We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel!”
Review of Islander Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Islander Inn
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely hotel!”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

I had a great stay and would definitely return. The hotel is located right on the beach! the room was very clean and tidy, and all of the staff was very helpful. They have an indoor and outdoor pool + a hot tub! If you're visiting ocean isle then I recommend staying here 100%

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kyra m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theIslanderInn, General Manager at Islander Inn, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
We are so delighted to hear that you enjoyed your first visit to Ocean Isle Beach as well as your
stay at the Islander Inn. Thank you so much for sharing your experiences with other travelers and for recommending our hotel. Your kind words about our property and staff are very much appreciated. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit!
Warmest Regards,
Islander Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    219
    169
    70
    28
    15
See reviews for
177
205
18
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

Great location on the beach provides excellent views especially from the 2nd floor. Check-in staff was very cordial and helpful with directions to local establishments.
Now, about the hotel. As soon as we got to the 2nd floor hallway we noticed a ridiculously strong FeBreeze/Lysol smell. The smell was also in our room, but was mixed with a wet dog smell. We only know this because we own dogs. We opened the balcony door and aired out room...it helped somewhat. The room size was adequate as we had a King Size bed, couch, desk, armoire, small microwave and small refrigerator. The bedspread, curtains and couch could use an update. The bathroom also needs some work. Tub stopper was turned upside down and ceiling was showing early onset of mold...This might be a common occurrence with many places here because of the humidity. Water pressure was light and the pink shower curtain barely made it to the top of the tub. The indoor and outdoor pools were small but adequate and the Tiki Shack was closed. Don't think traditional bar...think shed size building. Continental breakfast was part of the deal, but we chose only to get coffee. The breakfast staff member was very friendly and explained the layout which consisted of make your own waffles, assorted cereals, oatmeal and grits, some packaged sausage biscuits that could be heated in the microwave, and the standard beverages. It is a beach hotel, but could be a gold mine with some work. Definitely not worth close to $200 a night.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Joe R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theIslanderInn, General Manager at Islander Inn, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experiences with other travelers. Your kind words about our property are very much appreciated. We look forward to the opportunity to see you again on a future visit to the Islander Inn!
Warmest Regards,
Islander inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherrodsville, Ohio
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Well first off I have to say this is the only place we have stayed and continue to stay when we visit Ocean Isle. We are repeat guests so we are very familiar with it. I'll just start with the GOOD: Great location!! Walking distance to all the fun stuff. Great breakfast! The girl that is there every morning is very friendly and welcoming and keeps the kitchen clean and well stocked. Great outdoor pool!LOVE this pool!! Clean and usually warm.
BAD: Well let me just say these rooms need updated soooo badly. They are old and feel very dirty. There is visible dirt almost everywhere. It feels gross to lay in the beds. I saw bugs(spiders,flys and an unidentified bug and one smashed on the wall with blood) in our room this time. The balconies feel unsafe. The older lady that was working one evening at the front desk is extremely RUDE> Every hotel I have ever stayed at(even cheap ones) have always put customer service as priority but not this place. We are a family of five and they would only give us 3 towels a day in the morning. We of course would get a shower upon waking and by the end of a long day on the beach we of course wanted to shower before going out to dine for the evening. I had asked her if we could have some more towels and she told me "Well I will this time but for future reference you are only permitted to have 5 a day total" WHAT??????? LOL Seriously? Who paid for this room and who is she to tell me when and how many times I can shower? That is what prompted me to write this review(HER) She needs a long lesson is customer service. I have never been scolded for taking a shower before at a hotel. I am still in awe about her attitude and very angry actually as we are long standing customers of theirs. I would really like to tell her off. Next vacation I am planning on finding another place to stay unless its the only place available, even though I do like the location I'm not so sure its worth putting up with dirty old rooms and nasty attitude staff. We always would say hi to the housekeepers and say excuse me as we walked through the corridors too and they just speak spanish to themselves and ignore you. Oh and did I mention this year (must be a new trend) but alot of people would leave their stinky trash/ food scraps outside their doors so that you could enjoy all the unpleasant smells as you walk through the building. VERY GROSS! If you can get in somewhere else I would recommend doing so.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank C S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theIslanderInn, Manager at Islander Inn, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
We are unhappy to hear that your experience not as enjoyable as you would have liked. In regards to some of the issues you had. Our ocean front rooms were all painted and fixtures were replaced in the bathrooms. I can assure you that our balconys are safe and also were painted this year. We do not supply towels for the beach or pool, i dont think that anybody was telling you how many times you could shower, but rather that we do not have an unlimited supply of towels. I can also assure everybody that reads this that our rooms are NOT dirty and smelly as is stated above, we take pride in keeping our hotel in as good condition as possible at all times, we are on the beach and we do have sand etc brought through the hotel that our housekeepers are constantly cleaning up. In regards the front desk clerk i sincerley apologize and the matter will be dealt with in the correct manner. Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on our behalf. Your words about our property and staff are very much appreciated. Again, we look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Ocean Isle and the Islander Inn.
Warmest Regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheboro, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

When first arriving at the Islander Inn, we were checked in fast, and with very friendly, helpful personnel! The room smelled clean, was so cool, and what a view from the bedroom window!! (We were ocean front). This place is so nice, with two pools, Jacuzzi, and the beach right off from the pool. The breakfast room is so welcoming, and has a good food variety that any age would certainly enjoy. We thoroughly enjoyed our vacation at the Islander Inn!!! Doubt you could find a better place than this :)

Room Tip: Rooms closer to the 'Office area' are closer to the elevator, pools, breakfast room, access...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PamMatRiverview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theIslanderInn, Manager at Islander Inn, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
We are so pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us the Islander Inn and sincerely value repeat customers such as yourself.We are happy to hear that your 'Fun In The Sun" was wonderful and that you enjoyed our "Amazing Hotel".We would like to thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on our behalf. Your kind words about our property and staff are very much appreciated. Again, we look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Ocean Isle and the Islander Inn.
Warmest Regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Let me start off by saying that we stayed here in 2013, but forgot to post a review until now.

We had an excellent time at the Islander Inn. We didn't stay long (two nights) but wished we had been able to stay longer. Unfortunately we weren't able to get an ocean view (they were all booked). We had the sound view, which although it wasn't the ocean, it was still enjoyable.

If you're looking for a quieter, more relaxing, less crowded beach than Myrtle Beach just down the road, then I'd suggest looking no further than Ocean Isle and the Islander Inn. We couldn't have been happier and look forward to having an opportunity to visit again.

Room Tip: If booking a weekend during peak season or just after peak, book early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CPT4795
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theIslanderInn, Manager at Islander Inn, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
We are so pleased that you have enjoyed your time at the Islander Inn and sincerely value customers such as yourself. Next time you visit we will do our best to get you in an oceanfront room(need to book early).Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on our behalf. Your kind words about our property and staff are very much appreciated. Again, we look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Ocean Isle Beach!
Warmest Regards,
Islander Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntersville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
55 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Like other people stated, if you are disabled or handicapped, this is not the hotel for you.

Luckily for us currently, we do not have this issue for us. The room was pretty good. We definitely want to stay next time with a balcony and ocean view.

I would recommend getting a room with the ocean view and ask for buildings 4-5 or 6.

The tiki bar is more of a shed with a girl in there making drinks. No seating at this tiki bar as you need to sit around the pool.

The hotel itself is about a 1/2 mile walk from the town and is right on the beach. They have an indoor pool as well. Hot tub inside is pretty small.

Like others said...there is only one elevator.

We would definitely stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C-MIKE75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theIslanderInn, Manager at Islander Inn, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
We are so delighted to hear that you enjoyed your first visit to Ocean Isle Beach as well as your
stay at the Islander Inn. Thank you so much for sharing your experiences with other travelers and for recommending our hotel. Your kind words about our property and staff are very much appreciated. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit!
Warmest Regards,
Islander Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 July 2014

When making the reservation, I asked if the pool, breakfast, beach, etc. were accessible since I had to use a walker. They stated it was easy to get to all areas. They did not state that the only elevator was in building one. We were placed in building five. We had to walk through every building to get to the elevator. This meant going through two sets of doors in each building, which also lead to the outside of each building. The bathrooms had slippery floors and there were no rails, etc., to hold onto in the tub. The tub had no decals/strips which made it very unstable. My complaints went nowhere when I called the front desk and also stopped by the front desk. Also, they did not answer the front desk through the room phone. You had to call the outside number. The pool had very loud country music. I was told we could not switch rooms even after other guests had checked out.

Room Tip: Don't use this hotel if you have a handicap issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fach2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theIslanderInn, Manager at Islander Inn, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
We are unhappy to hear that your experience not as enjoyable as you would have liked. In regards to some of the issues you had, Had we known you required a accesible room we do have some available that are very near to the elevator and are equiped with grab handles and a walk in shower(not a bathtub). As for not being able to move you to a different room, yes people were checking out, but this time of the year we are full and people would be checking into those rooms right away. Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on our behalf. Your words about our property and staff are very much appreciated. Again, we look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Ocean Isle and the Islander Inn.
Warmest Regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocean Isle Beach
0.1 mi away
Ocean Isle Inn
Ocean Isle Inn
#1 of 3 in Ocean Isle Beach
695 reviews
5.6 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#3 of 3 in Shallotte
63 reviews
15.7 mi away
Best Western Ocean Sands Beach Resort
Best Western Ocean Sands Beach R...
#3 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
1,471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
The Prince Resort
The Prince Resort
#4 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
1,073 reviews
6.5 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 3 in Shallotte
76 reviews
7.3 mi away
Days Inn Shallotte
Days Inn Shallotte
#1 of 3 in Shallotte
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Islander Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Islander Inn

Property: Islander Inn
Address: 57 W First St, Ocean Isle Beach, NC 28469-7508
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Ocean Isle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Ocean Isle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Islander Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As an oceanfront hotel in Ocean Isle Beach, The Islander Inn overlooks one of the most pristine North Carolina beaches. The Islander Inn is conveniently located within walking distance to several restaurants, shops, an arcade, miniature golf, and museum. The Inn is also just a 10 minute drive from 25 world-class golf courses and hundreds of first-rate restaurants. Famous for its peace and quiet, this intimate oceanfront facility appeals to the young couple, vacationing family, golf enthusiast, or beachcomber who enjoys superior accommodations and breathtaking views of the most beautiful beach on the East Coast. All oceanfront rooms feature a 50in. plasma television. All rooms have a refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, and telephone with voice mail capability. Room rates include daily housekeeping, deluxe continental breakfast, free WiFi, access to our outdoor oceanfront pool with Tiki bar, indoor heated pool and Jacuzzi and fitness room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Islander Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Islander Hotel Ocean Isle Beach
Islander Ocean Isle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing