East Coast. All oceanfront rooms feature a 50in. plasma television. All rooms have a refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, and telephone with voice mail capability. Room rates include daily housekeeping, deluxe continental breakfast, free WiFi, access to our outdoor oceanfront pool with Tiki bar, indoor heated pool and Jacuzzi and fitness room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Islander Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Islander Hotel Ocean Isle Beach
Islander Ocean Isle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing