We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Have raved about the place to everyone we know!!”
Review of Islander Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Islander Inn
Reviewed 8 September 2009

Quiet beaches, pristine flat smooth sand, warm water and you can walk out into the Atlantic 100 feet and still have your head above water. Location is gorgeous. View from Oceanfront rooms is amazing. You can see the ocean from your bed! We actually watched dolphins swim by on 3 of the days we were there! Bring your binoculars!!! Rooms were comfortable, clean, like an average Marriott style room. Two sinks, two vanity mirrors, which was nice. The "Soundview" wasn't really great, definitely worth it to spend the few extra bucks on the OceanFront rooms. The town itself is also very small, very quiet, very beach resort-y. And outside of that is very rural. But only 45 minutes away is the bustling city of Myrtle Beach with LOTS to do....so you can have your quiet or go for some great shopping and attractions not too far away. The free wireless internet was great, strong connection! I just can't believe we paid an average of $105 for the room per night....just incredible!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank erika1201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theIslanderInn, General Manager at Islander Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2009

Thanks Erika, truly glad to hear that you enjoyed yourselves and that you had a great experience at the Inn. We hope to see you again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (531)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

489 - 495 of 531 reviews

Reviewed 31 August 2009

We were treated very badly last year (June 08) by the OLD management and staff. Justin Harkey (NEW management since Oct 09) has cleaned house completely, both staff wise and room wise, and this is now THE place to stay on O'Isle Beach. From the friendly, accomodating and efficient front desk staff (Carrie & Laura) to the breakfast room staff and housekeepers, everyone is concerned with making the guests feel at home and exceeding their expectations. I mentioned a full trash can to Carrie at the desk, and within 30 minutes it was emptied. The views from the comfortable rooms are outstanding. The beach access and beach itself are outstanding. We will be back. We also recommend The Isles Restaurand (also managed by Justin). View fantastic, food fantastic, service fantastic.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bob and Evelyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theIslanderInn, General Manager at Islander Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2009

Thanks for giving us a second chance! Sorry that your first visit was not what it should be, but you let us correct that and I think you. We thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback and comments.
It was nice to have you stay with us and we hope the next time you think about a trip to the coast you think of Ocean Isle Beach, and we would love to have your back with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2009

From the moment we checked in until checking out, our experience at the Islander Inn was fantastic. The staff was always smiling and friendly. When I was asking about pizza delivery, I was not just given the names of restaurants but the attendent looked up the numbers to give to me. Our room was freshened up every day and extra towels were always left for us with out us needing to ask.

Sitting on the oceaneview balcony was so relaxing and quiet and beautiful, I really did not want to leave.

My daughter is 8 and she LOVED the indoor and outdoor pool and the spa, I personally would have liked the spa to be more of a hot tube, but that is just me. My 16 year old son loved having free wireless internet access in the room.
Everyone loved having the private access to the beach with a "surf shower" on the walkway.

Ocean Isle is the most beautiful, peaceful and family friendly beach we have found since leaving Texas. If OIB is your kind of place, make sure to make a beach stop in Port Aransas

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chenababe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theIslanderInn, General Manager at Islander Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2009

Glad you enjoyed the oceanfront balconies. They are my favorite also!
We will see you in October.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2009

From start to finish the Islander over delivered. The rooms were immaculate and very comfortable. The views were what I needed to unwind and recharge my batteries. Very relaxing.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ErockTampa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theIslanderInn, General Manager at Islander Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2009

ErockTampa,

Thanks!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2009

Excellent facilities and service for the price. Extremely curteous and friendly staff, everyone from the maids (we saw 3), to maintenance (repaired a towel rack), to the breakfast room, to the front desk staff. The rooms are clean and well maintained. The hallways and stairwells could use a little more attention, but were better than average for an ocean front hotel with sand and water issues. Excellent access to a very wide, clean, and scenic beach. Beautiful, unobstructed views from the the ocean front balconies. Ocean Isle is on the portion of the NC coast that runs east and west (not the typical north/south orientation). This provided beautiful sunrises and sunsets over the ocean. Similar facilities at other nearby beaches (Nags Head/Kitty Hawk, Wilmington area, Myrtle Beach area) charge $50 to $75 more per night for less attractive facilities.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WGater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theIslanderInn, General Manager at Islander Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2009

Glad to hear that you enjoyed Ocean Isle! We are also glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our Inn. Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback and comments. It was nice to have you stay with us and we hope the next time you think about a trip to the coast you think of Ocean Isle Beach, and we would love to have your back with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2009

The people working there were very accomadating. Awesome views from the ocean side rooms. Really good breakfast. The Islander Inn along with the Isles Restuarant is a great combination.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank prwoffside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theIslanderInn, General Manager at Islander Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2009

prwoffside,

Awe shucks! Thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2009

The Islander is truly oceanfront with clean rooms and a very friendly staff. We (my senior parents and preschool child) had a great time simply enjoying the beach. Ocean Isle blends the natural beach with just enough other activities -- not too commercialized! This trip was our first trip to the Islander, but we will surely be back soon!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scshagging
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theIslanderInn, General Manager at Islander Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2009

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback and comments. It was nice to have you stay with us and we hope the next time you time about a trip to the coast you think of Ocean Isle Beach, and we would love to have your back with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocean Isle Beach
0.1 mi away
Ocean Isle Inn
Ocean Isle Inn
#1 of 3 in Ocean Isle Beach
764 reviews
11.7 mi away
The Prince Resort
The Prince Resort
#3 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
1,283 reviews
15.7 mi away
Best Western Ocean Sands Beach Resort
Best Western Ocean Sands Beach R...
#4 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
1,685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express N. Myrtle Beach-Little River
16.7 mi away
Bay Watch Resort & Conference Center
Bay Watch Resort & Conference Ce...
#7 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
2,328 reviews
5.6 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#3 of 3 in Shallotte
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Islander Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Islander Inn

Address: 57 W First St, Ocean Isle Beach, NC 28469-7508
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Ocean Isle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Ocean Isle Beach
Price Range: £47 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Islander Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As an oceanfront hotel in Ocean Isle Beach, The Islander Inn overlooks one of the most pristine North Carolina beaches. The Islander Inn is conveniently located within walking distance to several restaurants, shops, an arcade, miniature golf, and museum. The Inn is also just a 10 minute drive from 25 world-class golf courses and hundreds of first-rate restaurants. Famous for its peace and quiet, this intimate oceanfront facility appeals to the young couple, vacationing family, golf enthusiast, or beachcomber who enjoys superior accommodations and breathtaking views of the most beautiful beach on the East Coast. All oceanfront rooms feature a 50in. plasma television. All rooms have a refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, and telephone with voice mail capability. Room rates include daily housekeeping, deluxe continental breakfast, free WiFi, access to our outdoor oceanfront pool with Tiki bar, indoor heated pool and Jacuzzi and fitness room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Islander Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Islander Hotel Ocean Isle Beach
Islander Ocean Isle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing