We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing food!!!”
Review of Pogies Waterfront Bar and Grill - CLOSED

Pogies Waterfront Bar and Grill
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View
Dining options: After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Amazing food!!!”
Reviewed 16 October 2013 via mobile

Most all the tables have a knockout view of the water, and sunsets are amazing here! And the food??? It would be hard to find better! The appetizers are super...especially the spinach, artichoke, and crab dip! The she crab soup is absolutely full of delicious blue crab, and the salads, burgers, and fish specials are all wonderful!! Have a piece of key lime pie and kick back and enjoy the unbelievable view! This is a winner!!!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

254 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    71
    55
    26
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“What a view!”
Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

Yep I know you go to restaurants to eat but we also like places with views and if it has water or ocean view, even better. Roof top bar overlooking marsh and sunset - we had a few hurricane drinks. Inconsistency on bar tenders - went two nights and even on same night fixed differently so we started to request the bartender who added strawberry mix. When fixed right - delicious. Ordered pogie balls - pimento cheese which were so good. Got shrimp tacos which were also very good and a good value - could use some salsa on side or on them and offer with choice of corn or flour tortillas. Then got rib eyes which were cooked perfectly although baked potato was cold. Couldn't melt our butter on it. Cole slaw - great taste but too soupy which also means needless calories. So overall good food, excellent view up top - inside needs a bit of charm and a few opportunities on dishes.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Headed4theBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christiansburg, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience”
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We went there on Tuesday to eat dinner. We could not get the Thursday night ESPN game at our beach cottage. Since we are VA Tech fans, our excellent waitress, Kellie told us that we could watch the VA Tech vs GA Tech, Thursday night ESPN game if we came back. We returned Thursday night and the managers stayed well after closing, just so we could watch all of the game. They went way beyond anything reasonable to accommodate us. They came back and checked on us and repeatedly told us to stay until the game was over. We were the only people left in the restaurant. Our waitress, Brystol was as good as anyone could want. We ordered appetizers. My wife got the Teriyaki chicken wings. They were excellent. I ordered the Grouper bites, beer battered grouper chunks, fried and served with a creole mustard sauce. They were the best I had ever had. The sauce was very good. We waited for awhile, then ordered the Popcorn Shrimp, that was bigger than little popcorn shrimp. This was an excellent choice. They make their own Ranch dressing which is very good. They have made a conscientious effort to upgrade their ratings on TripAdvisor and it shows. We would recommend to anyone. Wonderful sunset views.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jackie1947_65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
366 reviews
306 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Back again.”
Reviewed 19 September 2013

We were here last October and had to come back. My wife ate the seafood mac & cheese. She said it tasted just like last year, great. I wanted something I never ate before so I had the shrimp & grits and I don’t care for grits. That was one of the best things I ate for a long time. The bluepoint draft was new to us and it was cold and great. The waitress was great with us and she had lots of patients with the lady next to us. We sat on the inside because it was to hot outside. The veiw was still great.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HenryNC7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Average seafood”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

The food was OK, but I've had better seafood in Kansas City. Every restaurant in the area seems to specialize only in fried fish.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nate H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pogies Waterfront Bar and Grill also viewed

 
Ocean Isle Beach, NC
Ocean Isle Beach, NC
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing