We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Despite a few issues it was a good place to stay.”
Review of Islander Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Islander Inn
Reviewed 6 May 2010

When booking our rooms we specifically asked for top floor, ocean view adjoining rooms. We booked over a month in advance. I was told the assistant manager took the booking. If these accomodations could not be met I should have been informed of that at the time of booking so I had the choice to look elsewhere for a place that could accomodate us. When we checked in We only had one room on the top floor, therefore the rooms we also not adjoining rooms. When I stated that these were requests made over a month ago at the time of booking the guy working said,"Well our assistant manager took your booking and this is what she booked. " He aslo said he couldn't accomodate our needs. This is frustrating when you are traveling with family and the kids want to be close to each other. I feel we should have been offered a partial refund on our stays.
I had issues witht he shower/water pressure in my room. But over all it was in a good location and clean. It was off season so it wasn't busy. Seemed to never have clean towels in the pool areas though.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ambernicole723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (531)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

448 - 454 of 531 reviews

Reviewed 4 May 2010

We did not expect such a clean, up-to-date facility and were most pleasantly surprised! The room was more than adequate in size and features and though we had a 'Sound' view instead of a 'Beach' view, the fact that you're literally almost 'on the beach' makes up for it! The complimentary breakfast was better than I have received at other hotels/motels on my business trips. The only thing we wished were that the hours would run until 11:00am since we were so relaxed, we slept in later than our norm! We will definitely re-book when we return to Ocean isle Beach!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marine061969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2010

Interesting structure for a hotel but very practical. Built up on stilts like the beach houses.
Beautiful, WIDE beach. Good continental breakfast. Away from the hussle, bussle of a beach town. Great, quiet getaway.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SRP_0222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2010

We picked Islander Inn online based on reviews and we were very pleased.
The location is easy to find and the ocean view is incredible.
The room was spotless.
There was convenient and thoughtful placement of HDMI, VGA and RCA inputs on the wall directly under the big LCD TV.
The Inn was very quiet and the resident cats were fun photo subjects.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank R_Maitri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theIslanderInn, General Manager at Islander Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2010

Glad you enjoyed the TVs! We are very proud of them. The hook-ups make it easy to add a DVD player, or the kids video game console.
We hope to see you back in Ocean Isle very soon. Thanks for taking the time to share your thought!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2010

Our room was nice but it needed some repair done in the bathroom. Paint peeling etc.
The door was rusty on the bottom. I know the sea air can be hard on things but that sort of stuff should be routinely taken care of.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barbmh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theIslanderInn, General Manager at Islander Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2010

Thanks for letting me know about the paint issue during your stay. I will make sure that our maintenance department corrects the issue. Glad to hear that you enjoyed yourself, and we hope to see you again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2010

great location
quiet
pet friendly
well pleasd with house keeping
good continental breakfast
great room
friendly staff

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scuffy98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2010

This is a very relaxing place to stay. The design of the place with several rooms in pods not connected with other pods directly prevents noisy hallways. The place has been freshly painted and decorated. All of the employees were friendly. There was a wedding on the beach the Saturday we were there but did not interfere with others although we enjoyed watching from our balcony. Seems to be a great place for small beach weddings. Calabash is not far away for delicious seafood. We will return frequently. Since there are only rooms with micro and frig, this may not be as comfortable as a place with kitchens for families who need more room.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beachmac77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocean Isle Beach
0.1 mi away
Ocean Isle Inn
Ocean Isle Inn
#1 of 3 in Ocean Isle Beach
764 reviews
11.7 mi away
The Prince Resort
The Prince Resort
#3 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
1,283 reviews
15.7 mi away
Best Western Ocean Sands Beach Resort
Best Western Ocean Sands Beach R...
#4 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
1,685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express N. Myrtle Beach-Little River
16.7 mi away
Bay Watch Resort & Conference Center
Bay Watch Resort & Conference Ce...
#7 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
2,328 reviews
5.6 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#3 of 3 in Shallotte
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Islander Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Islander Inn

Address: 57 W First St, Ocean Isle Beach, NC 28469-7508
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Ocean Isle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Ocean Isle Beach
Price Range: £47 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Islander Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As an oceanfront hotel in Ocean Isle Beach, The Islander Inn overlooks one of the most pristine North Carolina beaches. The Islander Inn is conveniently located within walking distance to several restaurants, shops, an arcade, miniature golf, and museum. The Inn is also just a 10 minute drive from 25 world-class golf courses and hundreds of first-rate restaurants. Famous for its peace and quiet, this intimate oceanfront facility appeals to the young couple, vacationing family, golf enthusiast, or beachcomber who enjoys superior accommodations and breathtaking views of the most beautiful beach on the East Coast. All oceanfront rooms feature a 50in. plasma television. All rooms have a refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, and telephone with voice mail capability. Room rates include daily housekeeping, deluxe continental breakfast, free WiFi, access to our outdoor oceanfront pool with Tiki bar, indoor heated pool and Jacuzzi and fitness room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Islander Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Islander Hotel Ocean Isle Beach
Islander Ocean Isle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing