We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent She Crab Soup - Yes Please!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pelicans Perch

Pelicans Perch
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Bar Scene, Groups, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
North Carolina
Level Contributor
54 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Excellent She Crab Soup - Yes Please!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

I stopped here for a quick lunch and ordered a combo cup so she crab soup and side salad ($13). I have had this soup at many different places and have to say it was wonderful :). The service was good and the customers were laughing and seemed to be enjoying themselves. There is outside seating also.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank uncjillrossmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    57
    24
    14
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Pretty good, not bad, I can't complain.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

Got into town after a long drive. Wait staff was friendly, welcoming and helpful. Had a fish sandwich that was good. So much food I didn't have to eat dinner that night.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank b.v.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Would go back!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

My best friend and I stopped in Saturday night (4/21/14) for a late dinner. They had a band playing that was wonderful (Fat Jack). We started with the fried green tomatoes. They were great. I had the corn & crab chowder. My friend had the french dip. I can not rave enough about the corn & crab chowder. It was one of the best soups I have ever had. The french dip (they call by some fancy pelican name :) was also good. We will definately be going back!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank travelingbug39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocean Isle Beach, North Carolina
Level Contributor
94 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Pelicans Perch try some place else”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

Tried both lunch (twice) with a friend and dinner with family. Waitresses on all occasions were friendly and helpful. Meals came from the kitchen slowly even when specials were ordered. Some will appreciate they are not 2nd Amendment friendly.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CarolinaRealtor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, NC
Level Contributor
94 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Better for lunch than dinner”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

We went to the Pelican's Perch on the strength of the menu which was printed in the current edition of the Ocean Isle magazine which was in our hotel room. Turns out they are no longer offering such an extensive menu so our choices were rather limited. We ordered clam chowder and were told they were out of it. Really? At 6:30 at night? At a seaside restaurant? Hard to believe. We had the oyster rockefeller soup instead, which was fine but rather rich for my taste. The menu items were basically sandwiches and bar snacks so we went with that. The hushpuppies were really excellent, the best we had during our stay. Way too many TVs tuned to competing channels for my taste. Our waitress, Jill, was ridiculously overworked (it looked like it was just her, the guy behind the bar, and whomever was in the kitchen) but she was a model of efficiency and somehow got us served in a reasonable amount of time. Bottom line: I imagine this place is great for lunch but I'd spend my dinner dollars elsewhere.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank EllenRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pelicans Perch also viewed

Ocean Isle Beach, NC
 

Been to Pelicans Perch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing