We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Islander Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Islander Inn
Pulaski,VA
Level Contributor
135 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

We would normally plan a trip to the beach July 4th week but the situation dictated the dates. We normally go to the Myrtle Beach area in May or Sept, but I had a bilateral mastectomy in May and start chemo next week so this was the only time frame that worked until after 5 months of chemo. I was so reluctant but finally decided on the Islander Inn. From the time I made the first call and spoke with Christine to leaving this morning, I was not disappointed. Christine was warm, friendly and so helpful in securing our ocean front room. When we arrived everyone seemed to go out of their way to make sure our stay was special. We have stayed at some of the better establishments all over the beach areas and I have never had a friendlier staff. The room was a bit dated but very clean and comfortable. The shower could have had a bit more water pressure but it was consistent and stayed at the selected temp. The breakfast was a typical continental style breakfast with a few extras, again the attendant was sweet and personable. The outdoor pool was small but considering the ocean was steps away, clean, clear and plenty of beach chairs. The view from our balcony was just lovely and even on the busiest day, not super crowded. I was amazed at how peaceful it was. The fishing pier is about 1/2 mile from the hotel. Many great restaurants within 20 minutes of the Inn. If you want posh, upscale, stoic you may not want to stay at the Islander Inn but if you want a delightfully friendly, perfect beach front location in an area that seems almost like a private island, then by all means book the Islander inn. Go expecting more of a homey feeling. Not everything is perfect but you feel like you matter to the people. I will take that any day over feeling like, a room number. We will be returning just as soon as possible. Love the area.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank BeeBee623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theIslanderInn, Manager at Islander Inn, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
We greatly value guests such as yourselves and are very grateful that you took the time to write a review. Your kind words about the Islander Inn are very much appreciated. We sincerley wish you all the best and really look forward to seeing you again either later this year or next!
Warmest Regards,
Islander Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    217
    167
    67
    28
    15
See reviews for
176
200
18
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

The Islander Inn is a nice hotel and is in a good area. They have an indoor and outdoor pool And a direct path to the beach. My only complaint is some bad service like not picking up left over objects and not giving us towels. Otherwise a great hotel.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank BoSSBuRRitoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theIslanderInn, Manager at Islander Inn, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
We greatly value guests such as yourselves and are very grateful that you took the time to write a review. We are very pleased to hear you fully enjoyed our hotel. In regards to towels we put enough towels in the rooms for people, we do also have towels which we put in the indoor pool, however we do not provide towels for either the outside pool or the beach. Your kind words about the Islander Inn are very much appreciated. We do look forward to hopefully seeing you again soon!
Warmest Regards,
Islander Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

I am disappointed that I was not able to use my room at Islander due to an emergency that cancelled the event I had planned to attend, and thus, my night at Ocean Isle. I am even more disappointed that mgmt was not willing to consider a refund of my full night's deposit of over $200, even if they had been able to rent the room (which, on a summer weekend when they were already full, seems likely). Yes, I knew about the 3 day cancellation policy and if they were unable to rent the room I'd understand, but they wouldn't even try. I called one day before and was told to call back the next day, only to be told "corporate" wouldn't consider my request.

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank 4CR314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

This was the 2nd year we've stayed at the Islander Inn. The housekeeping staff is wonderful. The hotel is clean and breakfast is good. The pools are kept clean. My only complaint this year was that the outside lights (pool, trees etc) weren't on and that the Tiki bar was rarely open. It was probably open a total of 8 hours in the week that we were there. It was open daily last year (in August).

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Kittymax1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theIslanderInn, Manager at Islander Inn, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
We are so pleased that you have enjoyed your time at the Islander Inn and sincerely value repeat customers such as yourself. Our housekeeper's will be thrilled to hear you thought our rooms are extremely clean.Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on our behalf. Your kind words about our property and staff are very much appreciated. Again, we look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Ocean Isle Beach!
Warmest Regards,
Islander Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

I really liked the hotel. It was very clean and spacious. I had an ocean front room that looked out over the beach. The beds were very comfortable and clean. Staff was friendly. Lots of stairs and elevator was a little far from our room. So walking up and down stairs was a little hard on my knees. So if you have any problem with stairs you will want to request a room close to elevator. Breakfast was a little disappointing. Overall great place to stay and close to the beach. Just a short walk from parking lot. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LAS3760
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theIslanderInn, General Manager at Islander Inn, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
We are so pleased that you have enjoyed your time at the Islander Inn and sincerely value customers such as yourself. Our housekeeper's will be thrilled to hear you thought our rooms are extremely clean and our beds very comfortable. Great to hear you enjoyed the wonderful view of our beach.Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on our behalf. Your kind words about our property and staff are very much appreciated. Again, we look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Ocean Isle Beach!
Warmest Regards,
Islander Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middletown, NJ
Level Contributor
122 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

First impression was not encouraging. I had asked for a room on the 2nd floor, we got one on the 1st. I told the desk person my request and her answer was you must have booked on the internet, however as she looked further she saw the request, too bad no rooms, no offer of switching tomorrow. Room very dated, towels almost threadbare, faucet in sink only shut off if you fiddle with it, no stopper on the sink, cold water in the shower, didn't even want to touch bedspread, I think my point has been made. When I checked out I told the desk only about the faucet not shutting off and the stopper. Belligerently, he said why didn't you tell us, we'd send someone to fix it. First of all it needed a new faucet and second I said why hadn't your cleaning people informed you. If they had only been a bit caring it would have been much better. And they charge a $4 resort fee, not much, but why??
The beach was lovely and right there. The view from the room was good, would have been better if we had not been right above the pool.

Room Tip: Make sure you call and ask for 2 nd floor, apparently they do not honor requests from the web. Get a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SueandStu2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theIslanderInn, General Manager at Islander Inn, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
We are unhappy to hear that your experience not as enjoyable as you would have liked. In regards to some of the issues you had, We do try and put all our guests in the rooms that they want but as I'm sure you can appreciate we only have a limited amount of rooms and are very busy this time of the year. This past winter/spring we did a lot of upgrades to our rooms which included painting the rooms and also laying new carpet in some rooms and all the hallways, We also put all new on demand hot water heaters throughout our hotel this spring. We try and encourage our guests to come and tell us if there is any problem with their room so we can address the problem and fix it promptly. In regards to the person at the front desk being belligerent, mam I checked you out personally and was not I feel in any way belligerent towards you. Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on our behalf. Your words about our property and staff are very much appreciated. Again, we look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Ocean Isle and the Islander Inn.
Warmest Regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

We had a great stay at the Islander Inn. The only complaint we have is a noisy door in the hallway during the night. We would go back again. It was a great location and there were a lot of good restaurants close by and the prices were right in line.

Room Tip: Get a Ocean front room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Troy239
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theIslanderInn, General Manager at Islander Inn, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
We are so pleased that you have enjoyed your time at the Islander Inn and sincerely value customers such as yourself. Great to hear you enjoyed the wonderful view of our beach and also enjoyed some of our local restaurants. Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on our behalf. Your kind words about our property and staff are very much appreciated. Again, we look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Ocean Isle Beach!
Warmest Regards,
Islander Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocean Isle Beach
0.1 mi away
Ocean Isle Inn
Ocean Isle Inn
#1 of 3 in Ocean Isle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
5.6 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#3 of 3 in Shallotte
3.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
15.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ocean Sands Beach Resort
BEST WESTERN Ocean Sands Beach R...
#3 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
The Prince Resort
The Prince Resort
#4 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 994 reviews
6.5 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 3 in Shallotte
3.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
11.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express N. Myrtle Beach-Little River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Islander Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Islander Inn

Property: Islander Inn
Address: 57 W First St, Ocean Isle Beach, NC 28469-7508
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Ocean Isle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Ocean Isle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Islander Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As an oceanfront hotel in Ocean Isle Beach, The Islander Inn overlooks one of the most pristine North Carolina beaches. The Islander Inn is conveniently located within walking distance to several restaurants, shops, an arcade, miniature golf, and museum. The Inn is also just a 10 minute drive from 25 world-class golf courses and hundreds of first-rate restaurants. Famous for its peace and quiet, this intimate oceanfront facility appeals to the young couple, vacationing family, golf enthusiast, or beachcomber who enjoys superior accommodations and breathtaking views of the most beautiful beach on the East Coast. All oceanfront rooms feature a 50in. plasma television. All rooms have a refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, and telephone with voice mail capability. Room rates include daily housekeeping, deluxe continental breakfast, free WiFi, access to our outdoor oceanfront pool with Tiki bar, indoor heated pool and Jacuzzi and fitness room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Islander Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Islander Hotel Ocean Isle Beach
Islander Ocean Isle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing